We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wood Burning Pizza Delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cavalli Pizza

Cavalli Pizza
3601 Regent Blvd, Ste 115, Irving, TX 75063-2281
972-915-0001
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 475 Restaurants in Irving
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Pizzeria Napoletana
Restaurant details
Description: Pizzeria Napoletana
Dallas, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Wood Burning Pizza Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This Pizzeria features a wood burning oven which makes their Napolitan pizza unique to the area.
It is now, one of my top restaurant choices for pizza near Coppell. As the facilitator of an event for 22 people, I scouted the strip of restaurants for quality food prior to our event held at the nearby Element hotel and ordered take out - The Dallas, Margherita and Pesto Chicken pizzas were great! Their Almond Joy dessert pizza was good with a scoop of ice cream - if you like dessert-type pizzas. I definitely noticed the charred flavor on the dough.
Some of the members of our CZT group went there for lunch on Friday and dinner on Saturday - during Labor Day weekend and RAVED about the great food and Cavalli's kind owner.
Located within walking distance of the Element DFW hotel, Cavalli's is open for the business crowd during the week and is ONLY open on Saturdays and Sundays for dinner at this location. For a different twist and good food go to Cavalli's!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    36
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza Makes Up For Occasionally Poor Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Cavalii serves some of the best pizza in the Dallas area. A thin Neopolitan crust that blisters up, providing the perfect mix of chewy and crunchy. The crust just barely supporting the weight of the fresh ingredients, it comes hot out of the pizza oven in the perfect size for two.

We usually order the Margharetia Extra with tomatoes, buffalo mozzerella and basil, and it is delicious. Other options are equally good and the desert pizza (especially the nutella) are a decadent way to end the meal.

The restaurant offers salads, panninis and a few appetizers (calamari, etc) but, really, pizza is the justifiable star.

Service an be hit or miss. We've been there on busy nights where most of the tables were filled but we were still able to place our order, find a seat and within a few minutes be feasting on our pizza. We've also been there when the restaurant was mostly empty and have stood at the counter for five minutes being rudely ignored by the cashier while she focused on phone orders and acted like having to deal with a customer in person was a major imposition on her day - a great way to put your eat-in customers in a bad mood and to get them to spend much less than they might have otherwise!

The reality is, you don't come to Cavalli for great decor or good service (though both would be nice). You go there for terrific napoletana pizza and that they got nailed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantana, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“authentic Italian flavor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

one of the most authentic Italian pizzas around, however, I lived in Italy for 10 years and the pizza here is a little more burned than they usually do it over there. Brick ovens do that, but theirs is exceptionally burned most of the time and my 8 year old won't even eat it because it has a burned flavor......and she was born in Italy! I still think it is very good since it's the closest thing to Italian pizza around.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Irving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Wife & I have been going there for a couple of years. Love sitting outside and enjoying a bottle of wine from our home selection. The pizza is awesome!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“amazing pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Came here with coworkers after work and ate the best pizza I have had in Texas. The restaurant is BYOB so you can bring your own wine, beer etc (they have wine glasses if you bring a bottle of wine). The pizzas are large personal size pizzas. There are a lot of pizzas to choose from or you can make your own. They close pretty early and will close even earlier if they run out of pizza dough so go early. Prices are very reasonable (especially since you can byob).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cavalli Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Cavalli Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavalli Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.