We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stop by to/from the Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4550 W John Carpenter Freeway, Irving, TX 75063   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #29 of 76 Hotels in Irving
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stop by to/from the Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel after arriving in DFW and the night before going back through DFW. This hotel is very close to the airport and has a free shuttle to the airport that you need to call for. From what we saw, this hotel fills up every night.

This hotel has a great breakfast, but does not have a restaurant for lunch or dinner. There are a few restaurants at walking distance at neighbouring hotels or close by. You'll need transportation from this place if you want to visit anything.

At this hotel, we had great service from the front desk, they have a nice enclosed area with the outdoor pool that we appreciated very much after a day in the summer heat. There are no in room safe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager2, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
The inspiration we get from hearing your wonderful feedback is the driving force why we pour out our hearts into ensuring that our guests get nothing but the best service there is we can offer. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and making the effort to share to us your hotel experience. Our goal is to give you excellent service, and you can count on us to work harder than hard to attend to your needs at all times. Thank you for all your appreciation and we certainly look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    49
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
23
26
19
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Once again we were able to get one of the last rooms available. The staff at the front desk was very helpful as they soon realized that we were premier members with a lot of points on the books. Due to such the room was nearly free and were told that we were entitled to a free beverage and snack from the small sundry shop located next to the font desk.

The hotel ground is quite large so it took us a bit to get to our room. Once we learned the intricacies of the hallways, doors and elevators we cracked the code to more expeditious movement. The key here is to just cut through the pool area.

Our room was very large and comfortable with a nice separate seating area. The only negative point to our stay was the fact that the air conditioner was so loud that in order to hear the TV we had to turn it off. As it came on and off throughout the night it did wake me several times.

When we were checking in I was a bit concerned due to the fact that I noticed large planes skimming the trees as they approached the runway just across the fence. It is important to note that once we were in our room we could not hear the planes even though they were directly overhead. Even with the 100 plus decibel A/C turned off the presence of the aircraft could only be detected by looking out the window. Being able to watch the planes land out the window was a bit of a joy for me.

There were restaurants in the area but being we had been traveling for over a week straight we decided to stay in and order out as the hotel has no in house restaurant. We choose the Chinese restaurant that was on the back of the channel list card but unfortunately it was not very good. We suggest maybe trying the pizza.

A hot full breakfast is offered in the AM and we found it quite satisfactory in selection, quantity and quality. The scrambled eggs were sitting in a bit of water but that is just a pet peeve of mine as it is easily rectified.

Being that our flight was not until later in the day we very much enjoyed the late checkout time of 2pm. The drive to the airport was less than 10 minutes and if you are in a rental car go the back way and not on the freeway entrance to the airport. This saved us both money and time as there is a toll to get into DFW airport.

Given the friendliness of the staff and the location we would stay here again, as long as I could investigate the audio output of the air conditioner first.

See you on the trail and remember, don't be one of "those."

John Eric

Room Tip: If you have kids ask for a room near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear John F,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise levels of the a/c prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed four nights at this hotel. Overall, it was a fine stay. We had a king size bed in our room and it was a comfortable bed. Pillows actually were marked as "soft" and "firm", even though we'd hardly call the firm pillow "firm". The "suite" wasn't exactly a suite, but it did have a sink, a fridge, and a microwave, along with a couch.

Breakfast in the morning was OK at best. Nothing real special, except the cinnamon rolls were really good. They also had a machine which made two pancakes in 45 seconds. That was kind of neat.

There was an outdoor pool in the middle of the hotel. It looked nice, but I didn't go out there at all.

Decor of the lobby was very nice. The decor of the rooms were good. But I felt that the hallways looked like they came out of the 1970s. And the funny thing about that was that they actually were putting up new wallpaper when we were there. So even newly remodeled, it still looked old.

The biggest problem we had is that this hotel does not have enough parking. Two of our four nights we arrived back at the hotel and there was not a spot to be had. People were parking illegally on the roads, in fire lanes, and even on the lawn of the hotel. One night we actually had to park at another hotel down the block.

I rated the location as poor because of the road system around the hotel. The roads are under construction and it is very difficult to navigate your way around. Plus, this hotel is on a one-way frontage road and that made things even more challenging.

Would I stay here again? Yes, but only if we got a great deal on the room like we did this time. It's not bad for a low price, but if the price were higher, I'd be greatly disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear ltcjwl,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast, decor and room amenities.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the parking arrangement. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This Holiday Inn is a disgrace to whole entire hotel chain throughout the U.S.!! We went through Hotels.com to obtain the suite that we wanted with double beds. When we arrived, they tried to get us to sign a document for a suite with a king size bed. I advised that this was not what we wanted. Then, I was told that this was all they had because they were booked up full. I let that go and said, "Ok, I guess that will have to be fine." The girl @ the front desk then stated that our room would not be ready for about 2-3 hours!! Check-in was @ 3pm and we arrived @ the hotel around 4pm...that's when I started to get upset. The manager then stepped in to see what he could do. It took him about 20 minutes to "move some people around", but he finally got us in a room. There were only 3 towels in the suite and we had a total of 5 people. When we sent my 14 year old son to front desk for more towels, he was treated very rudely and was questioned as to how many people were in the room? Why we needed more towels? etc....My husband had to go back down there to obtain 3 towels which is all that they would give us because they stated that "people on the 1st shift screwed a lot of things up and did not get things done." Our family decided to go to dinner---when we came back, there was no parking whatsoever!! We had to circle the parking lot about 50 times!! Then, there was only 1 blanket in the entire suite which had a king bed and rollout bed...so, I went to front desk to ask for a blanket similar to nice, down comforter in room. The guy at the front desk was frustrated at people surrounding his desk with complaints and was being extremely rude. So, I went back to our room to give it a few minutes. When I went back, I was handed an old, funky, scratchy blanket that I wouldn't let my dog lay on....THIS PLACE IS A COMPLETE WASTE OF MONEY! IT IS OUTDATED AND SURROUNDED BY RUDE STAFF!! **TRAVELERS BEWARE!!!****

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Jada R,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

I am concerned to read that your experience was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with our level of service and for the shortcomings you have encountered in your room. This is definitely not up to our standard and deeply regret the poor experience you had during your visit.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My friend and I got bumped a third time off a flight to Phoenix.

