We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A regular hang out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Medi

Cafe Medi
420 Grapevine Hwy Ste 101, Hurst, TX 76054
(817) 788-5110
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 121 Restaurants in Hurst
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A regular hang out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My family and girlfriends and I love this place and go here often. We love Greek food! Even my husband, who's not a big fan of Greek food, loves their crab-stuffed salmon special. Several friends and I have celebrated birthdays here, too.

If I want something lean and tasty, my favorite thing is the Fatoosh salad with Gyro meat. If I'm not dieting, then I'll order the Gyro wrap. Somehow, the babaghanoush and hummus are always ordered as appetizers, no matter what. For a real treat, order the saganaki, which is the Greek version of fried mozzarella, which your server will light on fire.

The baklava is always good. Everything is always good, I've never tasted anything bland or unsatisfying.

What a welcome, fun little place for the Mid-Cities!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I traveled to Hurst to meet a friend in advance of attending a Rangers game that night. My friend suggested lunch at Cafe Medi. I am a believer! This is an excellent place. The owner / proprietor is a hoot. Ask him his opinion of baseball and THEN tell him you are a big baseball fan!

In all seriousness, I ordered the Pastitsio ( a Greek style lasagna dish) and a side salad. Both were excellent. I like lasagna a bit dry and relatively heavy on the beef. The Pastitsio was excellent - some of the best lasagna I've ever had.

Service was very good and accommodating.

Overall, a fine choice and one I would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We had a very good meal. The atmosphere was OK the food delicious and the service very good. We enjoyed our BOYB wine and had a great time. If you are looking for good Greek food this is a must stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Casual Mediterranean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My Wife and I love this place. They hot or veggie sampler platters (I don't remember what they call them) are a staple of nearly every visit. It's BYOB so bring a nice bottle of wine and if it's cool enough enjoy the cozy patio. They have great food all around. We have had some mixed results on service, not really bad service just a little bit of cockiness from one of the guys. Other than that it's usually great. You can also enjoy a Hookah on the patio if that's your thing, we got a hookah once and enjoyed it. Cafe Medi is one of our favorite places to go when we have a night out.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Opa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I have been to Cafe Medi countless times, and each time has been a joy. The gyros are flavorful, the lamb chops perfectly seasoned, the chicken is moist, and the seafood is fresh. Portions are very generous, but don't pass on the appetizers-- this is the best hummus and baba ghanouj around! BYOB--my four favorite letters! The baklava is flaky, buttery, sticky, and nutty and goes so well with the delightfully thick and strong Turkish coffee. This is a tiny place and fills up quickly, so get there early or be prepared to wait.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Medi also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Medi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Medi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.