We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning...Rooms are like Saunas...Only one AC Vent in entire room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of NYLO Dallas Las Colinas

Save Saved
You added NYLO Dallas Las Colinas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
NYLO Dallas Las Colinas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 W Royal Lane, Irving, TX 75039   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Early - 10% Savings!
Ranked #9 of 77 hotels in Irving
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Warning...Rooms are like Saunas...Only one AC Vent in entire room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel has nice hip vibe. You are pleasantly surprised when you walk into the hotel. Contemporary lobby and air conditioning is nice and cool coming in from the heat.
Big problem is Air Conditioning. The entire lights and AC only run when you insert your room key. So the room has no moving air all day after it's cleaned. That means the room has the potential of no moving air for a couple of days.
One window AC unit behind head of the bed with no way to cool the room or circulate the air. There is no vent in the bathroom so that felt muggy the entire time. Forget trying to get dry after a shower! No circulation.
I had a sleepless night tossing, turning, stripping off the covers. Getting up to check the AC unit.
It didn't cool the room 1 degree in the 10 hours I was in the room.
They are green conscience. But it's a little over the top and extreme. I bet they have the AC units to never cool to less than 72 degrees ever!.

Room Tip: Rooms very small without Air Conditioning. You won't be doing any work in these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYLOManagement, General Manager at NYLO Dallas Las Colinas, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us! While we do pride ourselves on our green initiatives, including our concrete design and use of recyclable materials, it is certainly never our intent to take away from the guest experience. While our guestroom lights are activated with a room key in order to ensure that lights are kept off when the guest has left the room, our A/C system is independent of this system. Our Engineering team works tirelessly to ensure everything is in proper working order; please accept our most sincere apologies that this was missed during your stay with us. We certainly hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Best Regards,
Caleb DuBose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    75
    41
    21
    21
See reviews for
31
104
40
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

First, hotel is in Las Colinas, not Irving, Texas. Often listed in both areas. GPS will not get you there if you use Irving. Positives: 1) good value, 2) comfortable room. Negatives - many. No welcome from staff upon arrival or departure. Asked for credit card and ID upon arrival as if being pulled over for a traffic violation. No hotel features/services explained - restaurants, how breakfast works, gym, etc. Nothing. Room was comfortable, but hotel interior created for interior designers and architects, not customers. Building is either a repurposed factory or made to look that way. Either way, not inviting or warm/friendly in the least. Think "institutional" - like prison institutional. Bare concrete floors, walls, ceilings. Sheet metal walled elevators. Saw two women in the hotel during my entire one day stay - one worked there, the other appeared terrified of the interior and mentioned it in the elevator. Just not a place women would even consider because it has no charm, warmth, welcome. Vaguely modeled after the "W" or Aloft chains, which are dreadful in my experience, unless you are a hip and happening 25 year old. There have got to be better places to stay in Dallas - Irving - Las Colinas than this. Unless you want to hang out with a bunch of male architects and interior designers.

Room Tip: Bed was comfortable, but awkwardly positioned in room. Just really consider another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very nice Hotel. I've stayed there several times on my business trips. The best thing about this Nylo is the pool area, where you can have some drinks, lunch, dinner, etc. The personnel is very kind at all times. The menu is not so wide, but it is enough in my opinion.

If you stay on weekends, normally there's a lot of people that meet there in the bar, so the environment turns really entertaining.

One comment though, if you travel with children, it may not be the best place to stay, specially because the rooms don't have a refrigerator.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Got a great deal on this hotel. Been at the bar before but never stayed overnight. Rooms are spartan but very cool; furniture has an IKEA feel but much more upscale. Beds very comfortable, love the oversized shower head and fixtures. Also ate sushi and sashimi at the bar and it was excellent, definitely order the daikon salad, you'll be surprised and its delicious. Room key goes into slot next to door in room to activate lights throughout the room. Quiet from rooms next door although the metal doors can be heard slamming. At least it wasn't late at night. Overall, very good experience and would definitely return and reco to others.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krum, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

The check in was really bad, there was a party or something going on so it was a bit unorganized. Was a bit of a disappointment expected more from looking at web site and driving by. The minimalist thing just didn't work, was kinda dirty and not comfortable. I sort of felt like I was in someone's closet! Best thing was super comfortable bed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome. Service was great; rooms were modern and clean. The staff was working for hrs and hrs and still had a smile on their faces. Our guy at breakfast at 9am served us drinks at 11pm and yet was just as polite and professional

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Wonderful staff. It feels "homey". Too hot for pool, but it looks lovely and looking forward to returning in nicer weather. Loft style maybe not for everyone, but we felt comfy. Room a little crowded with furniture. We had to move the cocktail ottoman before bed because I know clumsy me would have tripped over it. The sink was too high for me.
Entire staff from front desk to bar were awesome. Menu was perfect for light dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NYLO Dallas Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO Dallas Las Colinas

Also Known As:
Nylo Dallas Las Colinas Hotel
Nylo Dallas Las Colinas Hotel Irving
Address: 1001 W Royal Lane, Irving, TX 75039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Irving
#14 Family Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NYLO Dallas Las Colinas 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing a unique alternative to the traditional, uninspiring hotel experience, NYLO Irving/Las Colinas is an elegant and sophisticated boutique style hotel that is also comfortable, casual and fun. Business and leisure travelers will find no better or exciting place to stay in the Las Colinas area than the NYLO Las Colinas with its chic loft-style accommodations, two outdoor heated swimming pools, a state of the art gym, ample meeting and event space, and the Manhattan ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your NYLO Dallas Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NYLO Dallas Las Colinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.