We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired property not up to wingate standards.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham DFW / North Irving

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham DFW / North Irving to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham DFW / North Irving
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8220 Esters Blvd., Irving, TX 75063   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 76 Hotels in Irving
Midwest
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“tired property not up to wingate standards.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

I stay at this hotelier group often...and it appears this property is now a 'private' venture as I am pretty certain Wyndham would take issue with the overall run down condition and lackluster service. No working ice machine...any floor...the breakfast was as uninspired as it can get...waited constantly for coffee...vending machines empty...unreliable shuttle schedules (they don't use their own vans)...and the rooms/towels/carpets and overall condition of this place is...well...TIRED...it is close to DFW...but I have stayed across the street at the Westin for less money bidding on a room...it was just...almost 'okay'...oh...the internet service was terrible.

nothing more.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    72
    67
    41
    46
See reviews for
67
37
33
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Without a doubt the worst service at any hotel I ever stayed at. Manager, Sanja Varma, does not know his own system took cash from me, knowing that he does not how to reverse the charges already charged on my credit card. Complimentary shuttle with begging cards, late everyday from picking me up from class. BUT, mainly sim card stolen from my modem left in draw and front desk insinuated that i was a liar on reporting it. STAY AWAY. There is no way of getting these complaints to anybody of authority so i suppose it is to be expected when you are a law unto yourself!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

My mom bought tickets to the Dallas Cowboy game for "the boys" in my family and this is the hotel we stayed at. There were so many mistakes that I would never stay there again! Many things went wrong that weekend. First they couldn't even find my reservation even when we had our reference number and confirmation number. I had reserved 2 rooms with 2 double beds, and when they finally found our reservation, they had no rooms with double beds. Then, we went threw 8 keys just to get into our rooms, which took over 30 minutes!! The day of the game we were going to take a taxi to the Cowboy stadium but the lady in the front said they had a shuttle for free that will take us to the game. So we waited instead. And turned out to cost us $30 per person to take the shuttle. If all of this isn't bad enough, on the way back to the hotel the shuttle broke down and they left us on the side of the highway for about 45 minutes, and we didn't even get our money back. All in all, I have never stayed in a hotel where so many things went wrong. I will never stay there again!! Even when we complained we were not compensated at all, not even a little bit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I arrived for a week and a half stay (booked through Orbitz). Apparently there was a large wedding party that took up most of the hotel. The first room that I was assigned had the lock literally torn off of the door. They gave me a different room... Doors slamming , people running and yelling until after 1 am, I called the front desk multiple times but I soon figured out that I was wasting my time. I slept maybe 3 hours. The pool was very dirty. I tried to switch rooms the next day but the rooms had either a stinch or was right next to the people screaming and yelling. I stayed one long miserable night ,checked out the next day and GM is trying to keep the money for nearly half of the trip that was booked, even though I only stayed 1 night.. The management lacks professionalism to say the least. This place is a nightmare. There is no way that this hotel should carry a 3 star rating....it is more like a 1/2 star hotel. Motel 6 would have been better.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

I was recently put up at this property by AA after a travel fiasco and I was not sure what to expect. This turned out to be a very pleasant stay - especially after an otherwise crappy travel day and no luggage. The hotel provided all necessary toiletries - they even had baskets out at the front desk for the items not normally in rooms, like toothbrush, disposable shavers, combs, etc... They clearly are used to stranded travelers. The shuttle was as promised and the hotel staff was pleasant and respectful. Best of all the room was spotlessly clean, and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

I read some of the bad reviews and I didn't find any of the problems they mentioned. The hotel is clean and quiet (other than an occasional noise of the jets since it is in their landing pattern). The staff agreed to a late check out for me and I found them to be young, but nice. The free breakfast was so-so, typical free breakfast hotel fare. The only complaint I had is that the hotel lobby and the hallway to our room smelled like a convention of smokers had been there. My allergies kicked in just from the walk in and to the room. It was a non-smoking floor and facility and our room didn't have the problem, just the lobby and hallway, not sure why.

I would stay here again, although I would rate it below the Hampton Inns I have stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

Pros
Newly redecorate large room (king, no-smoking room); friendly helpful staff; good breakfast; good afternoon happy hour (beer, wine, chips, wings, etc.)

Cons
Excercise room thermastat did not work so temp stay at 80+ -- much too hot to work out.
Hot tub was cold. Yes, cold.
Ice machine on our 3rd floor did not work. Ice machine on 1st floor did not work. Had to get ice from maintenance person.
Printers (yes, both) did not work in the business center, so could not print boarding passes.
Shuttle was on time, but old, and needed a little cushion and springs -- but it was free and had a friendly driver.

All-in-all, this place needs equipment maintenance. For the price ($115 web price), I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham DFW / North Irving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham DFW / North Irving

Address: 8220 Esters Blvd., Irving, TX 75063
Location: United States > Texas > Irving
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 76 Hotels in Irving
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham DFW / North Irving 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham DFW / North Irving reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Dfw / North Irving Hotel Irving
Wingate Irving Dfw Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham DFW / North Irving, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.