We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Texas Steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saltgrass Steak House

Saltgrass Steak House
560 W LBJ Fwy, Irving, TX 75063-3709
(972) 373-9944
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 483 restaurants in Irving
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A Good Texas Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We went here for a business dinner and everyone (from across the country) were very impressed. All the salads, sides and steaks came out to exactly as we ordered. The drinks were good and the wait staff was makign sure that the meal was to our pleasure. I woudl recommend taking a family here, but be careful the steaks are on the big side.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    44
    38
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Ho-Hum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Solid steakhouse like Outback / Roadhouse / Lone Star with their own little adds. We had ribs (very tender, fall off the bone and good taste), coconut shrimp (not the best), garlic mashed potatoes (good). Great service though. Try the Range Rattlers (?) appetizers

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Steaks and sides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We visited this nice restaurant with my 3 year old son, and we enjoyed the atmosphere and food. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was because my wife requested a non-alcoholic version of one of their specialty drinks, which my wife did get, but they charged us the spirit drink price = $9.00 for an NA fruit drink!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Not Very Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My company ordered to-go food here 2 days in a row. The first day I picked up order and it appeared everything was there but as I drove a few miles away I was called and told restaurant had given us wrong order. I went back and they had correct order ready. When I finally got back to work I checked my steak and it was almost rare when it had been ordered well-done. I heated up in microwave and it was ok. Another person in my group had same thing happen with her steak. The next day we ordered from Saltgrass again thinking this must have just been a fluke. I ordered same exact type steak well-done again. When order was delivered my steak was rare again! I don't understand how they could mess up the order again. The cooks must not care or can't read.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Try the Maudine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We LOVE Saltgrass & go about two times a month. The butters will get you hooked...cinnamon butter for the homemade bread, garlic butter on the steak...makes my taste buds water just thinking about it! The Caesar Salad is also VERY tasty (ask for the pepper!).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltgrass Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Saltgrass Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltgrass Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.