We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North to your Saves list
Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8440 Freeport Parkway, Irving, TX 75063   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #30 of 76 Hotels in Irving
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unexpected stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Many of our plane from Australia were put up here overnight as our flight was delayed following an unexpected detour to LA. By the time we'd arrived in Dallas, our connecting flights were gone and no more until following day. Marriott near the Airport were provided to us by Qantas and it did not disappoint.

The hotel staff were very helpful and understanding. I had severe jet lag and almost missed my flight the following morning. However the staff gave me priority status and got me to the airport in time. I am very grateful for their efforts.

The hotel and rooms are beautiful, and the dining options are fantastic. Overall a great place to stay albeit not part of the original plan. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    106
    54
    14
    7
See reviews for
34
39
30
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great location for a stay at DFW and use of the airport shuttle.

Nice, large lobby with bar for meeting with a friend. Breakfast was room service and just as expected.

The room was updated, quiet and comfortable. No surprises which was a relief as I was about to embark on a long, overseas trip and didn't want to begin with hotel "drama."

I would stay here again if traveling to/from DFW.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Outstanding customer service backing up a very good location for business travelers. Holding a business meeting for a small group and the accessibility of this property is why I chose it....the reason I will be back is because of the staff. Very professional, courteous, and exudes a "Can-Do" attitude like few others. Very satisfied!

Room Tip: I just prefer to be near the elevator...being a sound sleeper, it doesnt bother me and it is useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, General Manager at Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Brad,

Thank you for taking time to provide your nice comments about your experience here at the Dallas Fort Worth Airport Marriott North. I'm glad the location works well for you and your colleagues when conducting business meetings here in the Dallas Fort Worth metroplex. I'm most appreciative of the comments about the customer service we have extended to you and your team. We have a very experienced events team that has a customer focused attitude to exceed our customers' expectations. This "Can-Do" attitude and great customer is a focus throughout the entire hotel.

The next time your travel brings you back to Dallas, I hope you'll stay with us. Please let us know about your preference to be located near the elevator and we'll be happy to accommodate your request.

Thanks again.

Have a good remainder of the week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

There are a lot of hotel choices both on the north and south side of DFW. I had passed this by before because I thought it looked a bit "tired" when I passed it on on the highway. I was wrong. This is a modern, up to date hotel with all of the ammenities you would expect from Marriott. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. There are several restaurants with ample room. The concierge lounge is big enough to accomodate the peak times. Service in all areas was good. The elevators get a little slow in the morning and you hear a bit of road noise at night, but its not bad. I will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

It's a nice hotel and everything but it's definitely tailored to those on company money. There's a charge for both breakfast and internet, which even on company money I wasn't willing to pay for. Those traveling on own cash and not a gold/platinum member should avoid this hotel and the puny charges. Although let's be honest all hotels at this level are the same way. Restaurant was nice and the Chilean See Bass was AWESOME. However, when we were ordering appys the server offered a non-menu item, seafood platter. Looking at the menu the most expensive appy was $24, also sort of a platter, so we figured how much could it be, $35 at most. When we got the bill, it was $50!! Very unprofessional for him to not mention anything about the price. Rate of 190/night for three weekdays on a huge corporate rate was still quite high. Service in general was good, shuttle to DFW was convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Granted it is a nice hotel at first look. But the fact that is is overpriced clouds my objectivity about this hotel. I stayed here for a night and paid 240$. And the toilet still did not flush properly. They still did not give me free breakfast. It does not make sense to stay here when there are so many other lodging options are available around DFW with much better value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Room was exceptionally nice, especially the amenities. Food was ok. The worst thing about this hotel is that there is nothing nearby, at least within walking distance. So if you want to shop or do anything off campus, you need a car or a cab.

Location is less than 2 miles from DFW airport but unless you want to spend $24 on a cab, take the free shuttle. You may have to wait 15 or 20 minutes for it. And be sure to call them to request pickup. The shuttle departs the hotel for DFW on the top and bottom of the hour.

We were here for a business meeting and the meeting rooms were great. No complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North

Address: 8440 Freeport Parkway, Irving, TX 75063
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Irving
#24 Family Hotel in Irving
#28 Business Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 491
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North Hotel Irving
Marriott Hotel Irving
Marriott Irving
Irving Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dallas/Fort Worth Airport Marriott North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.