We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Extended Stay - friendly front desk staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott DFW Airport North / Irving

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott DFW Airport North / Irving to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott DFW Airport North / Irving
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4949 Regent Boulevard, Irving, TX 75063   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #25 of 76 Hotels in Irving
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing Extended Stay - friendly front desk staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I had a recent 1 month stay at this motel. The rooms are in serious need of renovating. This include the furnishings and the bathroom fixtures. The mattress and box springs are old & in some cases stained on the side. I saw it when I lifted up the bed covering. The mattress is lumpy and old. The bed linens are old and in serious need of being replaced. "throwing out". The motel is located very close to DFW airport and LBJ freeway. So the noise level is horrible. I expressed my concern related to the noise and I was moved twice and the first floor room did provide less noise. The food in the bistro is "mediocre" at best. The food is way overpriced so not a good value for your money. Again the front desk staff was friendly and when I brought something to their attention they worked to try to make things better. I really appreciated a manger - Roman. Roman made my stay more comfortable with the efforts he put forth. The GM Mike is rude. I noticed the majority of the staff in housekeeping, the bistro and maintenance did not speak English so communicating your needs was a challenge. Not good! The power went out one night and this motel did not have a back up generator. The motel did not handle the power outage well at all. No one appeared to know what to do. I felt unsafe & uninformed about what was gong on. I was shocked that a Marriott brand motel did not have a back up generator. Guests could not get the front doors to open. We were trapped inside. Not safe at all! If I am in Dallas working again and need extended lodging; I will not choose this motel and or recommend it.

Room Tip: First floor room less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    47
    24
    10
    0
See reviews for
13
25
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wahiawa, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

We got stranded after a flight cancellation, Roads were blocked with ice. Wee called from the DFW reservation desk and got a king size room for an affordable price. The shuttle had a flat so the GM came out himself to get everyone. Our bags we're lost and the front desk clerk loaded us up with disposables. Love to be treated like a person rather than revenue.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager972, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott DFW Airport North / Irving, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We truly appreciate the exceptional feedback. Thank you very much for mentioning the outstanding example of guest service you encountered in our hotel. Our staff is committed to go that extra mile and make your stay as pleasant as possible. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Rooms walls are paper thin. Called front desk at 11 pm spoke with Charles re noise compliant and they did nothing! Will not stay here again and will look elsewhere for tomorrow night! Very disappointed
! Never had an issue that hotel didn't at least try to correct!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager972, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott DFW Airport North / Irving, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Greetings Jcf7981 !!!

We are very sorry to hear that you experienced sub-par guest service during your recent stay. Most times there is not much we can do about the structure of the walls combined with a noisy neighbor; however, you are certainly right about the trying part of things. We should ALWAYS put forth an effort to assist a guest with a complaint and even if we are not able to immediately alleviate the situation, we should be following up and communicating with our guest to try and formulate any other possible solutions. I am sorry this did not happen and it will be a topic of discussion during our next Front Office meeting. We do appreciate the contructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed at hotel for one night after flight cancellation. My next flight was the following night at 8:30pm. The staff was very courteous and helpful. They allowed me to extend my late checkout do to late flight. A little kindness can go a long way.The room was clean and spacious. The Breakfast was very good.The lobby looked to be remodeled with the new open concept. The workout room was okay. It was in the courtyard so had to go outside to access. Unfortunately, the day of my workout, it was cold outside. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager972, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott DFW Airport North / Irving, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback.
We appreciate your business and loyalty. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Doesn't look great from the outside, but really nice on the inside. Cool screens to search your flight etc. Staff was super friendly and helpful, probably above and beyond any Courtyard I have stayed at lately. Nice to have shuttle service, the van was nice and clean (really bouncy in the back, so watch your coffee!!!). GPS found it easily, not sure it would be so easy to get to with out GPS on my phone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager972, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott DFW Airport North / Irving, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad that your stay was a success. Our staff is committed to making your stay as accommodating as possible. We will continue to serve you as you visit the DFW area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one night after arriving late at DFW and connecting to an early flight out.

The shuttle service in was very efficient and arrived DFW terminal D in 10min after my call, note that they run until 11PM so I was on the last shuttle out. The check in process was very expedited as well and in less than 20min after retrieving my luggage I was in the room. The lobby seems to have been remodeled recently and features the new openness concept that are featured at most Courtyard properties nowadays.

The room had a strong scent, maybe due to a smoking guest who stayed there previously even though the room was non-smoking. Besides that, it was a very average Courtyard room with view to the pool.

Be on time if you use the shuttle service to the airport, I was scheduled for the 6AM shuttle on Oct 11 and struggled to stroll my luggage piece in the carpet, I was at the curb at 6:01AM and the van had already left. Cannot complain much though, the 6:30AM van left sharply on time, so they it seems fair to everyone. In the mornings the shuttle runs at every 30min and it took 8min to Terminal A.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager972, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott DFW Airport North / Irving, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We appreciate you choosing The DFW North Courtyard by Marriott hotel. As you mention, our hotel has a non-smoking policy and we do our best to recover from the residual damage of cigarette smell; however, this can be very difficult at times. We appreciate you taking the time and bringing this to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you again anytime you visit the DFW area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Lobby area looks brand new, the hotel is obviously used for DFW airport short stays. rooms are spacious, clean, I would have appreciated complimentary breakfast. Overall in line with Courtyard standards.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager972, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott DFW Airport North / Irving, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We appreciate very much your comment. As you noticed, our lobby was recently remodeled and our room renovation is coming up this November 2013. Our brand new rooms will be looking as exceptional as our lobby area. Thank you for your business and we will happily serve you as you visit the DFW area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott DFW Airport North / Irving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott DFW Airport North / Irving

Address: 4949 Regent Boulevard, Irving, TX 75063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott DFW Airport North / Irving 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Dallas DFW Airport North is two miles from DFW International Airport and minutes from the Gaylord Convention Center, and Texas Stadium. This pet-friendly hotel offers free shuttle service to and from DFW Airport, complimentary parking, free wireless Internet, onsite breakfast and dinner at the Courtyard café, a cocktail lounge, valet dry-cleaning, onsite laundry facilities, and full service business center. Guest rooms feature luxury bedding, a coffee maker, sofa bed, and large work desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott DFW Airport North / Irving reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dfw Airport North / Irving Hotel Irving
Courtyard Irving
Courtyard Dfw Airport North
Irving Marriott
Irving Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott DFW Airport North / Irving, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.