We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awsome hotel, service sucks.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NYLO Dallas Las Colinas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added NYLO Dallas Las Colinas to your Saves list
NYLO Dallas Las Colinas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 W Royal Lane, Irving, TX 75039   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Early - 10% Savings!
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Irving
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“awsome hotel, service sucks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

i stay 200 nights a year on the road. on average, i would say thats in the top 10% of all buisness travelers. so that being said, i really rely on locals for info. the web works, but it always best to ask the staff for the type of stuff that falls through the cracks and goes unoticed.

the bar tender on this day was the worst ive ever dealt with. i asked her very politly if she could change the channel on the tv to watch the last few minets of the ncaa semi finals.

i was the only one in the whole bar and resteraunt.

5 min. latter, still no luck, she then proceeds to make a mojito's for the only other people in the hotel by the pool. haveing been patient enough i felt, i now reiterated there was only 5 mins left when i asked 5 min. prior and could please change the channel

miffed, she finally grabbed the remote and asked what channel its on, informed her it was on the local cbs station, which she replied she never heard of it. this is dallas fort worth,
not atumawa iowa..

after that mishap i asked if anyone knew of a great local place only to eat at. nothing, you could hear crickets chirping. i never in my life met a bartenter that did have at least one suggestion on a place near by.

rooms are awsome to say the least, but my ac did not work, they have an awfull thermastat system and thought it was just me. by 4 am the room was over 75 degress
with no windows to open for relief. called down to front desk and was informed no maitence man on site nor the next day.

all in all the hotel is awsome to enter, look at, and sleep in, just dont expect anything else.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYLOManagement, Director of Sales at NYLO Dallas Las Colinas, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Sunsetseaker,

Thank you for the review and your comments regarding your recent visit to NYLO Hotel. I am disappointed to read your experience and I sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered while attempting to watch the NCAA finals in our bar & the air conditioning in your room; such incidents are not the NYLO standard. I will make sure the appropriate departments are made aware of your experience so that such incidents do not occur again in the future. Please contact me directly at cdubose@nylohotels.com if your travels bring you back to the area so we may restore your faith in NYLO once again.

Best Regards,
Caleb DuBose
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    107
    50
    25
    22
See reviews for
43
146
43
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A very cool, urban industrial style hotel. Though it feels out of the way, you are close to shopping and restaurants.

The mood:
Urban industrial design with some mid-century hip. They've nailed the current trend to not be a "cokkie-cutter" business hotel.

Check in:
Very nice at check in. I was in and to my room in 5 minutes. They took the time to explain amenities available, times for breakfast, gym, etc. (more on that gym later)

The room:
You either like bare concrete or you don't. There is no middle ground here. However, if you like the trend in design, you'll love it at the hotel. (If not, seek a Courtyard.) A super comfortable bed, nice large TV with great selections. Coffee maker, safe and a decent desk lamp! (see below for the design mis-steps)

The bathroom:
Very nice. Terrific, large mirror that extended to the shower (handy for shaving), great lighting; nice sized room. Wood laminate counter and vessel bowl sink were cool touches. (more on the sink later...), rainshower with a frosted, curved glass wall that also faced the bedroom. The green glass was a nice touch and the corner being open to the room helped cut down on steam. Private label products from Gilchrest and Soames were nice. The room felt airy and fresh.

The gym:
VERY nice , smallish gym. VERY clean and everything was in working order.

Pool area:
Very posh. It felt more like a resort than a hotel in Las Colinas. They took cues from penthouse living and applied it to the pool area just outside the restaurant and bar.

Restaurant:
I didn't eat there but others in the group were very happy.

Kudos:
Gloria, at the front desk, is absolutely terrific. Personable, helpful and ready to go more than the extra mile to make things right. Her personality visibly lights up when guests approach. Everyone was nice but she is special!

Now, about those mis-steps, and a bit of adisclaimer:
I am an interior designer by trade, so I look at logic and convenience beyond the aesthetics; the hotel has great aesthetics but design isn't good if it doesn't function well. That said:

