We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Roof ? Red Mist !! A huge disappointment .” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Dallas - DFW Airport North

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Dallas - DFW Airport North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Dallas - DFW Airport North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8150 Esters Boulevard, Irving, TX 75063   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 76 Hotels in Irving
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Red Roof ? Red Mist !! A huge disappointment .”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

On a 3 week trip, this was our last hotel prior to flying home . What a let down. Our celebrations were scuppered due to the inept hotel staff & poor quality room. It was such a shame. Mr Ian Mitchell on reception was less than helpful. He frustrated & obstructed our last night in America. I found him rude & condescending. Him aside, on the plus side - there is a free shuttle bus to the Airport. There was no breakfast available. It's not often I find places less than average - but this is one. Informing the Red Roof Inn company of the terrible stay - they said they would send me a voucher for a free night elsewhere in America for my future visits. They never did.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia V, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Dallas - DFW Airport North, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost importance and we make every effort possible to ensure excellent quality and service. We are very sorry that you did not have a better experience. This is not typical and we have taken steps to ensure it does not happen again. We offer a grab and go breakfast, which includes granola bars, fruit, and coffee. We hope you will give us another chance next time you come to Dallas. We guarantee you will have a better experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    48
    31
    9
    11
See reviews for
29
26
38
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Close to the airport. Clean rooms with all the necessaries. Denny's is next door. Quiet neighbourhood - mostly hotels. Friendly and helpful staff. You can get anywhere on the DART from the Red Roof Inn, for $1.75 by taking the shuttle to the airport. Take the bus to the Remote South parking lot and then transfer to the CentrePort/DFW Airport Station shuttle and then take the TRE to Dallas and transfet to the DART. Works in reverse but check the TRE schedule as train frequency is not the greatest. A taxi is quicker but more expensive.
Would stay there agin if overnighting or had my own transport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia V, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Dallas - DFW Airport North, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We would like to sincerely thank you for taking time out of your day to give us a review. Your kind words about our quality and service are very much appreciated. We pride ourselves in our convenient location, as it helps guests from out of town find their way around our busy city. We are grateful that we were able to accommodate your needs accordingly. We hope to see you back with us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here before and decided to come back again to attend a Rangers game. It's about a 20 minute ride to the ballpark, depending on traffic. This Red Roof Inn has a Denny's restraunt right next door and a gas station within walking distance. Good location, quite at night. Rooms are clean, nothing extraordinary. For the price, it's well worth the stay. Pet friendly as well. Breakfast is coffee, granola bars, and apples so don't expect waffles or anything. For the price, it's a good stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia V, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Dallas - DFW Airport North, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to let us know about your recent stay. We appreciate your compliments regarding cleanliness and quality of your room. We are conveniently near the Texas Rangers Stadium and adjacent to Denny’s Restaurant. Red Roof Inn is proud to welcome our furry friends at no extra charge. We are grateful that we were able to accommodate your needs accordingly. We hope to see you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This has all you will need and at a good price. Nice clean rooms and adequate facilities including laundry and ice/soft drinks. Denny's next door for breakfast and a gas station should you fancy a beer or class of vino. Staff helpful. friendly atmosphere.
At this point I would happily get this hotel a 4. However there is information you need before booking.
If you are coming from the airport there is a free shuttle (though a tip for the driver is encouraged). The problem is finding and catching it. My suggestion : ALL shuttle pickups are from the lower level. Phone the hotel and arrange a pick up. They will need a terminal number and gate number (ie. A 16). This hotel uses a company called Hotel Connection which is a white van with small signs of the hotels it serves on the sides. Now the sad part. You can expected to wait half and hour at best and over a hour at worst. You will see lots of shuttles from the bigger hotels that has their own vans but have no fear Hotel Connection will eventually arrive and you will find the drivers are very helpful.
SO ! Make a plan. Arrive/phone hotel/give terminal and gate number/wait in the right place on the LOWER level. Doing this should reduced the pain ! NO HAIR DRYERS IN THE ROOM !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia V, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Dallas - DFW Airport North, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding our staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and our services. Please be assured that we will pass them along to the rest of our team. We have been monitoring our shuttle service satisfaction to avoid similar situations in the future. On a future stay should you need a hair dryer, we have then available at the desk. We hope to see you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Handy for DFW. Shuttle bus was on time and efficient. Room was clean. AC was impressively good. I would happily use the hotel again. If you want to eat or sit at the bar, the Hilton by Doubletree across the parking lot is ideal

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia V, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Dallas - DFW Airport North, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and response on your recent stay at Red Roof Inn. We pride ourselves on providing the best service and quality to our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is located close to the airport, which was convenient for my early morning flight. The staff was minimally engaged and not very friendly. We asked for a first floor room and were told that none were available, though the hotel was nowhere near capacity.

The room was clean but my bed was crooked and I slept poorly because I was afraid of rolling. The bathroom had a "wet dog" smell and I couldn't bear the thought of showering because of it. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia V, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Dallas - DFW Airport North, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry our hotel fell below your expectations and regret you were not fully satisfied with the condition of the room you received. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts as this is our best resource for improving the quality and services we offer. I hope you give us an opportunity in the future; we would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Furnished in the typical Red Roof style, very clean, very quiet, SUPER comfy bed, minutes to DFW airport, excellent value, Denny's and a gas station next door. Would be nice if there were hair dryers in the rooms but for a 1 night stay I was very happy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Dallas - DFW Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Dallas - DFW Airport North

Address: 8150 Esters Boulevard, Irving, TX 75063
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Dallas - DFW Airport North 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable clean and safe place to stay with free transportation to and from the Dallas DFW airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn Dallas - DFW Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Dallas - Dfw Airport North Hotel Irving
Red Roof Inn Irving
Irving Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inns Irving

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Dallas - DFW Airport North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.