We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Las Colinas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added aloft Las Colinas to your Saves list
aloft Las Colinas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 East John Carpenter Freeway, Irving, TX 75062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Irving
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

A week ago, I stayed a room 231 which was facing to the garbage dumpster for one night. It was very loud in the morning. In addition, At that day, the hotel clean up a septic tank. It started from 7am in the morning and lasted for 30 minutes. I could not sleep after that.

If it was not sold out at that night, front desk agents should not assign those rooms.

The wall of shower booth was soapy and there was a big red suspicious stain on the floor.

I would not recommend this hotel for other people.

Room Tip: Ask a room not facing to the garbage dumpster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftGeneralManager, General Manager at aloft Las Colinas, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for providing me with the neccessary details to rectify all the issues that you experienced during your stay. Your detailed experiences have helped the relevant departments make the appropriate changes for future guests. The grease trap clean schedule and the trash removal service have been adjusted accordingly and will no longer affect future guests, it was unfortunate that your lost sleep because of this nuisance.

Thank you for staying with us I when you try our hotel or brand again, i know that we can more fully deliver on your expectations.

Again thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    64
    32
    14
    9
See reviews for
18
41
18
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

It was a wonderful stay
Beautiful building , common areas
Bar , pool table , happy hour,
Room was well appointed , modern and stunning, large Plasma on wall, great bed and bedding
Pool area pretty
Gym nice
The only thing missing was a hut tub
I'm totally sold in this concept
and will look for Aloft first on my travels

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftGeneralManager, General Manager at aloft Las Colinas, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you very much for the encouraging remarks and positive feedback!

We eagerly await your return to our hotel and global brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It seemed very different than the hotels we've stayed in, style-wise. Very "today" and clean and fresh. The room had a cushioned bench built into the wall under the TV that was very convenient. Actually everything in the room was placed and designed to be convenient. And we especially liked the free water bottles we got because we are Starwood members. For $79 we had a good night sleep in a place we felt comfortable and a little surprised by

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftGeneralManager, General Manager at aloft Las Colinas, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for the kind words and positive remarks! We are that "today" hotel and are more trendy than some of the traditional hotels out there today. One small correction for you and future travelers to our hotel is that all guests recieve complimentray in room water bottles in with each stay and free wireless internet access throughout the hotel.

Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in October for son's wedding. First time at an Aloft. We had a great wedding rate and were generally satisfied. The lobby area can get noisy but did not bother us. We were not looking for solitude on this trip. We enjoyed spending time meeting family & friends. One night the lobby was reserved for a private party which made it a bit difficult. The pool is quite small and should have been warmer for October. The king room was good size with an open concept. Turning the heat on caused the fire alarms to go off and took awhile to get the smell out. The housekeeping schedule is ???? Be prepared to come back to an uncleaned room ...happened two of the five days. Front desk handled most issues ...not always promptly. Was an issue with the door lock on another family member's room. Major screw-up with the hotel's promised shuttle service the night of the wedding which caused my husband to make three trips between the wedding venue and the hotel at midnight.

Room Tip: Upper floor, far end of hallway was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftGeneralManager, Manager at aloft Las Colinas, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your detailed feedback, it is most appreciated and without comments like yours we cannot grow as a hotel.

Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Quality with Value!!
This one was the one I checked in when I moved to Texas from NY.
After Driving for 30 hours with 8 hrs sleep in Nashville it was a pleasant experience.
The room/hotel had a great modern look and feel. I was in a King..the shower was nice..bed was comfortable.
The hotel is right across Bank of America and few breakfast joints.
Right across the street is a Gas station.
Hotel is 10 Min from MacArthur street where all the nice Restaurants/Grocery Store/ are there.
The hotel has its own Bar otherwise nearest place to drink is Champs in Plaza on Mac Arthur.
Few Clubs on 15 min Drive on Northwest Highway, with Liquor stores on the way.
15 min from DFW Airport as its right next to 114.
I like this Hotel..I do go back to the bar sometime for drinks as I sit outside besides the Pool.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftGeneralManager, General Manager at aloft Las Colinas, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are glad you made it to Aloft with so little sleep!!!

As you mentioned in your review we are situated nicely between some great amenities, and we are positioned between both Fort Worth and Dallas. Had you taken a plane into Texas, we are minutes away from both of the local airports, DFM International and Love Feild.

Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have stayed at several Alofts since the outset. We are big fans of the clean lines and hip, social atmosphere. However, our last stay at this aloft left us concerned. Our main issue was the towel issue in the room. We were in a double room with 3 people and were only given 2 towels. The towels we were given were threadbare. The edges were coming unraveled. When I brought it to the attention of the front desk, he apologized and told us he would send 4 more towels up. We never got them. Looking back, being understaffed seems a trend at several Alofts.
We were there for a college football weekend and the bar was understaffed as well.
My daughter's saddest moment was when we discovered they no longer give small BLISS facewash with the other toiletries. These things sound silly and small, but when you become accustom to certain special things....you miss them when they are gone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at aloft Las Colinas, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for leaving leaving us with detailed information regarding your most recent stay with us. The towel issue that you experienced first hand was not at the level that our hotel works towards and is something that we will remedy. The bad and unfortunate news that I have is the facewash that you have grown to love has been discontinued and is no longer available, Starwood has not decided to substitute this or keep this as a brand standard. I too miss this when traveling to other alofts. Again, thank you for the insight. As a hotel we like to grow from valuable guest input like yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This Aloft is located in an area with several places to eat next door which was very convenient. We are a couple in the Boomer generation who appreciate the clean, comfortable rooms with Wi-Fi and the lobby business center. The spacious shower with the large showerhead is a definite amenity not found in many hotels in this price range. We entertained guests in the bar area and also enjoyed the patio area near the pool and firepit. We redeemed the coupon for being enviro-friendly and were happy to be rewarded to "go green". The staff were very courteous as well as friendly and helpful. We booked here because it is a Starwood property near a conference I attended and will continue to book at this location when we return. We would suggest this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and had no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftGeneralManager, General Manager at aloft Las Colinas, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for referring and suggesting us to your friends! As you mentioned in your comments we are making a difference and "going green" with our Make a Green Choice Program this is a huge step for Aloft and Starwood.

If you have not stayed in an Aloft come into our hotel, you will not be disappointed. There are more amenities than those described above. Come and give us a try!

Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to aloft Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Las Colinas

Address: 122 East John Carpenter Freeway, Irving, TX 75062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for our comfortable and affordable hotel rooms, our hotel also provides meeting space, complimentary wifi, and a convenient location to the Irving Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your aloft Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Las Colinas Hotel Irving
Aloft Hotel Irving
Aloft Hotel Las Colinas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aloft Las Colinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.