We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sal's Italian Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sal's Italian Restaurant
5465 N Macarthur Blvd, Irving, TX 75038-3104
972-580-7701
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #283 of 504 Restaurants in Irving
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Irving, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

over priced rude service,food no more italian than taco bell (sorry taco bell) disgusting "meatball sandwich" ..just ground up meat ..no meat balls ewwwwwwwwwww

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    3
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fine dining in a strip mall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We chose this place by accident- the BBQ place next door was closed, so we decided to go in - it's an italian place with neon lights in the windows in a strip mall, so my kids & I walked in (wearing shorts & flip flops) & almost left. There was a guy playing a piano, tablecloths, a beautiful bar-- much nicer on the inside than the outside. My daughter chose to have the calimari appetizer- and it came out on a platter! More calamari than I've ever seen in my life & it was amazing. My son & I both opted for the chicken parm- awesome & huge portions! Our server was amazing, the atomsphere was very nice, and the grand total was $42. The only negative was the "tomato based vinagarette" salad dressing --- it's ketchup. We were not fans of the house dressing!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“this is Italian?!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Pizza was decent ...... salad terrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pizza was burnt”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We ordered a pizza to go. Although the bartender gave us a preview before she snapped the box lid shut, I didn't smell that it was burnt until we were carrying it out the door.

Too late. Upon perusal in the hotel room, it was decided that what could have been an excellent crispy/thin crust pizza was carelessly left in the oven about 2 minutes too long. There's a fine line between a dark brown and black/burnt crust, and this pizza had crossed it. Everything else was fine, and the Italian sausage on it was the sliced-thick kind instead of the frozen chunky crap most places serve. So, our pizza had started with promise.

We might give them another shot if we're ever in the area. But I will examine the pizza a little more closely before leaving the retaurant.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great and (child) friendly Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We had a lovely pizza to share, staff was very friendly and accomodating. Nice desert too! They have a pianonist there on a Saturday night.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sal's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sal's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.