We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel near DFW” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree DFW Airport North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree DFW Airport North to your Saves list
DoubleTree DFW Airport North
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4441 W John Carpenter Freeway, Irving, TX 75063 (Formerly Wyndham DFW Airport North)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HHonors Weekend
Ranked #53 of 76 Hotels in Irving
Long Island NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Hotel near DFW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This hotel was beautifully kept and very clean. Staff could not have been more helpful or pleasant, especially Nina at the front desk. Airport noise was not a problem but the room to room noise could be somewhat irritating. Room lighting could be better. I will stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAWRENCE W, General Manager at DoubleTree DFW Airport North, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear LMS45,

Thank you for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton, DFW. It was a pleasure being of service to you while vising Texas.

I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give your opinion online through Trip Advisor. If you are ever in the area, we would love to have you stay with us again.

Enjoy your travels!

Lawrence Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    121
    130
    88
    49
See reviews for
79
49
54
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012 via mobile

Delayed overnight at DFW due to snow storm in Jackson Hole after flying from our home on St Thomas, we were given discount voucher to stay at Double Tree. From the reservation line person to the shuttle drivers, this team of individuals were extraordinary... especially Nina and Bethany! You two were great! Clean, comfortable and gracious hospitality at it best.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAWRENCE W, Manager at DoubleTree DFW Airport North, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear TKRC,

Thank you for your wonderful review!
I am very glad that our agents, Bethany and Nina treated you with kindness and respect after a tough day of travel.

It was a pleasure being of service to your family. If you are ever in the area, we would love to have you with us again.

Happy traveling!

Lawrence Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

A friend and I had a late arrival and had to an early flight the next morning. The hotel shuttle picked us up at the airport. Check in was quick. Very nice room. Flat screen tv, refrigerator, microwave, and a nice leather chair. Quick and easy internet connection. The bedding was delightful~very comfy! I can't comment on the pool and the restaurant as there wasn't time. The
hotel overall was neat and clean. We took the shuttle to get our flights. You should check on the frequency of the shuttle as it was leaving every half hour so this might be important to your arrival or departure. I got the feeling that maybe this could have been an updated older hotel, but in any case, everything was great and I'd stay here again. I noticed a Denny's from the hotel window if you need food late at night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAWRENCE W, Manager at DoubleTree DFW Airport North, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear SSG47,

Thank you for your GREAT review on Trip Advisor.

On behalf of the entire staff and management, plase accept our sincere Thank you for being our guest. It is sincerely our pleasure to serve you.

I am glad that you found our amenities to your liking and we would love to be your choice hotel while visiting the Dallas Fort Worth area.

If there is ever anything I can do to be of service to you, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,

Lawrence Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is old but the staff is very professional and friendly, makes you feel welcome.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin F, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree DFW Airport North, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for the review! All of your comments will be shared with our staff. Your feedback is important to us and will help us improve our guests' experience. Thank you again for the review. We hope to see you again the next time you travel to the DFW area.

Dustin Foster
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

Under new management since the last time we stayed, service was a bit disorganized but the friendly staff more were more than accommodating. With good food and a nice bar, this is our choice for a DFW layover.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin F, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree DFW Airport North, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for the review! All of your comments will be shared with our staff. Your feedback is important to us and will help us improve our guests' experience. Thank you again for the review. We hope to see you again the next time you travel to the DFW area.

Dustin Foster
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed at the Doubletree DFW the first week of January 2012. The hotel has good and bad points, but here's the quick and dirty:

The Good:
Rooms are big. Linens are nice, comfy bed, nice furniture. The staff here rocks. The front desk people are ALL very good. Extremely friendly, accommodating, and first rate.

The mediocre:
The workout room has 3 treadmills, 2 elliptical, a couple bikes, and some free weights and maybe a machine in there. It's a small room and those treadmills get busy. Not bad equipment though.

The bad:
The hotel has some very dated features to it, oddly blended into renovations. The hotel carpet both in the rooms and in the hallways is horrid. The carpet in my room is badly stained and the hallway carpet throughout the hotel is a putrid green (think old British pub carpet). The wallpaper and the cabinets in the rooms are very 1980s. The bathroom is truly miniscule, although the sink, toilet and tile is new, the tub is old, chipped, stained and needing replacement. Walls are thin, and the AC is loud.

The big picture is that I do like this hotel. The staff and the large rooms make up for some of the dated elements and small bathroom. I didn't eat here so no opinion on the restaurants. I had a smokin' rate on this hotel which made it a great deal. I'd stay here again for the money, although if it were within $20 of the Westin across the street, I'd give that a go first.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAWRENCE W, General Manager at DoubleTree DFW Airport North, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our property. We can only improve if we receive feedback from our valued guest.

The Good: It is very refreshing to hear comments such as yours about our staff. Our team prides itself exceeding our guest expectations.

The Mediocre: It would be great if we could expand our Fitness Center. Unfortunately our space is limited and it is not possible at this time.

The Bad: We are addressing our carpet and AC issues through daily maintenance. We hope to start our tub replacement next year. The hotel is schedule for an update late next year.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I am hilton Diamond and stayed for 2 nights on business. Hotel has great location close to airport and not far to large selection of restaurants. Property was very clean and staff very friendly. Did not get an upgrade but rooms are very large. I love the Doubletree beds! Nice towels and linens. Did have flat screen HDTV but not many HD channels. Internet was fast and free. Breakfast was great. Not a large selection but do make omletes and all the usual.

My room looked as if it had been renovated not that long ago. New carpet and furniture.

Will definetly be staying here again. I have stayed at the Westin across the street before in this is much nicer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAWRENCE W, General Manager at DoubleTree DFW Airport North, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Sir,

Thank you for your comments. We greatly appreciate all feedback about our staff and hotel. On your next visit we will make sure you receive your upgrade. We hope to have more HD channels by early next year. Again, thank you for taking the time to submit your comments about our staff and hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Lawrence Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree DFW Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree DFW Airport North

Address: 4441 W John Carpenter Freeway, Irving, TX 75063 (Formerly Wyndham DFW Airport North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 76 Hotels in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree DFW Airport North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel DFW Airport North, conveniently situated two miles from Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport (DFW), offers full-service, Texas-style hospitality at our newly transformed hotel in Irving, TX, a mile from upscale Las Colinas shopping and dining. With easy access to Hwy 114 and IH-635, business and leisure travelers are minutes from North Dallas, Downtown Dallas, the Mid-Cities, and all that the exciting DFW Metroplex has to offer. Enjoy complimentary 24-hour airport shuttle service, a boarding pass kiosk, a 100% smoke-free environment and soundproof windows (you’ll never guess we’re an airport hotel) when you stay at the Doubletree hotel near DFW Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree DFW Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Dfw Airport North Hotel Irving
Wyndham Hotel Irving
Dfw Airport North Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree DFW Airport North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.