We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Cool!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Houston Statue

Sam Houston Statue
1327 11th Street, Huntsville, TX
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Port Lavaca, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pretty Cool!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I thought that this was going to be a nice 0.5 mile hike or so. It's just a good place to stretch your legs and see a giant statue of an important person in Texas History.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    44
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
130 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Interesting stop, not a destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you're headed to Huntsville or passing by on I-45, it's a good chance to stretch your legs and get a little taste of Texas. Nice welcome center, helpful people, interesting info about both Sam and the making of the statue, there were lots of kitties for our son to play with when we went. My mother-in-law doesn't get around very easily, and she could make the walk to the statue and back, but too many roots and such for those in a wheelchair or who need a walker. Only the giant statue itself will engage younger kids, but they will enjoy running around if they've been cooped up in a car!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
820 reviews
259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
“Good place to take some pics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This statue is the pride of Huntsville folks it is a landmark and it is so tall that if you're coming from Houston you can see it 5 miles away on intestate 45 , I have measure it and like I said in a good clear day you can see it.i recommend to stop by and take some pics, worth the time and the experience , highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
151 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Looks impressive, from the highway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We only slowed down a bit driving past on the freeway, looks pretty impressive, but based on the reviews here; we did not bother to stop.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
185 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Sam Houston, Patriot, Statesman, and Freemason”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stopped in here because I'm a history nut and a Freemason. There's little here to see except the very large starue of Sam Huston overlooking I-45. There is a welcome center and a giftshop for souveniers.

The big draw here is the statue itself. Sam was a big man in life...and in death. He was also a Freemason....very proud to be in tat brotherhood. Very big Texas hero! No charge. I liked it!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Houston Statue also viewed

 

Been to Sam Houston Statue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Houston Statue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.