We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bennie J's Bones, Beef & Bird Smoke Pit Bar-B-Q

Bennie J's Bones, Beef & Bird Smoke Pit Bar-B-Q
621 9th Street, Huntsville, TX
(936) 439-9559
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 100 Restaurants in Huntsville
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Cozy Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Extremely polite and respectful staff. Went late in the afternoon. Intereesting route to get there. Food was delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great family owned restaurant with great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family loves Bennie J's BBQ! The sliced beef is so tender & the smoked chicken is out of this world good. We have ordered for a crowd and Bennie J's is always willing to accommodate, just order early!!! It's so good, they'll run out. Also, their sweet potato & pecan pie as well as their 7UP pound cake are yummy! Give Bennie J's a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantersville, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“BBQ Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Had a great experience visiting with the friendly folks at Bennie J's while waiting for my order-- I had read the earlier posts and was prepared for very good BBQ-- I got that and much more. My only regret was I didn't ask the pitmaster what wood he was using. All of the meat was smoked to perfection-- however, it was not the oaky, choky, over the top flavor from using straight post oak. They must be using a mixture of oak with pecan or hickory-- it produces a beautiful patina and delicate smoky goodness to the meat. The BBQ chcken is possibly the best I have ever eaten and the japaleno sausage was "to die for"-- filled with coarse ground pork and seasoned with mucho japalenos and garlic-- it is not for the "faint hearted"! The brisket and pork ribs were cooked to perfection, but I would like to have more rub on these two cuts-- I use fourteen diferent spices in my rub and I could only detect salt and pepper on this BBQ-- I know many pitmasters that believe in simplicity to let the meat speak for itself-- Maybe, just add a little more! (my only criticism). The BBQ sauce is somewhere between Memphis and Western North Carolina-- it is a thin tomato based sauce that perfectly complements the meat. The sides are good and the fries are exquisite!
And the pecan pie!!! My Mom makes a better pie only by the fact that she has twice the number of pecans.
In summary, I have had better brisket in Lockhart and better pork ribs in Memphis, but I have never had a better dining experience-- Bennie J's has the whole package!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Incredible People!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This family owned barbecue restaurant is the best in town. The food is incredible (pecan pie is out of this world) but more importantly the owners are wonderful people, who support community organizations whole-heartedly! My organization recently had a banquet catered by Bennie J's. they pulled out all the stops, hiring a jazz ensemble to play during dinner, setting up a tent on the lawn, and decorating the patio and dining room. The food was so wonderful, and they did all of this at a cost that was more than reasonable. I will recommend Bennie J's to anyone who wants real, delicious barbecue with true hospitality.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best BBQ Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We highly recommend Bennie J's. This is the best BBQ, clean dining, and friendliest folks around. Their ribs, jalapeno sausage and brisket are hands down the very best! The side items are delicious and fresh. Nothing tastes like it's been sitting in a pot for - who knows how long.
You won't regret eating here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennie J's Bones, Beef & Bird Smoke Pit Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Bennie J's Bones, Beef & Bird Smoke Pit Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bennie J's Bones, Beef & Bird Smoke Pit Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.