We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, cool property, a couple glitches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NYLO Dallas Las Colinas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added NYLO Dallas Las Colinas to your Saves list
NYLO Dallas Las Colinas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 W Royal Lane, Irving, TX 75039   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Irving
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Laurel, Maryland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice staff, cool property, a couple glitches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A very cool, urban industrial style hotel. Though it feels out of the way, you are close to shopping and restaurants.

The mood:
Urban industrial design with some mid-century hip. They've nailed the current trend to not be a "cokkie-cutter" business hotel.

Check in:
Very nice at check in. I was in and to my room in 5 minutes. They took the time to explain amenities available, times for breakfast, gym, etc. (more on that gym later)

The room:
You either like bare concrete or you don't. There is no middle ground here. However, if you like the trend in design, you'll love it at the hotel. (If not, seek a Courtyard.) A super comfortable bed, nice large TV with great selections. Coffee maker, safe and a decent desk lamp! (see below for the design mis-steps)

The bathroom:
Very nice. Terrific, large mirror that extended to the shower (handy for shaving), great lighting; nice sized room. Wood laminate counter and vessel bowl sink were cool touches. (more on the sink later...), rainshower with a frosted, curved glass wall that also faced the bedroom. The green glass was a nice touch and the corner being open to the room helped cut down on steam. Private label products from Gilchrest and Soames were nice. The room felt airy and fresh.

The gym:
VERY nice , smallish gym. VERY clean and everything was in working order.

Pool area:
Very posh. It felt more like a resort than a hotel in Las Colinas. They took cues from penthouse living and applied it to the pool area just outside the restaurant and bar.

Restaurant:
I didn't eat there but others in the group were very happy.

Kudos:
Gloria, at the front desk, is absolutely terrific. Personable, helpful and ready to go more than the extra mile to make things right. Her personality visibly lights up when guests approach. Everyone was nice but she is special!

Now, about those mis-steps, and a bit of adisclaimer:
I am an interior designer by trade, so I look at logic and convenience beyond the aesthetics; the hotel has great aesthetics but design isn't good if it doesn't function well. That said:

•Avoid rooms 249,251 at the moment. They are over the gym and though not a light sleeper, I woke up to hear (and feel) the thumping of the treadmill below me. (It took a while to figure out what it was) The gym is open 24 hours so my first wake up was at midnight and the other at 0545. Not good. I told 5 different front desk people over the course of the day just to stress the issue and it was taken under advisement and actually written down. (I must say, I was offered another room but with only one more night it seemed a pain to move, fortunately, the "Olympic Treadmill Team" appeared to be gone) Most important is that the hotel fix the sound issue, not just move people around. Besides, if it's a full house, where would they go?
•The windows are behind the beds. Again, it's very cool design but you have to climb up a little platform, reach behind the headboard and use the chain pulley to raise or lower the shade. If you are not thin, getting to the window could be difficult. If you are not tall, reaching the cord would be tough. If you are clumsy, climbing up the little stairs and behind the bed could be disastrous. (they need to be controlled automatically from somewhere near the bed.
•The bath sink faucet is too short. Unless you turn the water on full force, the stream is close to the edge of the sink, making it hard to get your hands in to wash and ultimately having you splash water all over. The single shaft/lever faucet s very cool and looks great, but it just doesn't extend far enough over the sink to be practical. In the end, we want to wash our hands and brush our teeth.
•An open closet near the entrance door (with a curtain to hide your belongings) is poorly designed. A nice shelf unit comes up too high if you have anything long to hang. It's also pretty cramped. (note that it seems to be a business hotel so the closets are full of vast wardrobes.) Still, it's tight.

Would I stay again? Absolutely. It is a cool property and the few annoyances can be dealt with. Any other room wouldn't be over the gym (though I'd be leery of being over the restaurant and bar, as well). The sink faucet isn't dire, nor is the shade. It's just that with so much thought going into being cool, these items should also have been practical.

