We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Las Colinas

Save Saved
You added aloft Las Colinas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
aloft Las Colinas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 East John Carpenter Freeway, Irving, TX 75062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #25 of 76 hotels in Irving
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

very disappointed not to receive a few items in the mail left at the hotel......someone was not competent enough to put my correct address on the package ....so i was out of luck and was not compensated

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloft_Las_Colinas, General Manager at aloft Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
I am very sorry to hear that your lost items were not returned to you, lost & found is certainly something we take very seriously. Please feel free to contact me directly to see if we can remedy this situation for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    58
    26
    13
    8
See reviews for
18
38
17
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed here for a conference at DFW Airport. This is a typical Aloft property. Clean, Spartan, and dependable. We brought our two dogs, and they were met with a bag of treats and bedding and dishes.

The room was clean, and the bed decent, although again, like most Aloft properties, not as nice as other Starwood hotels. The staff was attentive. I do suggest strongly that if you are not the disco type, stay away from the bar request a room away from the lobby as it gets rather loud late in the evening. The location was very convenient and plenty of parking. There are lots of restaurants and grocery stores within short driving distance.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloft_Las_Colinas, General Manager at aloft Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thanks for your candid feedback! You and your pet are always welcome here at aloft Las Colinas! We have had even more establishments open up nearby, so you will have to come back and explore the area again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Very pleasant stay here. We went up to Dallas during Memorial Day weekend and didn't want to break the bank on a hotel bill. We scored a great deal at $55/night. Las Colinas is very convenient to everything - 15 mins from downtown and to most major points in Dallas.

This is like the Courtyard Marriott version of W Hotels. We usually stay at W hotels when we can so we felt right at home here. Nice vibe when you walk in the door and the rooms are smart and efficient.

The good thing is that there is a Corner Bakery Cafe, Chipolte and a pizza place within walking distance. I was happy that I could get my morning latte within a 1 minute walk.

If you want a nice room close to downtown for a great value, stay here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloft_Las_Colinas, Manager at aloft Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience at aloft Las Colinas with the traveling public! We agree that our location is ideal and we also love having several food options within walking distance! Your comparison between us and the W was spot on! Can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We were traveling I40 on our way west, and decided to stop in the Dallas area. We were shocked that there were no pet friendly hotels with rooms available. However, in speaking with the Starwood rep, she mentioned the Aloft hotel in Irving. What a nice surprise!
The room was large and lovely-and clean! The hotel is located in the Las Colinas area. There are restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, and a Kroger supermarket within a couple of miles. There is no need to stay at a dumpy motel with your dog when in Dallas. Stay at the Aloft.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloft_Las_Colinas, Manager at aloft Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Glad to hear you had a great stay with us! We are always happy to welcome man's best friend when he/she is on the road!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

I have stayed at a couple aloft properties and they are pretty solid overall. Rooms are decent with there "cheap W" type concept and Bliss bathroom products. Beds could be better since they are definitely inferior to other Starwood properties and pillows are minimal, but for the price its decent.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloft_Las_Colinas, General Manager at aloft Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
We agree that aloft offers a great value and want to thank you for staying with us! We have added more pillows in our lofts since you stayed, so we hope you will stop by the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend recently stayed here before a flight out the next morning. From the moment we drove up, this hotel looked amazing! We went in and the lobby had an urban up-to-date feel. The bar was nicely setup as well as the re:fuel bar. The guy at the front desk wasn't that nice, he seemed bothered with us trying to get a room. We got our room and it was amazing! The shower was huge and had dispensers with shampoo and soap. The bed was huge and comfy. The tv was bigger than any other tv i had seen in another hotel. It was also very close to the dfw airport. The overall stay was great and amazing. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloft_Las_Colinas, General Manager at aloft Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
It sounds as though you and your boyfriend really enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for sharing your experience! Our guests do tend to enjoy the 42" flat screens and walk in showers! I must apologize for your encounter with the gentleman at the Front Desk, we do not tolerate anything other than best in class guest service. We hope you will visit us the next time you are in the area, I can assure you a smiling face will be waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

The occasion for my stay at the Aloft-Las Colinas was the snow day that hit Dallas.. Being that my commute would have turned into a 2-hr. ordeal each way, I decided to hotel it close to work, thus saving time and also getting an opportunity for some relaxation away from home as well.
I have stayed at other Starwood properties in the past(Element and Westin), and have always had a fairly good time. This would be my first stay at the Aloft, so was curious as to whether the Starwood quality would uphold itself.

First, the positives….the overall feel of the place. Particularly the lobby design, as well as the courtyard/pool outside. The 2-sided fireplace gave a cozy atmosphere to both the lobby /lounge area and the courtyard in front of the pool. The lobby had a modern, futuristic feel to it, and was open . The game area next to the bar provided a great way to meet other guests.

Another positive was the convenience of the Re:Fuel area. Made a quick snack /breakfast really fast and easy.

Re:charge(aka the fitness area) had all the tools needed for a good core strength workout. A really pleasant surprise was the full rack of dumbbells…(pairs ranging from 2 to 200 pounds, for a good 20 pairs of dumbbells total). Another surprise for a small weight room was the cable pully weight machine, as well as the treadmills complete with TVs in them. The complimentary earplugs were a nice touch…for those brave enough to not mind the hygienic issues. Ipod /headphones connections on both the treadmills and elliptical were a nice touch as well. Overall, very good fitness room for such a small hotel.

The room itself….the 42-in. TV was pretty sweet. Really enjoyed the central aspect of it, as well as the bench located below it for stowing your stuff.
The bathroom was really neat, with the Bliss products a pleasant surprise, for a hotel in this price range.
Only sub-standard item about the room, in my opinion, would be the bed. In comparison to the other Westin properties, the bedding is very stiff and not as soft. Not “Heavenly” of course.
Now, the bad. The music is loud, very loud. Just need to tone it down a tad, please. Perhaps play the music at level 7 instead of level 11. Also, since the floors are modern stained cement in the lobby, the music seems that much more blaring when you first walk in. T.
Very worth the stay

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloft_Las_Colinas, General Manager at aloft Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
I remember this snow day well, not the norm for Dallas! Glad you decided to stay warm with us instead of driving home! Your kind words are very much appreciated and you will be happy to know that we continually adjust the music in W xyz as a result of your valued feedback. Stay safe and be sure to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to aloft Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Las Colinas

Address: 122 East John Carpenter Freeway, Irving, TX 75062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Irving
#34 Business Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Las Colinas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for our comfortable and affordable hotel rooms, our hotel also provides meeting space, complimentary wifi, and a convenient location to the Irving Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your aloft Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Las Colinas Hotel Irving
Aloft Hotel Irving
Aloft Hotel Las Colinas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aloft Las Colinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.