We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel & airport shuttle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North

Save Saved
You added Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8440 Freeport Parkway, Irving, TX 75063   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #34 of 77 hotels in Irving
texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel & airport shuttle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

DFW Airport North is a good hotel for our pre-vacation hotel stay. We opt for the stay and fly option and spend the night and take the free shuttle to/from the airport for our early morning international flights. This is a great way to be sure you will get to the airport on time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, General Manager at Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate all our guests comments and suggestions.

I am glad you enjoyed our Stay and Fly option. We have a number of guests who enjoy this option, it certainly takes the stress out of getting to the airport on time, especially for those early morning flights.

Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    91
    41
    11
    5
See reviews for
26
28
28
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Construction is underway on the restaurant and lobby area. Starts at 7:00 am every morning, 7 days a week. Say they hope to finish maybe in August 2012.

When the noise woke us Saturday morning, I thought that they were drilling the concrete wall in the next room. When it started again on Sunday, I called the front desk.. The front desk was smooth and polite and assured me that it was the lobby construction but they could not delay it. Had to be 7:00 am.

This is all in the lobby level of the south wing of the hotel. Make sure you get a room in the north wing or a very high floor.

We booked for a Friday through Sunday using one of the discount deals online, Turns out that's why we got such a deal. I suspect the lower south wing floor are where they dump the discounters. The regulars know better and I didn't do my research so there it is.

Food/Bar: The in hotel ad's make a big deal about "Drinks prepared with the same professional skill as the bar they are served on." Actually, the bartender had to look in a book as she made me a Bloody Bull and then shook it before pouring into a glass; it looked like milky tomato soup.
The waiter forgot my beer and wandered off so I had to go get it myself. We ate in the bar (all that was open) and I had the oversize hot dog and fries. The bun was charred black but they served it anyway.

We asked for a mini-fridge and it was delivered, no charge. No workie. The replacement fridge actually worked.

The staff was generally very helpful, friendly and polite. Pool and gym first rate and staffed. Food sucks, prepared and served by incompetents. Room and bed just ok, they had a shipment of new mattresses coming in.

Room Tip: (1) North wing only (2) upper floors only (3) The Wyndham is close, newer and Not under renovatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I travel a LOT. This stay has pushed me further back towards the Hilton and Carlson brands. To be fair, I will start with the positives.

PROS:

- I love the bath amenities. The citrus hand soap bar and shower bar are OUTSTANDING.
- The vending machines take credit cards. Excellent.
- They have a snack shop. Convenient.
- Large lobby area for relaxing. Nice.
- The room itself was comfortable, spacious, and relaxing. I didn't hear any noises from rooms nearby, and I felt content in my room.
- Close to the airport with shuttle service. Convenient.

CONS:

- Check-in staff was not friendly. I don't want anyone to kiss my feet, but a smile would be nice. I smile all the time. And the best part? It's free.
- The Crosswinds Bar & Grill was AWFUL. One of the female wait staff kept forgetting to deliver people's orders (one of the customers was talking to me about it), and she totally forgot about me as I was sitting at the bar waiting to place my order. After about 30 minutes, a male wait staff member finally took my order, and then it took an additional 30 minutes to make a hot dog that tasted just awful. An hour for a hot dog to go? I would have asked for a refund, but I was just too tired to argue about it.
- When I got back up to my room, they didn't put any silverware in my to-go bag. When I called room service for some silverware (I was already dressed in my night clothes for the evening), the operator said, "I guess I can ask," in an irritated tone. Seriously??? This place is REALLY lacking in customer service skills. I will say that the gentleman who brought me the silverware was incredibly kind and wouldn't even accept my two dollar tip for bringing it up to me - that was classy, but I think he was the manager on duty.
- The air conditioning was not set to a comfortable temperature, and it took two hours to get it down to making the room comfortable. I know we are all trying to save money, but a few notches lower as a standard would be appreciated upon arrival.
- You have to pay for Internet here... at an airport hotel? It's 2013, right? LOL. Irritating.
- One of the shuttle drivers was incredibly kind, the other one was dismissive and irritable. I thankfully got to ride with the kind one and tipped him appropriately for his super-positive attitude.

OVERALL IMPRESSION:

Places like this keep me repeat visits and from concentrating and earning points in their loyalty program. I tend to focus on Hilton-branded and Carlson-branded hotels because their staff members are USUALLY pretty positive and helpful to their client base. This location missed the mark on both accounts.

I travel to DFW a few times a year, and unless I knew that there was an improvement at this location, I probably will not return, which is sad, because this location LOOKS great and has such great POTENTIAL! It's the staff that ruins it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Part of a six hotel road trip, we thought we would finish off in a nice upscale Marriott. Dont get me wrong the hotel was clean, looked good, beds fine, staff good. However, every other hotel we stayed in (Staybridge, Springhill Suites) offered free wifi, coffee in the reception and a free breakfast. Yes I know they are low end hotel chains, but at the end of the day they serviced the same needs for a lot less price and with a lot more amentites. We actually wished we had kept staying at the other places. I guess what I am trying to say you get a lot more bang for your buck staying at a cheaper hotel nearby.
Good point Swimming pool kids loved it.

Room Tip: This is an airport hotel, dont get a room that opens onto the lift lobbies the bells on the lift rin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, General Manager at Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to the Metroplex. I can certainly understand your perspective on the amenities offered by different hotel brands and I appreciate the feedback regarding our hotel.

Hope you have a great 4th of July Holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has all you need. Free breakfast on weekends for platinum members. Huge fitness center with nice machines. Friendly staff. Inviting areas around outdoor pool to relax. Close to interstate and just up the road from Grapevine and great dining.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, Manager at Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent visit to our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our fitness center and that you found our staff friendly. It is always nice to hear positive comments about our hotel and staff.

Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I got sent here by DFW airport after AA flight was delayed and missed layover....

Nonetheless, they put me in the Marriott for the night.

Got there, ate in the sports bar, slept 3 hours and went back to airport.

Was very clean, bed was nice, food in sports bar was very good(better than expected). Seemed like a higher end Marriott compared to others ive stayed at.

I would stay again if coming in for business. Shuttle ran every half hour for 24 hours a day to and from airport so getting back and forth was easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, General Manager at Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Ryan,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding your short stay at our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the food in our Sports Bar and found the bed comfortable.
We definitely look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Bob Bula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

One of the better airport Marriott's I've ever stayed at. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Rooms were modern and clean. Internet service was fast and A/C was strong. Lobby area is appealing and comfortable. Nice stay,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North

Also Known As:
Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North Hotel
Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North Hotel Irving
Marriott Hotel Irving
Marriott Irving
Irving Marriott
Address: 8440 Freeport Parkway, Irving, TX 75063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Irving
#31 Business Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.