We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa's Grill

Villa's Grill
137 South Main Street, Irving, TX 75060
972-259-2939
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 494 Restaurants in Irving
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Irving, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Love this place! Wonderful for special occasions or a date night. Everything is delicious. It's not cheap, but it's reasonable.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    11
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Family Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have come back twice when in town, this place is amazing! While it doesn't have quite the same ambience as the upscale Churrascaria's around town, it makes up for that with reasonable pricing, excellent service and a casual atmosphere fit for a family - or just dinner for 2.

The sides are every bit as good as the featured meats, and the Polenta is probably the best I have tasted anywhere.

I recommend reservations or call ahead as this place can fill up quickly.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our "happy place"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We have been frequenting Villa's Open Grill for several years. The proprietor, Robert, is gracious, humble and hardworking, as is his staff. The quality of the meat is spectacular, the service warm and friendly (although admittedly it is sometimes harried if they are really busy). You could pay triple the price for Texas de Brazil or another similar high-end restaurant, but it would be throwing money away. With the BYOB policy, it is the best bargain in town. This is our restaurant of choice after a long day at the office; pretentious is not in the vocabulary. Expect a small, quaint restaurant, with a diverse crowd of locals. You will certainly be back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
“Great Churrascaria, Great Service, Great Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

If you want fabulous grilled meat at a great price, this is the place. Villa's is just like the wonderful steakhouses I came to love when I lived in Brazil for three years. The salad bar was plentiful. You will want to try the pastel de quejo (cheese pockets) and fried bananas that they bring to the table - but save the room for the beef! The Picanha melts in your mouth. Villa's has a more intimate setting, very much like the family run churrascarias in Brazil. The service was superb. This is an unbeleivable value for the top quality of food, service and fun. Meus para bens!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Tx
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

My girlfriend had a voucher basically for 2 for the price of 1. You are responsible for tax and tip. This place is BYOB and did not charge a corkage fee although their ad says they charge $5. This is a little mom and pop place on a city street and is not fancy but the food is very good. If you want to pay for fancy atmosphere and glitz then go to one of the more popular places like Boi Na Braza but it'll cost you a lot more and their food is no better. I've read several bad reviews about this place and believe I now know why. Make a reservation ... expect to wait if you don't. Makes sense to me. Be polite and friendly ... they will be polite and friendly back. Makes sense. If you don't see or aren't offered what you're looking for ... ask. We did and they were more than happy to oblige. The roasted pineapple is delicious and the papaya cream is to die for ! Take a good bottle of wine or your favorite beer, bring some friends and have a good time. This place is not pretentious ... it's just plain good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.