We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but noisy hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Irving North-Las Colinas

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Irving North-Las Colinas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Irving North-Las Colinas
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 W John Carpenter Freeway, Irving, TX 75038   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Irving
Orange, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice but noisy hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, seems new if not newly remodeled. It's right next to the Irving Convention Center, so you'll probably get a good deal if there is not convention happening during your stay.

It's right night to the freeway and railway, so it can get noisy, especially if you have a room with a window facing the railway. Note that there is very little around so you'll have to drive a few miles to to restaurants or shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Irving North-Las Colinas, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Whataload,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Irving Convention Center – Las Colinas. Without information back from our guests we have trouble finding ways we can improve our guest service. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and your comments will be shared with the rest of the staff so they can see how they are doing. Thank you again for taking them time out of your day to let us know how we are doing. We all look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Las Colinas area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    28
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
6
10
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am staying at the Holiday Inn Irving and I cannot fault anything. The room is very spacious with a lounge and bedroom area which is spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff have been wonderful as United Airlines lost my case and they helped with telephone numbers to chase it up. They then provided a shuttle to collect it from the Airport and Larry the driver was great as he sat and waited while I collected the case and then brought me back to the hotel. This has reduced my stress as it was awful being in an area that I don't know and finding myself without a change of clothes for the event that I am attending later.

I cannot thank the staff enough for the helpful support and recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: The receptionist gave me a room that was not near the elevator and although there is a road and rail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Irving North-Las Colinas, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Rmma2,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences while staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Irving Convention Center – Las Colinas. We certainly appreciate all the kind words and we will make sure to pass on all your sentiments to the rest of the staff. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Irving Convention Center – Las Colinas, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Las Colinas area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Nice hotel. provides all the amenites promised. Hotel was clean, spacious and comfortable. employees were helpful and friendly. The one complaint I have is the location it is difficult to get into the hotel if you are traveling on the opposite side of the highway, not a real big deal, but noticable. I would stay again we stayed for 5 nights and had no problems and really no complaints.

Room Tip: Try a higher floor you may not be distracted by things going on outiside when guests are checking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Irving North-Las Colinas, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear JW633,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Irving Convention Center – Las Colinas. Without feedback from our guests it is difficult to know where we can improve the guest satisfaction. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back the next time your travels bring you to the Las Colinas area. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Irving Convention Center – Las Colinas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed one night upon our arrival to the DFW area. We booked this hotel on Hotwire (we searched for a suite in north DFW area) so didn't know what hotel it would be until after it was booked. We arrived (driving) in DFW area just after midnight. We had to wait a while for someone to come to the front desk to check us in.
Room was clean. Beds are only double beds (not queen) and not the most comfortable, but not horrible (they could really use better support -- seemed to "sink in" in the middle and we are not large people). There was a pullout sofa bed, but no linens for it in the room. We were tired and just improvised with some bedding form each of the 2 double beds as we didn't feel like waiting for linens (after how long we had to wait for check in and we had a young child we just wanted to get go bed). There is a small kitchenette area with a microwave, refrigerator (with small freezer) and sink/counter/cabinets. There is a separate sitting area (where the sofa bed is) that is decent sized and nice if staying with kids. Bathroom is small, sink/vanity is outside of bathroom.
The hotel was very quiet. We had the continental breakfast which was fine.
As many others have said, there is really nothing around this hotel (no restaurants, stores, etc.). Would be very convenient if you were going to an event at the convention center. There is an outdoor pool, but it was closed due to low temps. Free Wi-Fi. Plenty of parking. Grounds look well maintained.
While we were packing up they called our room to remind us that check out time was 11am (it was a few min past).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Irving North-Las Colinas, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear DrMacGyver,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Irving Convention Center. Without feedback from guests like you we have no way of knowing what areas we can improve upon to enhance all of our guests’ stays. We apologize for the inconvenience of not having linens readily available for the pull out sofa. It is something we will address immediately and ensure that no one else encounters this issue moving forward. Again we really appreciate the time you took to let us know how we were doing here at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Irving Convention Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I'm not sure where to start here due to so many issues. Let's start from the beginning. We stayed here from December 29th, 2012 to January 2nd, 2013 as we attended the Heart of Dallas Bowl game. Wi-Fi was a must as I had saved a lot of web pages related to what Oklahoma State events were taking place, what sites to visit while in Dallas, ect. So check in was easy and we get to the room, the laptop wouldn't connect to the wi-fi. I walk back down to the lobby and ask how to connect and then was told wi-fi had been down since before Christmas and there was no timetable of when it would be up again. It was down the entire time we were there. I received two answers of why it was not being repaired...they couldn't get anybody out for repairs and the other being the router that was ordered had not been received yet. So let's talk about the room now. This was my first time at a Holiday Inn Suites hotel but I have stayed at several other chain suites in the past so I am comparing tjhis room to them. It is on the smallish side. It had two doubles instead of queens and no queens are offered in this property. That was a first as the other places had two queens. These beds are barely acceptable when it comes to comfort. They are the least quality beds of the other chain suites I have stayed at. They were acceptable but just barely. The air conditioner never reaches the desired temperature and stops. It runs constantly and it is right by the beds so it is never quiet in the room and the unit is pretty noisy. This is the first place I have stayed at that didn't have any body lotion. Not a big deal but noticed. There is a small above the counter microwave in the room and a small refrigerator below it. There is a flat screen TV in the room, probably a 37 inch if I was guessing. It doesn't put out a great picture but it is fair. The bathroom is small. It has a tub with the shower nozzle about the tub. Water pressure was fine and the water didn't get cold so that was good. However, this hotel was vacant the entire time we were there so there were not any users taxing the water heaters. I can't say what would happen with there were people other than us there. The furniture is dated which is a little surprising as the Holiday Inn website shows this property was renovated in early 2009. Breakfast is again marginal. One day, egg omelets with some strange filling inside was served and thank goodness that never showed up again. All other days had eggs, bacon, biscuits, cereals, several kinds of yogurts, a pancake maker that was broke when we first arrived but was working before we left, bananas offered some of the time we were there. It's not a large breakfast bar but it is adequate for most I would think. Regarding the location, it is about 20 minutes from downtown Dallas, 10 minutes to the Grapevine Mills Outlet Mall, about 30 minutes to the outlet mall in Allen. There are no restaurants, stores, ect within walking distance so a car is a must at this hotel. To wrap this up, I was disappointed in Holiday Inn Suites to be honest. Of all the chain suites which I have stayed at in the past, this is the worst of the bunch. I would list them here but I don't know if that is allowed. However, I have reviewed them too so just pull up my other reviews and you will see which other chains I am referring to. The bottom line is there are much better choices available for the same cost.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Irving North-Las Colinas, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear ProPoke,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Irving Convention Center and thank you for also taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor. Without feedback from our guests we find it very difficult to anticipate guests’ needs and how we can improve the services provided. We would also like to apologize for the unfortunate inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We did have a hotel wide problem with the guest Wi-Fi during your stay that unfortunately was out of our control due to shipping services provided and the Holiday Schedule. Rest assured we did everything within our power to get the Wi-Fi back up and running as quickly as possible. We would also like to thank you for sharing your other concerns about the property with us. Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback so we know in the future what we can do to better accommodate our guests. We look forward to you giving us another chance to earn your business the next time you are in the Dallas area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, CO
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I wasn't sure whether to give 4 or 5 stars. This hotel is new and very nice inside. The room is well laid out with a nice living room area and a separate washing area from the shower/toilet. It also had a small kitchenette. Very nice.

