We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dinosaur” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas

Save Saved
You added Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 E. Las Colinas Blvd., Irving, TX 75039   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #1 of 76 hotels in Irving
Midland, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A dinosaur”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly OK full service, sclerotic Omni. But the hotel does all the things I have come to dislike about these places. Endless add-on fees for everything. I had business in Las Colinas and only stayed here because more nimble business competitors-Hampton, HIE, Hyatt Place--were sold out. That's telling, and should alarm this chain, because prices were comparable. Best pluses: high def TV worked nicely, excellent breakfast buffet, though very pricy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    589
    200
    49
    21
    12
See reviews for
100
255
42
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I attended a company kick off meeting at the Omni and attended meetings on the property, breakfast lunch and dinner were part of my stay. Staying at an Omni hotel my expectation was high that this would be a state of the art, modern, clean, service oriented hotel. The hotel lobby, restaurant, bar and meeting rooms were very good, nothing special just good. I was disappointed in the room I stayed in, especially the bathroom. The bathroom was old and worn out and needed a face lift. It looked as though nothing has been done in a while to modernize the bathroom. The room did have a 42” flatscreen TV but the room also showed signs of wear and tear. Overall everything except the room I slept in was good, not great just good. The staff was friendly and helpful. Omni is not supposed to be out dated, they are supposed to be modern and updated. This hotel was not. When I stay at Omni’s I expect greatness not just good.

Room Tip: Ask if any rooms have been renovated. If they have chose a new renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I were going to stay at this hotel on 2/16/13. When we checked in the check in staff was friendly and nice. When we got to our room, the view was great, but the hotel room was in disrepair. The carpet was stained and you could tear back part of the carpet and show the concrete floor beneath. The bed was disgusting, first the bed spread had a few stains and hair, then when you pulled it back it was worse. Dirt, hair, you name it, it was absolutely DISGUSTING, I would never stay there again. I felt like I was watching the show Hotel Impossible, it was pretty bad for what is supposed to be a 4 star property, the outside and lobby looked great, the housekeeping needs A LOT of work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to provide us with feedback of your recent stay. We are glad to hear the staff was so friendly but very disappointed to learn of the condition of the room. We extend our sincerest apologies and regret your experience. Your review has been passed along to our housekeeping and engineering staffs and we hope for the opportunity to resolve this to your satisfaction and have you join us again. Please reach out to me directly at ddelk@omnihotels.com to discuss this further. Thank you again for providing us with your feedback and I look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a corporate function, but will ABSOLUTELY NEVER stay here on my own. The service at this hotel all weekend was absolutely horrible.

To begin with, the old style key system they have is outdated and completely useless. The magnetic key system they use was a disaster for our entire group all weekend long. We are all experienced travelers who know not to put the room key near a phone, etc. Yet, we all spent the entire weekend going up the elevators to our room, back down to the front desk for a new key and then back up to our room in "hopes" the key would work.

The night of our banquet, they weren't able to serve everyone (due to THEIR poor planning) and we had people waiting for over an hour for dinner after others had been served. I was one of the people not served. When I went to question the banquet manager, he snapped at me and said, "If you would just eat this fish, I could serve you now." (as rudely as I have ever been spoken to) And I probably would have just eaten that option instead of the beef option had everyone (who had the fish) not said it was the worst they had ever tasted.

And to finish off the weekend, the bartenders on duty were not happy when our group decided to stop in for a drink after the meeting. They were slow and rude with every serve.

This is not only a poorly managed hotel for groups, it is evidently a bad choice for other travelers. As I was riding up the elevator trying to forgot this miserable experience, a nice newly married couple was discussing the rude service they encountered by the front desk and the restaurant.

So, my advice is this: stay away from this hotel! Poor management equals poor service from the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay at the Omni Mandalay Hotel. We regret it was such an unpleasant experience and apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. Our key system is the same used by most hotels throughout the US and unfortunately we don't have record of any malfunctions in our logs during the weekend you stayed but we are certainly sorry for the key issues you experienced. We have also followed up with the banquet staff and meeting planners for your group. Some last minute changes to the menu were made which our staff was happy to accommodate but did result in some delays during the food service. We apologize this information did not get relayed to all members of the banquet function but our priority at that point was to get the changes executed as quickly as possible and get the dinner served. We do understand your concerns regarding these issues but we certainly hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future. Thanks again for your feedback and feel free to reach out to us directly if there is anything else you may need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Omni knows how to do it. We had a slight issue with out room and wow does Omni know how to take care of things. Omni is THE best at customer service and they are amazing at service. You will never regret staying at one of their hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your loyalty to Omni Hotels & Resorts! We are very pleased to hear that your slight issue was resolved by our staff with "wow" service and we are honored by your feedback. We will ensure the entire staff receives your kudos and we look forward to providing a warm welcome on your next visit to the Omni Mandalay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, TX
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Spent a weekend away from the kids at the Omni Mandalay and were very satisfied. We upgraded to a suite at check-in and it was very spacious and had a wonderful view from the 21st floor. Bed was comfortable but the feather pillows were far too soft, and the only other option was one rock hard pillow. Nothing average/in between.

We ordered room service the first morning and thought the food was just above average for the price.

Staff was fantastic.

Overall a great weekend getaway.

Room Tip: We opted for a corner suite on the 21st floor. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay at the Omni Mandalay Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that overall you had such an enjoyable visit and that you found our staff to be so fantastic. We are disappointed to hear the pillows were so uncomfortable and the food was just average and your feedback has been forwarded to our Director of Housekeeping and the Director of Food & Beverage for review. We hope these did not detract from the overall enjoyment of your stay and we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Attended a national sales meeting at this property last week. Convenient to the airport, plenty of larger meeting spaces, excellent food and break services. Hotel rooms were large with nice desks ,free wi-fi and complimentary morning beverage with OMNI rewards membership. Fitness center was a bit isolated and in a strange location but had nice equipment including multiple treadmills.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to submit a review of your recent stay at the Omni Mandalay Hotel and for your loyalty to Omni Hotels & Resorts. We are glad to hear your stay was so enjoyable and hope your meetings were also a success. We hope to see you for a return stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas

Address: 221 E. Las Colinas Blvd., Irving, TX 75039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Irving
#1 Business Hotel in Irving
#2 Family Hotel in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Mandalay Hotel
Omni Hotel Irving
Omni Irving
Irving Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Mandalay Hotel at Las Colinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.