We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome barbeque” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McKenzie's Barbeque

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
McKenzie's Barbeque
1548 11th St, Ste C, Huntsville, TX 77340
(936) 439-0899
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 100 Restaurants in Huntsville
Restaurant details
Huntsville, Texas
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“awesome barbeque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Great for lunch or dinner. I go for the chicken sandwiches and hubby likes the chopped beef.
You can help yourself to all the trimmings and the pot of delicious beans. It all tastes great,
but the ribs seem to have excessive fat. Service is pretty good, restaurant is clean. And the
prices are quite decent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is one of the best places to have lunch. It is always crowded but the service is fast. I would recommend this place if you are hungry for great barbeque.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Plenty of food for a reasonable price. Meats and corn are gluten free. Plenty of eating spaces. They did forget to gice us the free beans with the 2 side orders.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great burgers and fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

A place that's been in business over 20 years, the reviews seem to be mostly about the barbecue, which I agree is good, but I go there much more often for the burger and fries, as I did today. Regular home-made style fries and a half pound burger for about $3 less than you'd pay at some casual dining chain restaurant, and much tastier. Be prepared to wait about 15 minutes for your food if you don't call in your order in advance. But, walk in and order, you can have some free beans as you wait. Oh, and don't go in too late--weeknights they close at 8 pm.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Huntsville and in Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

You can't go wrong with McKenzie's! Great family business and great food. I have never been disappointed with their food. I bring my out of town/state friends to eat here for "Real Texas Bar-B-Que"

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McKenzie's Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKenzie's Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.