We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Nights in May 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas to your Saves list
Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 E. Las Colinas Blvd., Irving, TX 75039   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Irving
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3 Nights in May 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Went to Dallas for the first time to see a new addition to our family. We had no idea where to stay and didn't want to be in a motel and I came across the Omni. We got in a little later then expected and when we checked in it was less then 5 minutes for the key to the room, 815. The room was excellent. LOTS of space, open, cool quiet A/C, the air quality was fresh and clear of odors, huge bathroom, CLEAN, big soft towels, wonderful view of downtown Dallas with floor to ceiling windows, and Wolfgang Puck coffee. The staff was friendly and professional. No problems whatsoever. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    260
    61
    26
    14
See reviews for
134
350
54
537
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed two nights on business. The biggest hit for me at this hotel were the staff. In every facility the staff were very customer focused and looking to please without being over bearing or in your face.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas,texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

a 61st wedding anniversary "get-away". Hotel was selected because of reviews, amenities and lovely lake location. Check in went fine. Bellman friendly. Room was a king corner suite. Very large and quite lovely.
the view something else.???? On ther 8th floor we looked down on a small portion of lake ?? a very busy street, and unfinished mono-rail system. I mentionedd this to Bellman and he called FrontDesk to e about moving us to a higher floor on the opposite cornr.
front desk said since no rooms were available then, they would move us the next morn. after Housekeeping and check-outs were done. we left everything packed...grabbed some "nighties" and went to sleep. much noise from busy street. I am a verylight sleeper so it bothered me.

next morn I called front desk o check on our "moving. I was assured wewere to be moved to #2111.for us tojust go onto Fort Worths Kimball
Art Museum, ad they would move usand have our new key waiting when we returned.I eagerly looked forward to returning to our "new" room on the 21st floor with a better view. Alas, when we returned, went to Front
Desk to get new key....they looked at me like I had "lost my mind"!!! No one knew anything abut a move, and we were still in ourr original room with our luggage still unpacked>I should have gone to the night Mgr on duty but, instead wasted time and energy with man on duty at front desk. . He needs a lot of PR work.. F iNally found us a room on a higher floor ( which was for the handicapped with the exact same view. as a comp he offered us a drink in the bar !!!! Wasn't that a great comp after "promise broKen" ?????
no possibility of checking out as i had Prepaid for 3 nights.
The lobby is beautiful an very comfortable.
We ate all three nights at the hotel once in the bar area, and twice in the dining room. The bar-food was Minestroni soup. Luki warm.

Two nights in dining room...food was excellent. Nice amibence, looked out onto the "green" and "lake". Very nice waiters and serrvice. Would eat there again.
As far as an Omni Hotel you will never see us again, and I shall te(which happened to be a "handuicappedll all who will listen about "broken promises". sorry, will never return. And, Thanks for a "memorable" 61st anniversary get-away> Mary S

Room Tip: Gett as high as you can. Ask for room ending in "11"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

It is an older hotel but still in great shape. My room was very comfortable and quiet. I didn't eat in the hotel but the hotel bar was fine for drinks before going out. Close to the Cowboys stadium and Byron Nelson golf tournament . I wish they had free wifi.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourbonnais IL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Wow! This hotel knows how to treat its guests!! I signed up for their preferred program before my stay (for a Conference) and do they ever know how to make a guest feel welcome! I couldn't believe there was a personalized note welcoming me as well as compliementary bottled water; and the name and extension of a person I could contact if I needed anything...each morning I had the choice of a complimentary beverage delivered to my room at a select time. Delicious hot coffee and a small muffin were delivered to my door each day. The iron in the room malfunctioned and when I reported it, their staff took care of it immediately. Service was friendly, atmosphere was welcoming and classy...great feng shui, by the way. Would definitely stay there again. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I'd like to begin this review by saying that this is my "Go To" hotel in Dallas. My family would always stay here when we were kids and now my mom and I end up in Dallas a couple of times a year for a girls weekend shopping trip.

I would also like to mention that I would stay at this hotel again, but they are in need of a tune up in several areas. 1) My mom and I have short reddish hair, my mom found a long dark hair in the bathroom and I found a pubic hair in my bed, right under neath my pillow. Mistakes happen, but their housemaid service needs to have an eye for detail. Also, our light-up make up mirror looked like it had been ripped from the wall at one point and then put back up incorrectly, too high and the wall paper was ripped.

