We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant miss this statue from the highway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Houston Statue

Sam Houston Statue
1327 11th Street, Huntsville, TX
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 things to do in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cant miss this statue from the highway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Extremely large statue that is visible from the highway. Not too difficult to locate. Enjoyed the walk on the trail to get to it, but would not be readily accessible for someone physically handicapped.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    39
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trinity, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pretty Cool!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I thought that this was going to be a nice 0.5 mile hike or so. It's just a good place to stretch your legs and see a giant statue of an important person in Texas History.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Interesting stop, not a destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you're headed to Huntsville or passing by on I-45, it's a good chance to stretch your legs and get a little taste of Texas. Nice welcome center, helpful people, interesting info about both Sam and the making of the statue, there were lots of kitties for our son to play with when we went. My mother-in-law doesn't get around very easily, and she could make the walk to the statue and back, but too many roots and such for those in a wheelchair or who need a walker. Only the giant statue itself will engage younger kids, but they will enjoy running around if they've been cooped up in a car!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
720 reviews 720 reviews
234 attraction reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
464 helpful votes 464 helpful votes
“Good place to take some pics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This statue is the pride of Huntsville folks it is a landmark and it is so tall that if you're coming from Houston you can see it 5 miles away on intestate 45 , I have measure it and like I said in a good clear day you can see it.i recommend to stop by and take some pics, worth the time and the experience , highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Looks impressive, from the highway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We only slowed down a bit driving past on the freeway, looks pretty impressive, but based on the reviews here; we did not bother to stop.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Houston Statue also viewed

 

Been to Sam Houston Statue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Houston Statue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.