We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service and food anywhere, as usual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Via Real Gourmet Mexican

Via Real Gourmet Mexican
4020 N. MacArthur Blvd., Irving, TX 75038-6423
972-650-9001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Via Real Gourmet Mexican is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 493 Restaurants in Irving
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Byron Nelson Way
Midland, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best service and food anywhere, as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Outstanding service, good food, great location, superb atmosphere. The dining options include lobster, crab, fresh fish, all the Mexican dishes you can imagine, followed up with awesome margaritas, or whatever else you can think of

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Via R, Owner at Via Real Gourmet Mexican, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback! We love that we can provide a variety of dishes for our guests. I’m thrilled that you enjoyed everything.

Please come back and see us soon!

-Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    65
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
corpus christi, tx
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We came for dinner on a Thursday night, no reservation. The wait was long but we opted to sit in the bar which was just as good as any other table. We started out with a margarita. Delicious! The server was very attentive and the owner came over and told us all about her restaurant and she was very delightful. She told us what were some of the popular dished and about some that weren't on the menu. The food was delicious. We enjoyed it all and even had dessert. Would definitely eat here again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Via R, Owner at Via Real Gourmet Mexican, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
I apologize that you had to wait, we can get busy during the business week due to our private rooms being booked up with larger parties. Give us a call next time you are thinking about stopping in and we would love to save you a table off to the side.

I’m thrilled to read that you enjoyed dinner! Nothing makes us happier than to provide a memorable experience for our guests!

All of us here at Via Real look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you for your feedback!

-Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, OK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Made reservations 24 hours in advance for 7pm on a Friday night. Greeted at the door by Fran, the owner if Via Real. She could not have been more gracious and she even sent out dessert for us at the end of the meal

An appetizer of chips and salsa were complimentary. The basil cilantro dressing on the salads were excellent. My wife had the squash enchiladas and I had the chicken cilantro. Both were great.

We made a great decision choosing Via Real for dinner!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Via R, Owner at Via Real Gourmet Mexican, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
You are so sweet to take the time to let us know how your anniversary dinner was. I’m happy to hear that you both enjoyed your evening!

We appreciate the positive feedback and I hope that you both will be stopping by again soon.

Thank you!

-Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“order the guacamole but stay for the giant margaritas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

this restaurant is superb--beware of the size of the margaritas -they are generous, The food is beautifully prepared and served beautifully.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Via R, Owner at Via Real Gourmet Mexican, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
My heart is singing to read that you loved the margaritas and enjoyed your visit! Thank you for the great feedback: we rely on our fabulous guests (such as yourself) to give recaps of their experience for the world to see and decide if they want to come in for a try.

I hope to see you soon!

-Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great spot for a business dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Held a 6 person business dinner here and it was a great spot. Close to the airport, near hotels and easy to get to from various spots. Service was fantastic and while a little noisy due to the restaurant being busy, we could easily have a conversation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Via R, Owner at Via Real Gourmet Mexican, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We’re glad that you and your business colleagues were able to have an enjoyable dinner. We appreciate your thoughts on your experience and we hope to see you soon.

Give us a call and we will save you a great table!

-Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Real Gourmet Mexican also viewed

 

Been to Via Real Gourmet Mexican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Via Real Gourmet Mexican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.