We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No, You Do NOT Need To Have A Beard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garrison Brothers Distillery

Garrison Brothers Distillery
1827 Hye Albert Road, Hye, TX 78635
830-392-0246
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Hye
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Garrison Brothers Distillery is Texas' first and oldest bourbon distillery. Our bourbon is hand-made from corn to cork right here on our little ranch. Tours are Thursday through Sunday @ 10am, noon, 2pm & 4pm. We'll teach you the entire process on how great bourbon is made. You'll taste our sweet mash, sample our white dog & end your visit with a taste of our fine bourbon. We strongly encourage that you call ahead so we can place you on our tour schedule.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No, You Do NOT Need To Have A Beard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Garrison Brothers distillery tour is a delightful experience from the time you turn off of 290. You realize you are going to see something special, something out-of-the-box...and of course you already know it's the only bourbon maker in our great state! (Most of the male employees had full beards btw)
My oldest son and I were there in November 2013, were welcomed at the cabin with drinks, and then climbed aboard the wagons for a trip up the hill to where the serious business of crafting fine bourbon is done.
The process itself is fascinating: the origins of all the ingredients are carefully explained, as is preparation of mash and white dog, there are huge gleaming copper kettles, the bottling process, and then the tasting! We each purchased our very own bottle, sealed it with deer hide and wax, and pressed into the hot wax an image of the star of Texas! It goes without saying that the bottle itself is a work of art, and the contents are deliciously smooth.
We had a wonderful time and I highly recommend the Garrison Bros. tour - it is a unique Texas experience!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    10
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fun and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I had fun on the tour. It's interesting to see how bourbon is made. I was shocked that it could be made in Texas. You get to taste the bourbon at the tour end. It's good bourbon

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Texas Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

From the moment we drove on the property, we felt welcome. When we arrived at the cabin, we were warmly welcomed by a gentleman, who we later found out was Dan Garrison. The distillery is small, but we could tell that the employees all had a passion for what they are doing. This passion shows through into the product the distillery produces. This is a must see tour, especially if you enjoy bourbon!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FABULOUS VISIT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

the tour is informative and the bourbon outstanding. who knows....you may even win the bourbon barrel like I did....empty of course!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Went for the tour on a saturday. Very informative tour - they walk you through each step in the process. Great flavors! Plus its all made here in Texas.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garrison Brothers Distillery also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Garrison Brothers Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garrison Brothers Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.