2) They have buffet style breakfast that in previous stays has been fantastic. Made-to-order omelets, fresh cut fruit, pastries, etc. This time it looked like everything had been skipped over. There were no plates at the start of the buffet line and a poor guy stood there for quite a while patiently waiting for some one to help him. When I went to get an omelette the person wasn't at their command station waiting to go... so I waited, but ended up just getting the pre-made scrambled eggs, the jam jars weren't full, the fresh fruit was minimal and my biggest pet peeve is full beverage glasses... our's were not.Numerous diners were complaining so we weren't the only one's who noticed. Again, this all boils down to attention to detail.

I would suggest the head manager take more of an active role to make sure that all of this staff is paying close attention to detail. This is a fantastic hotel and needs to be every time repeat guests stay in their establishment, not walking away thinking what in the hell happened.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
383 reviews 383 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I actually love the location slightly away from the hustle and bustle. I was looking forward to checking in after speaking with Eric and Daniel the day before they were able to assist me with questions the day before prior to check in. The food is delicious I experienced both the room service and breakfast in the restaurant. Take a walk/jog around the canal it is very relaxing. I can also say I did manage to get a couple of good nights rest.

Let me start by expressing my appreciation for my Jennifer, Casey, Eric and Daniel and Carlos they were very personable, friendly and helpful. As a select guest Mandalay feeling devalued you as a select guest customer because for every positive interaction I experienced with one of the staff member I had several negative experiences for services Omni Hotels and Resorts are renown to delivering with hesitation. Most of my request were met with apprehension.

My experience:

Saturday Afternoon- 3/20/2013

1. Upon check in the bellman brought my bag into the hotel lobby and handed me my bag
• I was not offered to check my bag while I waited for my room to be prepared; I had to ask for assistance.
2. I was told there would be a 45-minute wait for to check-in to my assigned suite because I was being told that was being cleaned. I did not complain – I went and had a cocktail. Jennifer e-mailed me when my room was ready.
• I reported the linens we dirty smelling of colonge and perfurme other than that the suite was spotless -45 minutes later a housekeeper came up and changed the sheets (not the comforter)
3. After a second call to the front desk the housekeeper came back and took the comforter
4. I had to request turndown service- (phone, the TV channel did not work)
• 1 hour and 15 minutes later the housekeeper came back with a clean comforter and bottles water and ice
• I never received a note upon check in from the loyalty ambassador;
o When I did receive a message it was an apology the following day.
Sunday Evening-3/21/2013

After returning to the hotel after a great day at the ballet and dinner. I spoke with Kyle at the front desk and asked if I use my leisure breakfast voucher something off the late night menu because my flight the next morning was at 630a and I would be leaving the hotel 430am to head to meetings in the Northeast.

• Kyle immediately told me (without looking up my profile or room number) he could only assist me with rooms. He does not deal with outlet (e.g. food and beverage)
• Unsettled by this answered… I came back to the front desk and talked to Casey who offered to check and give me a callback. I did receive a call back from food and beverage stating they could make me a sandwich with cold-cut and would leave it at the front desk for me to pick up. This sound great and I told him I was flexible to type of sandwich – Please, no PORK.

Monday Morning-3/22/2013

I called down to the front desk for a bellman and valet to have my car brought around my car around

• Nathaniel told me he could get my car but there was not a bellman available to help me with my bags at 4:30am
• When I inquired about the lunch box left for me by food and beverage, Nathaniel first said there was nothing left for me. As he looked in a closet and drawers. Finally he check the refrigerator and replied he thought -- I was looking for luggage.
• I get to the airport, get on the plane and I open the lunch box and I have a Turkey Sandwich with 5 slices of beacon.

Disappointed by the response I received for very ordinary request from the staff at the Omni Mandalay hospitality team and it was like pulling teeth to get the most basic request fulfilled. The insolence demonstrated by the staff members I encountered made this a most unforgettable experience for me.

Room Tip: Room 2611 had a great view and the furniture was ok. However, I kept wondering were did they find t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas

Address: 221 E. Las Colinas Blvd., Irving, TX 75039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Irving
#1 Romantic Hotel in Irving
#2 Family Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotwire, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Mandalay Hotel
Omni Hotel Irving
Omni Irving
Irving Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.