We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4550 W John Carpenter Freeway, Irving, TX 75063   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Irving
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Got a room here for cheap using priceline. The front desk staff was excellent and very accommodating when we asked to check in very early. They got us in no problem, gave us a great two bedroom suite. The pool was nice and clean and the breakfast was good (pretty much your standard free hot breakfast fare). The only issue we had was that the toilet stopped up overnight while we we there, but things like that happen...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager2, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We couldn’t thank you enough for choosing to stay with us, and making the effort to write down the things you have appreciated during your stay. It is indeed our goal to give our guests a memorable experience while giving them the best value for their money. The inspiration you have given us to constantly seek to improve is our sole motivation to work harder than hard. We hope that we may be able to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    47
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
23
25
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I am a priority club member and my father is a brain patient we spend weeks at a time in hotels for dr appointments far away, new to the dfw on in Irving I was ok beeing how it was Holliday inn. My 14 year old brother went to the soda machine for a drink and met a grown man that made very bad comments. When I went down to tell front desk and allow them to handlethe ssituation the manager is who I started out with she was very nice concerned and doing the right thing when another issue came up I got sent to a guest service guy being in his 40s when telling him what happened he busted out laughing. Completely stunnedI waited for the manager when telling her again what happened and how the other guy handled it he proceeded to scream at me and my brother saying he did not. He got so lound and angery with me other people called the cops. I checked out right then. I will NEVER stay here again even if its the last hotel open! Ill take the several hour drive back home!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear klewis0711,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is most disappointing to hear of your overall dissatisfaction and we are truly sorry you found the level of service you received less than satisfactory. I have taken note of your feedback and shared these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. We value your feedback as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a great hotel for people traveling in and out of DFW airport. I highly recommend this location for anyone leaving out of the airport. The people are friendly, the place is well kept and they even let you park your car while you're away.

Thanks for the great service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager2, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We certainly value the time you took to share to us your wonderful experience, thank you for your recommendation and for the sincere appreciation you gave for all the hard work we exerted to give the best service there is to offer. It is truly inspiring to hear that you have noticed the friendly staff services and the comfort we wish to offer our valued guests. Thank you for the motivation and the inspiration to further excel in the delivery of our services. We couldn’t wait to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night while attending a convention. I was worried that it would be too far from the convention center but it was really only about a 4 mile drive and they were on the same freeway. My first impression when I walked into the nice, welcoming lobby was one of surprise as we had only paid $85 for the night! Then we checked into our room and it was a full fledged SUITE! The beds were comfy, the bathroom was huge with a separate bathtub and shower and the free breakfast was what I usually expect at an HIE - premade omelets, cereals, breads, juices, coffee and milk. I was concerned that the airplanes would keep me up but, once in the room, I never heard them - and the hotel was directly under an landing path. There were two TV's - one in the living room and one in the bedroom - with a full slate of cable channels. The room was very clean too. Most important, there was an In N Out about 2 miles away! Free parking too. This is an excellent location if you are catching a flight and I noticed buses out front going to the airport. I give this property a huge THUMBS UP!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager2, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
It brings us immense joy to know that we have served you well, thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your heart-warming appreciation. It is indeed our goal to make the stay of our guests a pleasant one to remember. The liking you expressed with regards to our great room, the reasonable price as well as the convenient location and the breakfast served gives us more reason to strive harder than hard to further excel in the delivery of our services so that we can always keep our customers happy at all times. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we sincerely hope to serve you and your family again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I am a Platinum member at HI, so I am in their hotels quite a bit. This one was lacking in numerous ways. First, even though the room was prepaid, the front desk still hit my credit card with an additional room rate authorization because they failed to read the screen. The charge was reversed, but it took the usual several days to drop off. Second, my air conditioner failed to keep the room cool nor remove the moisture from the air, resulting in a very humid room. Third, the gym equipment was worn out, creaky and hadn't appeared to be maintained much at all...very much below usual HIE standards. Finally, when a colleague checked in, the front desk clerk was very gruff and unfriendly, again NOT typical of HIE properties. Overall, a poor experience and I won't be returning even though I have future business in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Code3pro,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We are very sorry you were not fully satisfied with your recent stay at our hotel and offer my sincere apologies for the poor service and conditions you experienced, which are certainly not up to our usual standards. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Once again, thank you for your time and for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed several nights during the Thanksgiving holidays. We spent most of the time with relatives, and only came back at night to sleep. This is a decent hotel with basic continental breakfast. Nothing fancy but neither was the price.

Room Tip: I put "average on kids activities and room service since this didn't apply to us. We felt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager2, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We sincerely value the time and effort you gave to share to us your experience following your recent stay. We wish to let you know that we will work harder than hard to further improve the services we offer our valued guests. Thank you for giving us an opportunity to correct our deficiencies, and we hope that we may give you a far better experience next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

While the hotel does show some age, it has been remodeled and was very clean. I was most impressed with the service. We were given a suite for our family even though we had reserved with Hotwire. That does not happen often! The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was great with lots of variety. This is a great value for a road trip stop or a stay close to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager2, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Ensuring your comfort and convenience is what drives us to work hard in giving you a pleasantly memorable experience to remember. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and giving us your positive feedback. The appreciation you gave with regards the impressive service as well as the overall cleanliness and the great breakfast selection is indeed heart-warming. Thank you for commending us for all our hard work and we certainly hope to serve you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North

Address: 4550 W John Carpenter Freeway, Irving, TX 75063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dallas/Fort Worth hotel is in an ideal location. You'll receive superior accommodations in Dallas/Ft Worth (DFW) when you choose the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW North. Ideally located one mile from DFW Airport, our Dallas hotel offers several convenient services like a free shuttle to and from the airport. Short-term travelers and long-term visitors will both enjoy staying in our hotel in the DFW Metroplex. Visitors will find our DFW hotel the ultimate in convenience due to the area's business attractions. Situated among more than 8,000 companies, including 4 global headquarters for Fortune 500s, our DFW accommodations, multiple meeting rooms, and 24-hour business center fit the ambitious mindset of our local businesses. Travelers looking for hotels near DFW airport will be happy to find that we are only 12 miles from Six Flags and Wet 'n Wild Water World. The Galleria Mall, Grapevine Mills Mall, and Ft. Worth Stockyards have Texas treasures and souvenirs for you to remember your DFW vacation. Because every room is a newly renovated suite filled with new amenities, guests will feel at home throughout their DFW stay. Escape for a relaxing dip in our outdoor pool, and stay connected throughout your trip with free high-speed Internet access available in every room. Whether you're enjoying a Texas family vacation or business trip, our Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites near DFW is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites-Dfw North
Holiday Inn Irving
Irving Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.