We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best damn hotel and bed I have ever stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites DFW Airport South

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites DFW Airport South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites DFW Airport South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4940 W Airport Freeway, Irving, TX 75062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #50 of 76 hotels in Irving
1 review
“Best damn hotel and bed I have ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I were visiting Dallas for a concert and stayed here at this wonderful hotel. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but never judge a book by its cover. The room we stayed in was approximately $130 a night and wow...was it worth it! It had everything in there and the bed...oh that bed....it was like sleeping on a cloud. So comfortable and warm. Too wonderful for words. Lots of towels in the room and the staff was extremely sweet regardless of the hour. My husband and I are not fancy in the least and we dress like bums and they didn't let off a hint of judgment when we walked in! Everything was wonderful over all EXCEPT the eggs...lol Breakfast was a delight but those eggs are bleh. It was really impressive to see all the foods (hot and cold) available to eat for breakfast, not just a muffin like most places. They have everything from cereal, to waffles, sausage and fruit and of course lots of coffee!
This place is great in every way and I encourage anyone to go by and see for yourself. You will not regret it! :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    26
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
27
31
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel twice recently at the end of q trip to the Dallas area when I had a morning departure to ensure that I wouldn't have any traffic problems.

Rooms are clean, TV reception is good with a decent selection of channels. Hot breakfast with eggs, bacon or sausage, biscuits, gravy, Texas-shaped waffles, good selection of cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit (apples, oranges, and bananas) and some of the tastiest donuts! And it's virtually impossible to run into traffic problems between the hotel and the airport because this hotel is so close to the aiport (it must be the closest one which is not actually on the airport property) that you don't even get on hwy 183. The frontage road just runs right onto the airport property where it merges with the traffic coming from 183.

My only limitation on recommending this hotel is that it is a little restrictive for an airport hotel. The shuttle only runs from 5am until midnight, so if you have an early departure or late arrival then this hotel won't work for you. Also breakfast doesn't start until 6:30am.

If you can't wait for breakfast, there is a 24-hour Whataburger which shares the parking lot with this hotel. Their burgers are good!

Nice feature: they have a couple of washers and dryers for guest use and they cost only $1.50 per load (as of October 2012). For both of my trips, the detergent vending machines were sold out, but the Shell station next door sells single load packets of detergent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We chose this motel because we had to catch an early flight. The rate was great, the room was bright and clean, the staff helpful and friendly, and the location was perfect for getting to the rental car return area quickly. Our flight was too early to try breakfast at the motel, but we will book here whenever we travel to the Dallas-Fort Worth area again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is the hotel that we always stay at when we fly out of DFW. It is so clean and comfortable, it's a hands down decision! The bed is always comfortable, bathroom very clean and the breakfast is one of the best! Staff are very friendly and helpful. They were laying a new laminate floor when we came this time. The only negative was the shuttle picking us up from the airport. We took the hotel stay on the returning side of the trip since our plane landed at 11 p.m. and we didn't want a long drive home at that time of night. We called 3 times for the shuttle and at midnight it came! Other than that, it was a very good experience and we would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here w/ my husband after we were stranded at DFW by American Airlines en route from Cancun to Washington DC. The airline gave us a voucher to stay here and after looking at the reviews on Tripadvisor on the way to the hotel, I was hopeful it wouldn't be a dive. It wasn't a dive but I am surprised by the high reviews. I felt the place was not suitable for anything more than a one-night crash.

- Pros:
- comfortable bed w/ soft, clean linens
- very clean room
- relatively quiet
- microwave and minifridge in room
- free airport shuttle
- free newspaper
- upon checkin, front desk employee displayed an adequate sense of urgency while inprocessing a small crowd of fellow DFW refugees all stranded by the same American Airlines debacle... got us in to our room quickly with a minimum of further aggrivation

- Cons:
- garish decor throughout the hotel... bizarre, tacky knicknacks, mismatched furniture, random crystal chandeliers... did not create a soothing atmosphere
- bad breakfast ... okay, I get it, it's free... but I have had way better free breakfasts at the Fairfield Inn, Holiday Inn Express, and other similar budget hotels. Nothing fresh in sight; offerings consisted of donuts, industrial bread, cold cereal, obligatory waffle maker, and industrial sausage patty/biscuit/egg patty combo. Probably for the first time in my life did I skip a free hotel breakfast!
- Grumpy shuttle driver... as my husband and I perused the breakfast offerings, he was in the corner of the breakfast area loudly complaining to another employee about how hard he had worked the night before picking up American Airlines refugees and "didn't get one tip..." Well, that's a bummer, but speaking for myself, I had no cash and didn't plan to need to tip anyone that night as I thought I would be at home in my own bed after being picked up by friends at my destination airport. I really didn't need to hear him abusing the guests who were already in a bad situation.

Overall, I was grateful to stay here instead of the airport floor, as I have done before in a similar scenario. However, if I were paying for a room near the airport, this would not be my first choice. I am giving this hotel "3 dots" as it was not excellent, not bad, but average and acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

I came to the Comfort Inn 9/11/2012 -9/14/2012, the check-in process was a breeze, fast an efficient, i asked my restaurants and bars, the AGM gave a huge amt of recommendations and favored restaurants. The rooms were fantastic, everything clean from the bedding to towels, not even a spick of dirt/garbage on the floors. There was never a problem with the WiFi (some places tend to fluxuate, this hotels stayed strong). The shuttle service to and from the airport was quick and on point, AGM got me the shuttle service throughout the day/night, after midnight they stopped the shuttle service and she called cabs for me, which were quick. Maid service was great, they greet everytime they encounter as well as the maintenance man, overall experience at this property has been fantastic, i recommend anyone and everyone to stay here!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moores Pocket
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Very pleased with our stay here. First night of a 10 week trip to USA and our first experience with a Choice hotel. Right from the reception to breakfast the next morning everything was great. Lady at reception was extremely pleasant and helpful. Gave excellent directions to nearby shops/malls etc. Large room, great bed and a nice hot breakfast. After 20 hours on airplanes even the "Whataburger" out infront was handy with a varied menu.
Would recommend to anyone transiting through DFW as its only 5-6 mins away, infact we were so impressed we are going to book again when we return in 10 weeks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites DFW Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites DFW Airport South

Address: 4940 W Airport Freeway, Irving, TX 75062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 76 hotels in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites DFW Airport South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHAT'S NEARBY. Located just South of the DFW Airport, centralized to both Dallas and Fort Worth, the Comfort Inn DFW South is the perfect location for any traveler. In this convenient location you will find plenty of dining options, as well as shopping, golfing, and recreational activities all within 10 miles. The rental car facility is just 2 miles from us; and Six Flags, Hurricane Harbor, Cowboys Stadium, and Rangers Ballpark are a short 9 miles away in nearby Arlington. WHY STAY WITH US. Grab a sweet, savory or healthy snack from Your Morning Breakfast®, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet served daily from 6:30-9:30 am. If you need a break, catch some sun and hop into our outdoor courtyard pool. Need a lift to the airport? Let our courtesy shuttle get you there in no time.Plus, you can always stay connected with complimentary hotel-wide wireless internet access! GET COMFORTABLE WITH US. Step into one of our Comfort Inn rooms, featuring our ultra-comfortable plush pillows, a 32” flat panel LCD TV for your viewing pleasure, a microwave and fridge combo, an oversized work desk for King rooms, and more. Our rooms are perfect to maximize work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites DFW Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Dfw Airport South
Comfort Inn & Suites Dfw Airport South Hotel Irving
Comfort Inn Irving
Irving Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites DFW Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.