Room Tip: For the moment, stay away from the 2nd floor. Especially the high number rooms towards the end. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, Manager at NYLO Dallas Las Colinas, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for all the great kudos. The idea of NYLO was to introduce a unique design and I'm glad to read that you enjoyed the majority of our features.

And thank you so much for your constructive comments. We'll certainly taken them under advisement upon our next opportunity for major renovations or improvements.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay all-in-all here, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    116
    57
    28
    23
See reviews for
44
163
44
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Pros:
Staff: Front Desk, Bartender, Room Service
Location: Close to many corporations and near highways (Irving)
Internet connection was fine (not too slow)

Cons:
Room Layout:
- Bathroom: Vents into the rest of the room (no fans and open to bedroom portion)
- No Minibar or small fridge
- Cement block room (walls and ceiling) - While modern, darkens room overall
Room Keys:
- Very susceptible to proximity to cell phone or other credit cards - they'll wipe it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, Manager at NYLO Dallas Las Colinas, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for providing us some great comments on our staff and location.

For your next stay with us, we do have a limited inventory of portable fridges available upon request - please feel free to ask when you arrive. And unfortunately, as room keys throughout the hotel industry are re-used, they are all quite susceptible to being demagnitized when near electronics or among other magnetic items. But we are happy to provide you with a new key whenever you need.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I'm actually torn about this hotel. On one hand, it is definitely one of the most stylish hotels I've stayed at. The appearance is urban chic. They paid attention to the details throughout the hotel and room, including things like raindrop showers in a quarter-circular stall, circular sink, and a raised bed. On the other hand, the cost is some minor quibbles. The room was quite small. The desk was out of the view of the television. There is no chest of drawers.

So go into this location with your eyes open. If you like different and visually appealing and are willing to concede some amenities, then this is a great hotel. If you are about functionality, then you would probably be better picking a more traditional property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, Manager at NYLO Dallas Las Colinas, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your honest feedback.

Yes, we're certainly a departure from the traditional hotel - we're here to create a unique loft hotel experience for our guests, from our loft-style guestrooms, to our resort-style pool deck and pooltable-equipped library. We hope you enjoyed your NYLO experience, and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I enjoyed my stay! Over 40 of us stayed here and the hotel was a beautiful site to see with such cool rooms! The food that was caterd by your staff was amazing and delicious! We couldn't stop talking about the food and the hotel :). Your staff was very kind to our large group! Next time I'm in Dallas I know where I'm staying!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, Manager at NYLO Dallas Las Colinas, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for such great comments!

We're so honored that your group chose to stay with us here at NYLO Las Colinas, and that you thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, the food, and its team. We look forward to your next stay with us, and hope that we'll see you group again as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

When checking in Gloria was such a pleasure to work with! As a frequent visitor to the hotel she noticed I was not part of the rewards program and enrolled myself! I am extremely pleased with the hotel and all of their employees! I high recommend staying with the NYLO!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, Manager at NYLO Dallas Las Colinas, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind kudos for Gloria! We're so glad that her great spirit will keep you coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great experience staying @ Nylo. Funky modern facility with helpful staff who made our stay so memorable. Room fairly spacious & comfortable, bed luxurious . Don't miss out on pool area with the cabanas, pity the weather was so cool! Easy access to Dallas events. Did not try breakfast but felt $5 coffee was a little too steep!! Would l return???? Yes, yes yes

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NYLO Dallas Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO Dallas Las Colinas

Address: 1001 W Royal Lane, Irving, TX 75039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Irving
#11 Business Hotel in Irving
#12 Family Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NYLO Dallas Las Colinas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing a unique alternative to the traditional, uninspiring hotel experience, NYLO Irving/Las Colinas is an elegant and sophisticated boutique style hotel that is also comfortable, casual and fun. Business and leisure travelers will find no better or exciting place to stay in the Las Colinas area than the NYLO Las Colinas with its chic loft-style accommodations, two outdoor heated swimming pools, a state of the art gym, ample meeting and event space, and the Manhattan ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your NYLO Dallas Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nylo Dallas Las Colinas Hotel Irving

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NYLO Dallas Las Colinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.