We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel close to airport.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites DFW Airport South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites DFW Airport South to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites DFW Airport South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4940 W Airport Freeway, Irving, TX 75062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #48 of 78 Hotels in Irving
Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice hotel close to airport.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed the night before we flew to Cancun. For just 5 dollars a day, were able to park our car here on the parking lot. We caught a free hotel shuttle to the airport that runs every 30 minutes. The rooms were clean, and the breakfast was good. Free USA today, and Wall Street Journal. My only complaint was that the internet here is extremly slow. Bring an Air Card if you need to do any work on your laptop.

Room Tip: Call ahead in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim45Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here due to all the other hotels being full, as there was a large conference on, and I booked 2 days before. Firstly I have to say that "Kent" on the front desk was very good, he help a great deal, from the moment I arrived, from telling where to go to dinner, (nothing in house!!!!!) to organising transport.
I didn't have a car, so options are very, very limited!!!
You can go to the burger place next door, or to the Embassy Suites across the road for something to eat. I pick the Embassy Suite. I will stay there next time.
My room was at the end of the hall, sort of facing the pool but backing onto the back car park, so didn't feel so safe as I was on the ground floor. Breakfast was, well how do I describe it? "on the go" You don't spend much time there.
Rooms clean but dark, comfortable, towels in the bathroom where too small, more like hand towels.
Airconditioner right next to the bed so you are either very cold or very hot, I stayed 2 nights so I had both.
Getting back to the airport, I booked a transfer at 5.30, someone else did the same, we got the transfer at 6.10pm after complaining at the driver turned up. I was sitting there from 5.15 until then. They told me he had come i n to check. Seeing I was by the door, with someone else waiting, that was rubbish.
The planes going over at 2am didn't help with sleeping
Will not be there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is one my favorite hotels in the DFW area. The staff is awesome, the location is near perfect, and the Whataburger fast food franchise just outside the door is perfect if you need a late breakfast in a hurry. I love this Hotel and believe you will to!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wfrieze88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Rooms are clean and roomy, but mirror at sink is tiny. We had signed up for the shuttle at 6 am, and were running late, so they didn't wait. Would have had to wait an hour for the next one, so we took a cab. Everything else was fine b

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stay at this franchise of hotels all across the country. Was not to happy with this one. Shuttle service is horrible. I got stranded for hours cause the driver "forgot" about me. And serving the comp breakfast later then usual doesn't make it convenient for those that goto work or have to catch an early flight. Otherwise the staff at the desk were excellent and the rooms average.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesSteven42354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We booked this hotel based off reviews and location. Here's my reason for the poor review.
Pros:
The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable.
Front desk staff were very helpful and it's very close to airport with a shuttle.
The shuttle will take you within a few mile radius if you have a layover since nothing is close by
Cons:
Internet wasn't working
The shuttle driver actually used racial slurs - meaning he used the "n" word.
Then went on to make assumptions about where we are from. I realize that Oregon is a little more liberal than some states but this is extremely inappropriate on all levels. Not everyone in Oregon smokes pot and are racist.

To be fair, we had a wonderful shuttle driver our first night who picked us up at the hotel so not all their shuttle drivers are this way.

However, we will never support someplace that has this backwards thinking!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMonkey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIDFW, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites DFW Airport South, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
I am really glad to hear how you loved your stay at our property. But you had some issues with one of our shuttle drivers. Can you please email me at sales@cidfw.com, so that we can further discuss the situation. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you have to be away from home, you want to stay in a place like this. You can't beat the quality for the price and the staff is always friendly. Shuttle for the airport, shopping, or to eat makes it awful convenient. Great place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scubadude77354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irving hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, DFW Airport South
0.2 mi away
Atrium Hotel & Suites, DFW Airport South
5.6 mi away
Comfort Suites DFW Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Irving Inn & Suites at DFW Airport
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn DFW North / Irving
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites DFW Airport South / Irving
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites DFW Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites DFW Airport South

Address: 4940 W Airport Freeway, Irving, TX 75062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites DFW Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHAT'S NEARBY. Located just South of the DFW Airport, centralized to both Dallas and Fort Worth, the Comfort Inn DFW South is the perfect location for any traveler. In this convenient location you will find plenty of dining options, as well as shopping, golfing, and recreational activities all within 10 miles. The rental car facility is just 2 miles from us; and Six Flags, Hurricane Harbor, Cowboys Stadium, and Rangers Ballpark are a short 9 miles away in nearby Arlington. WHY STAY WITH US. Grab a sweet, savory or healthy snack from Your Morning Breakfast®, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet served daily from 6:30-9:30 am. If you need a break, catch some sun and hop into our outdoor courtyard pool. Need a lift to the airport? Let our courtesy shuttle get you there in no time.Plus, you can always stay connected with complimentary hotel-wide wireless internet access! GET COMFORTABLE WITH US. Step into one of our Comfort Inn rooms, featuring our ultra-comfortable plush pillows, a 32” flat panel LCD TV for your viewing pleasure, a microwave and fridge combo, an oversized work desk for King rooms, and more. Our rooms are perfect to maximize work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites DFW Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Dfw Airport South Hotel Irving
Comfort Inn And Suites Dfw Airport South
Comfort Inn Irving
Irving Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing