We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Useful Airport hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4550 W John Carpenter Freeway, Irving, TX 75063   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #28 of 76 Hotels in Irving
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Useful Airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

First things first - if you are intolerant of noise then this hotel is not for you as it is close to the perimeter fence of one of the worlds largest airports. To be honest I found the noise of the planes less annoying than that of the air conditioning fan.

The room was a suite i think. It was large with sink, microwave and fridge fitted. Very clean and comfortable.

All the staff I had contact with were cheerful and pleasant.

There is free wireless or cabled internet available.

I didn't use the pool but there is a small pool which is 3'6deep at each end and 4' in the middle so ideal if you have children with you.

There is also a fitness room with free weights, treadmills, exercise bikes etc.

Overall I was very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    49
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
23
26
19
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
202 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Not sure why - but they gave me a suite. It was a long way from the front desk. The hotel is a maze. Clearly it's older without the modern design. But you know...it worked. It was clean, fresh, and not a bad little place. It's as good if not better than the Fairfield next door. It was a bit hard to find in my navi....but that's not their fault.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIO RANCHO
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We had a wonderful reception. It's a very busy place but the guy at the front desk was friendly & helpful. He was working at high speed but we were made to feel like we were the only ones there. He got us checked in with record speed - a very cool guy!
Only problem was the toilet kept running & my husband took the lid off the tank & giggled the handle & unkinked the chain. Still it would run so we called for maintance. A guy came up & did the same thing & said - "There, it's fixed!" It happened again but we were checking out so we figered we'd tried. On the night before our flight out we checked into this same hotel & got the same room!! Surprise, surprise - the toilet had the same problem. Hope maintance will someday get around to fixing the plumbing in this suite.
Other than that - this is an excellent location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We initially thought that we would be staying at HIE at 333 W John Carpenter Freeway (114), much higher rated hotel on TA (#10 when I wrote this review) than this hotel (#59).

The hotel is old, very close to DFW and the planes are very noisy, especially when you getting your belongings from the car. Seems like the plane will land right on top of you. Inside you can still hear the planes, but it much better and quieter.

The room is spacious with small kitchen, but our had not offensive, but unusual odor. The room seemed clean, the beds and the pillows (choice of firm or soft) were nice. The bath has separate shower and tub. Nice touch, though the toilet space is a bit tight. The old TV had limited channel selection and Starz as premium channel and is next to the bed, not facing it. Seems like an afterthought.

Denny’s is nearby, but there are any kind of shopping / restaurants 10 min away. Just beware that construction is going on at 114 and 121 (Grapevine) and the traffic is heavy in the afternoon.

The breakfast bar is copy of and the same as every other place. It is OK for a day or two, but it gets old very quickly after that. Not much to look forward with breads, eggs, yogurt, etc. and almost no fresh fruit (apple or two, that’s it).

This place is on southwest frontage road of 114 populated with many other hotel chains. If you need to be close to DFW you can check them out, though they will have the same landing planes issue, but if you prefer HIE I suggest the 5 mile or so drive south to what we thought was our original stay. Much nicer (even just looking from outside) and quieter place than this Holiday Inn Excuse.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barron, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

All flights from DFW were cancelled around midnight due to weather and the lines were long and slow waiting to be rescheduled for the following day. I'd had knee surgery 6 weeks earlier and was in great pain. The shuttle from the airline's discounted hotel didn't show after 2 hours so I called Holiday Inn Express and reserved a room for $89. They sent a shuttle within 15 minutes and gave me a beautiful 2 room suite. I used the computer in the lobby to schedule an earlier flight than the airline gave me saving 6 hours of waiting. I was pleasantly surprised when I checked out to only be charged $55+tax. I will definitely be back, wonderful place and great people!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

I stayed at this Holiday Inn on a brief overnight, and believe you me, one night would have been more than enough (due to the 1980's decor), but keep reading! At around 4:30 AM the power went out, and did not come back on. Showering and packing by the light of a Blackerry is not what I expect when I pay for a night in a hotel. Nor do I expect to have to find my way to the hotel lobby by following the walls because there is NO (zero) safety lightening in the entire hotel. When I reached the lobby I advised the desk associated I was unable to find my phone charger in the room, and was told they could not let me back in to my room. Five phone calls to the hotel manager later, and two emails to the parent hotel chain, and still no return of my phone calls or possessions, say nothing about customer satisfaction. I do find it funny however, that Holiday Inn was able to make sure that my bill was emailed to me within 24 hours of the power being turned back on....

Room Tip: Don't book here.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed nearly five weeks (with a seven day split in the middle of visit), which is standard as we visit family. Being our visits are for long stays, our search for a hotel includes convenience to the airport w/shuttle, proximity to restaurants, room accommodations, and price. In this case, we generally stayed at the HIE on Airport Frwy, but decided to change primarily, as rooms there do not provide the privacy for the dressing/vanity. Nor do they have separate (door separating them) living and bedrooms.

Sadly, our first introduction to this HIE was the contracted shuttle. Though the young man was personable, the van was dirty and beat-up and he offered no help to get our luggage into the hotel. Not a good first impression.

Then, upon our return to complete the final leg of our trip, we were met at the desk by a less than cordial greeting. The young lady couldn't even raise her head to make eye contact. This behaviour continued from she and most of the evening staff for the remainder of our stay.

There was only one clerk, the maintenance man, and weekday dining room staff that made a sincere effort to make our stay comfortable. The rest of the staff could learn customer service from them.

It has to be said though, when I reported these concerns and frustrations to the manager he was very apologetic and show genuine concern.

All in all, our stay was in a clean comfortable room which included a typical HIE breakfast. The beds were very comfortable and the room, though in need of updating, adequate and comfortable. Though I find it a shame they chose to switch to disposable dishes and cutlery in the suites.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North

Address: 4550 W John Carpenter Freeway, Irving, TX 75063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dallas/Fort Worth hotel is in an ideal location. You'll receive superior accommodations in Dallas/Ft Worth (DFW) when you choose the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW North. Ideally located one mile from DFW Airport, our Dallas hotel offers several convenient services like a free shuttle to and from the airport. Short-term travelers and long-term visitors will both enjoy staying in our hotel in the DFW Metroplex. Visitors will find our DFW hotel the ultimate in convenience due to the area's business attractions. Situated among more than 8,000 companies, including 4 global headquarters for Fortune 500s, our DFW accommodations, multiple meeting rooms, and 24-hour business center fit the ambitious mindset of our local businesses. Travelers looking for hotels near DFW airport will be happy to find that we are only 12 miles from Six Flags and Wet 'n Wild Water World. The Galleria Mall, Grapevine Mills Mall, and Ft. Worth Stockyards have Texas treasures and souvenirs for you to remember your DFW vacation. Because every room is a newly renovated suite filled with new amenities, guests will feel at home throughout their DFW stay. Escape for a relaxing dip in our outdoor pool, and stay connected throughout your trip with free high-speed Internet access available in every room. Whether you're enjoying a Texas family vacation or business trip, our Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites near DFW is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites-Dfw North
Holiday Inn Irving
Irving Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-DFW North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.