I called Holiday Inn from the convenient free telephones located on the lowel level of DFW ground transportation at E35 and got quick service from the friendly hotel desk clerk who then put me through to the reservations lady. The Holiday Inn reps on the phone were friendly, quick, and responsive and the airport shuttle service was swift to pick us up and take us to the hotel.

The hotel lobby was good, check-in was fast and friendly, and we really appreciated the complimentary snacks.

The hotel room was nice, big, new, and very clean. The A/C was set to my favorite temperature (68 degrees F.) and was easily adjustable with the modern controls. The hotel was also nice and quiet despite the large number of guests that were there. I only heard an occasional slam of a guestroom door by an occasional inconsiderate guest. There was a separate living room with a clean couch, tables, desk and chair, wet bar, refrigerator, counter, and a big flat screen television--plenty of space for a small party. The bedroom also had a flat screen television and two big king sized beds that were solidly built, well made with fresh linens and with just the right amount firmness for me. The bathroom was big and with a new sink, shower, and separate bathtub--all really great. The toilet seal to the floor was coming loose, but the bathroom was very clean, fresh neatly folded towels, and new overall.

The free morning breakfast was typical of what you see in most of the 3-star hotels (bagels, cereal, fruit, preheated eggs, coffee, etc.), but what I picked out satisfied me (yogurt, banana, and juice and I'm ready to go). This hotel is easily the best value I've seen so far this year. If I ever get bumped at DFW again, I'm definitely coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager2, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
To give you an excellent hotel experience is indeed our primary goal and to know that we have successfully done so gives us our pride and joy. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for also expressing the desire to visit us again in the future. The positive feedback you have shared to us regarding the cleanliness, the customer service and the value for your money inspires us to work even harder, knowing that our efforts are well appreciated by our valued guests. We couldn’t wait to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was staying near the airport to fly out the next day. I had a very nice suite that gave me plenty of room to stretch out. There is a nice outdoor pool where some kids were having fun and being very loud but they stopped around 10 so that was not a problem.
This is a busy area without a lot of restaurant choices so I took a chance on Chinese delivery from a China Pavillion menu that was in the room. It was excellent and a very good value.
When checking out the next day I gave my usual checking out from room XXX and the bill was correct and I was pleasantly surprised to be asked how was the rest of your stay? I thought that he really was interested and that if I had a concern he would have addressed it.

Room Tip: If you go to sleep early avoid rooms that overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager2, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
The comfort of our guests is our top priority and we certainly make it a point to give them a pleasant experience to remember at all times and for you to commend us on that matter gives us so much glee. You can be assured that we will continually work hard to offer you an experience like no other hotel can. Thank you for the appreciation you gave with regards to our hotel cleanliness, the staff services and the value for your money. We hope to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Clean-plenty of parking- 6 min from airport- nice very large rooms- clean linen & bathrooms- there is a tub & a seperate enclosed shower- nice lobby- nice breakfast- all carpets seemed clean & smelled nice-Well done- & under $100 on pricleline

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager2, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Our dedication to serve is fuelled by the wonderful feedback our guests openly share to us, thank you for choosing to stay with us and giving us an opportunity to show you the kind of service we are willing to give our valued guests. The appreciation you have for the location as well as the cleanliness and the value for your money is indeed inspiring and heart-warming. Rest assured that we will always seek to further excel in the delivery of our services. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North

Address: 4550 W John Carpenter Freeway, Irving, TX 75063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dallas/Fort Worth hotel is in an ideal location. You'll receive superior accommodations in Dallas/Ft Worth (DFW) when you choose the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW North. Ideally located one mile from DFW Airport, our Dallas hotel offers several convenient services like a free shuttle to and from the airport. Short-term travelers and long-term visitors will both enjoy staying in our hotel in the DFW Metroplex. Visitors will find our DFW hotel the ultimate in convenience due to the area's business attractions. Situated among more than 8,000 companies, including 4 global headquarters for Fortune 500s, our DFW accommodations, multiple meeting rooms, and 24-hour business center fit the ambitious mindset of our local businesses. Travelers looking for hotels near DFW airport will be happy to find that we are only 12 miles from Six Flags and Wet 'n Wild Water World. The Galleria Mall, Grapevine Mills Mall, and Ft. Worth Stockyards have Texas treasures and souvenirs for you to remember your DFW vacation. Because every room is a newly renovated suite filled with new amenities, guests will feel at home throughout their DFW stay. Escape for a relaxing dip in our outdoor pool, and stay connected throughout your trip with free high-speed Internet access available in every room. Whether you're enjoying a Texas family vacation or business trip, our Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites near DFW is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites-Dfw North
Holiday Inn Irving
Irving Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.