•Avoid rooms 249,251 at the moment. They are over the gym and though not a light sleeper, I woke up to hear (and feel) the thumping of the treadmill below me. (It took a while to figure out what it was) The gym is open 24 hours so my first wake up was at midnight and the other at 0545. Not good. I told 5 different front desk people over the course of the day just to stress the issue and it was taken under advisement and actually written down. (I must say, I was offered another room but with only one more night it seemed a pain to move, fortunately, the "Olympic Treadmill Team" appeared to be gone) Most important is that the hotel fix the sound issue, not just move people around. Besides, if it's a full house, where would they go?
•The windows are behind the beds. Again, it's very cool design but you have to climb up a little platform, reach behind the headboard and use the chain pulley to raise or lower the shade. If you are not thin, getting to the window could be difficult. If you are not tall, reaching the cord would be tough. If you are clumsy, climbing up the little stairs and behind the bed could be disastrous. (they need to be controlled automatically from somewhere near the bed.
•The bath sink faucet is too short. Unless you turn the water on full force, the stream is close to the edge of the sink, making it hard to get your hands in to wash and ultimately having you splash water all over. The single shaft/lever faucet s very cool and looks great, but it just doesn't extend far enough over the sink to be practical. In the end, we want to wash our hands and brush our teeth.
•An open closet near the entrance door (with a curtain to hide your belongings) is poorly designed. A nice shelf unit comes up too high if you have anything long to hang. It's also pretty cramped. (note that it seems to be a business hotel so the closets are full of vast wardrobes.) Still, it's tight.

Would I stay again? Absolutely. It is a cool property and the few annoyances can be dealt with. Any other room wouldn't be over the gym (though I'd be leery of being over the restaurant and bar, as well). The sink faucet isn't dire, nor is the shade. It's just that with so much thought going into being cool, these items should also have been practical.

Room Tip: For the moment, stay away from the 2nd floor. Especially the high number rooms towards the end. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, Manager at NYLO Dallas Las Colinas, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for all the great kudos. The idea of NYLO was to introduce a unique design and I'm glad to read that you enjoyed the majority of our features.

And thank you so much for your constructive comments. We'll certainly taken them under advisement upon our next opportunity for major renovations or improvements.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay all-in-all here, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Pros:
Staff: Front Desk, Bartender, Room Service
Location: Close to many corporations and near highways (Irving)
Internet connection was fine (not too slow)

Cons:
Room Layout:
- Bathroom: Vents into the rest of the room (no fans and open to bedroom portion)
- No Minibar or small fridge
- Cement block room (walls and ceiling) - While modern, darkens room overall
Room Keys:
- Very susceptible to proximity to cell phone or other credit cards - they'll wipe it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, Manager at NYLO Dallas Las Colinas, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for providing us some great comments on our staff and location.

For your next stay with us, we do have a limited inventory of portable fridges available upon request - please feel free to ask when you arrive. And unfortunately, as room keys throughout the hotel industry are re-used, they are all quite susceptible to being demagnitized when near electronics or among other magnetic items. But we are happy to provide you with a new key whenever you need.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I'm actually torn about this hotel. On one hand, it is definitely one of the most stylish hotels I've stayed at. The appearance is urban chic. They paid attention to the details throughout the hotel and room, including things like raindrop showers in a quarter-circular stall, circular sink, and a raised bed. On the other hand, the cost is some minor quibbles. The room was quite small. The desk was out of the view of the television. There is no chest of drawers.

So go into this location with your eyes open. If you like different and visually appealing and are willing to concede some amenities, then this is a great hotel. If you are about functionality, then you would probably be better picking a more traditional property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, Manager at NYLO Dallas Las Colinas, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your honest feedback.

Yes, we're certainly a departure from the traditional hotel - we're here to create a unique loft hotel experience for our guests, from our loft-style guestrooms, to our resort-style pool deck and pooltable-equipped library. We hope you enjoyed your NYLO experience, and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay! Over 40 of us stayed here and the hotel was a beautiful site to see with such cool rooms! The food that was caterd by your staff was amazing and delicious! We couldn't stop talking about the food and the hotel :). Your staff was very kind to our large group! Next time I'm in Dallas I know where I'm staying!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, Manager at NYLO Dallas Las Colinas, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for such great comments!

We're so honored that your group chose to stay with us here at NYLO Las Colinas, and that you thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, the food, and its team. We look forward to your next stay with us, and hope that we'll see you group again as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

When checking in Gloria was such a pleasure to work with! As a frequent visitor to the hotel she noticed I was not part of the rewards program and enrolled myself! I am extremely pleased with the hotel and all of their employees! I high recommend staying with the NYLO!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, Manager at NYLO Dallas Las Colinas, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind kudos for Gloria! We're so glad that her great spirit will keep you coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NYLO Dallas Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO Dallas Las Colinas

Address: 1001 W Royal Lane, Irving, TX 75039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Irving
#7 Family Hotel in Irving
#9 Business Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NYLO Dallas Las Colinas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing a unique alternative to the traditional, uninspiring hotel experience, NYLO Irving/Las Colinas is an elegant and sophisticated boutique style hotel that is also comfortable, casual and fun. Business and leisure travelers will find no better or exciting place to stay in the Las Colinas area than the NYLO Las Colinas with its chic loft-style accommodations, two outdoor heated swimming pools, a state of the art gym, ample meeting and event space, and the Manhattan ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NYLO Dallas Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nylo Dallas Las Colinas Hotel Irving

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NYLO Dallas Las Colinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.