We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations, pleasantly surprized” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North to your Saves list
Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8440 Freeport Parkway, Irving, TX 75063   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #28 of 76 Hotels in Irving
New England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations, pleasantly surprized”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2007

Stayed here for 4 days recently for work (typically stay at Omni Mandalay or Four Seasons while in Dallas but both were booked). I was reluctant to stay at an airport hotel in general because of noise and traffic, but I was surprized in a good way by this hotel. The hotel itself is very nicely appointed. The lobby is large and has many seating areas to have impromptu meetings if needed, and even the bar / restauraunt was pretty good - busy but good service, lots of big TVs etc.

Generally, I have 3 things that are very important to me when I travel - hotel and room cleanliness, high speed internet has to be high speed, and the quality and type of equipment available in the exercise facility. This hotel was clean, the rooms were recently redone it seems - flat panel LCD tvs in the guest rooms, granite topped night stands etc - very snazzy looking. The internet speed was good, better than some hotels but not as fast as my cable moddem at home. Finally, the exercise facility was large and very nice, but lacked any free weights or bench press. There was plenty of cardio machines, as well as a few nautilus type machines but I am not a fan of those personally.

Finally - I make frequent use of the concierge lounge when I travel for snacks etc. I found this one to need some work to be honest. The food was good and plentiful (ok, the deserts were not so hot), but the furniture (tables and chairs) looked very banquet hall-ish. In other Marriotts, people gather, and linger for a while in the concierge lounge, but that is not the case here, mainly because there is one small couch in front of the TV and the rest of the space is set up with the tables and chairs. It was not a welcoming place to sit and read the paper in general.

Overall, nice hotel, great location. Would I stay there again? Probably, while not my first choice in Dallas, I would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    117
    60
    15
    8
See reviews for
38
47
31
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

This hotel is top of the line as always. I stay here each time I travel on business to Dallas. The hotel is way clean and the rooms are nice. The conference facilities are great and the food they offer is good as well. I am a very picky traveler and I choose this hotel each time I am in Dallas because of how well kept it is.

  • Liked — Very clean and well kept hotel.
  • Disliked — You need a car to get around.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2006

We came for the Thanksgiving Dallas Cowboys game. We really didn't have high expectations for the hotel, expecting just a very standard Marriott. We were surprised to find a nice hotel that we'd stay at again.

The room was standard - but nice. The fitness room is excellent, with lots of top notch equipment. The pool is indoor/outdoor and quite nice. Staff is helpful and friendly. The biggest surprise was the way above average food via room service. Dinner brought an outstanding burger (seemingly hard for hotels to get right). The breakfast burrito was huge and very good. In fact, everything we ordered was really good. And the prices are amazingly reasonable.

You should be aware that during Cowboys home games, the team and fans converge on this hotel. We spent a lot of time waiting for elevators and then trying to squeeze into over-stuffed elevators. The lines for restaurants are enormous (call room service... they were still efficient and as noted, food is really good!). But even with the crowds, the staff remains friendly. And Cowboys fans are nice folks, so if you're standing in line for an elevator or the breakfast buffet, you'll probably make a friend.

A surprisingly good stay. Just pack a little extra patience if you're going for a game weekend.

  • Liked — Great gym and above average food.
  • Disliked — Can get crowded during Cowboys home games.
  • Stayed November 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

The previous reviewer was correct -- this is standard stuff. The hotel is convenient, has a complimentray shuttle to the airport, a Starbucks in the lobby and a concierge lounge for frequent Marriott visitors. Airplane noise is non-existent and the beds are comforable.

The rooms are garden variety Marriott. They are decorated in neutrals with a splash of red color on the bed scarf. (Do any of you use a bed "scarf" at home?) A pleasant surprise to find such large flat screen TVs! The beds did have the Marriott Revive bedding collection and mattress which is comfortable. Turndown service was a nice touch complete with a white chocolate armadillo or boxed truffles. Kids looked like they were having a great time at the pool! (If you are traveling with tikes, ask for a room facing the back of the hotel. Your kids will have a good view of the distant runways and you have yourself some built in entertainment.)

The bathroom is small and could use updating as it looks a little worn. On the flip side it was clean. The towels were not very soft and need to be replaced. Amentites are the standard Marriott orange/vanilla variety from bath&body.

Room service was better then average and the server was really pleasant. They came quickly and the food was hot.

All in all, a rather pleasant airport hotel.

  • Liked — Beds
  • Disliked — Small bathrooms
  • Tips/Secrets — See notes on room location
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2006

What would you expect from an airport hotel? People stay there for one night and want no surprises. This is quite the standard one.

Nothing specific that has survived in my memory, good or bad. I don't remember even being disturbed by the planes.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2005

The hotel has outstanding service. The food is wonderful and the attention to you needs is incredible.

  • Stayed July 2004, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2004

Stayed here during November 2004. I stayed due to a business trip. I read up on the hotel before I went. The hotel has been renovated? It hasn't been renovated enough. The furniture and bedding seems new, but the bathrooms need major overhaul. The lobby is dark and uninviting.

  • Stayed November 2004, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North

Address: 8440 Freeport Parkway, Irving, TX 75063
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Irving
#26 Business Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 491
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North Hotel Irving
Marriott Hotel Irving
Marriott Irving
Irving Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.