Just a couple of minor things:
1. The alarm clock had not been set so it showed 12:00 all the time. I was very tired when I got in so did not fiddle with it.
2. I was visiting with a colleague, and our door keys did not work until they were set a third time. The front desk clerk looked mildly irritated that they would not work (both of us noticed that).

The breakfast is good but it started a little late for us. 6:30 am

Lots of parking.

Nothing else around, so it is a drive to any restaurant. In the one evening we were at the hotel early enough they had a light meal/snack in the form of corn chips, ground beef chili, nacho cheese and some salsa.

The wireless network is good, the code is on the door entry card cover (the clerk never told me that.

I'll stay there again - it is close to a lot of our customers and partners.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good - I stayed near the elevators and heard nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Irving North-Las Colinas, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Longmont_Mitch,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Irving Convention Center and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers through TripAdvisor. Without feedback from our guests we find it very difficult to see the areas in which we can improve to make stays even better. Thank you for sharing the points where we did not exceed your expectations in regards to the alarm clock and the breakfast start time. We are exploring options with regards to the breakfast start time to ensure we can accommodate all our guests’ needs. We are working with the staff to ensure that all of the alarm clocks are set correctly as part of the cleaning process to alleviate this issue. Thank you again for your comments and the time you took fill out the review. We look forward to seeing you upon your next trip to the Dallas area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebradillas, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a typical Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. It is well appointed and has everything except a bar and a restaurant but a full breakfast, which is quite comprehensive, is served daily.
We were very warmly welcomed by Nancy at the front desk, who greeted us with a smile and full recognition of our status in the Priority Club. The down side to this hotel is that it's pretty remote from entertainment, but they do offer a shuttle to nearby restaurants which stops at 9pm. Still it is very good value for a clean and charming hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Irving North-Las Colinas, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear CliveTPR,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Irving Convention Center and thank you for taking the time to talk about your stay with TripAdvisor. It is only with feedback from our guests that we are able to see opportunities to improve our services. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experiences with TripAdvisor. We look forward to seeing you in your upcoming trips to the Dallas/Fort Worth Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Irving North-Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Irving North-Las Colinas

Address: 333 W John Carpenter Freeway, Irving, TX 75038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Irving
#26 Business Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Irving North-Las Colinas 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irving North/Las Colinas hotel offers comfort and convenience. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Irving North-Las Colinas is located in close proximity to both Dallas and Ft. Worth. In addition, our Las Colinas hotel is just 20 minutes from Dallas Fort Worth International Airport (DFW). Leisure travelers seeking lodging in the Irving and Las Colinas area are sure to enjoy staying at our hotel near both Dallas and Fort Worth because it offers easy access to many popular attractions, such as Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth. Additionally, sports fans can visit Texas Stadium, and shoppers can get their fill at the Galleria Shopping Center. Other popular attractions include Six Flags Over Texas and Superpages Music Complex. Las Colinas is home to over 2,000 major businesses including many Fortune 500 companies. Surrounding our hotel is a thriving business city, which houses several companies like Sprint, AT&T, Neiman Marcus and thousands more. With convenient access to these corporations, you can easily make it on time to your meeting. Don't settle for an ordinary Las Colinas hotel room when you can get great value by staying smart with Holiday Inn Express, which has several great amenities like a swimming pool and fitness center. Book your Irving hotel reservations now at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Irving North-Las Colinas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Irving North-Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Irving North-Las Colinas
Irving Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Irving North-Las Colinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.