We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Cool!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Houston Statue

Sam Houston Statue
1327 11th Street, Huntsville, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 Attractions in Huntsville
Type: Monuments/ Statues, State Parks
Attraction Details
Missouri City, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pretty Cool!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I thought that this was going to be a nice 0.5 mile hike or so. It's just a good place to stretch your legs and see a giant statue of an important person in Texas History.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Interesting stop, not a destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you're headed to Huntsville or passing by on I-45, it's a good chance to stretch your legs and get a little taste of Texas. Nice welcome center, helpful people, interesting info about both Sam and the making of the statue, there were lots of kitties for our son to play with when we went. My mother-in-law doesn't get around very easily, and she could make the walk to the statue and back, but too many roots and such for those in a wheelchair or who need a walker. Only the giant statue itself will engage younger kids, but they will enjoy running around if they've been cooped up in a car!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
482 reviews 482 reviews
175 attraction reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
“Good place to take some pics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This statue is the pride of Huntsville folks it is a landmark and it is so tall that if you're coming from Houston you can see it 5 miles away on intestate 45 , I have measure it and like I said in a good clear day you can see it.i recommend to stop by and take some pics, worth the time and the experience , highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Looks impressive, from the highway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We only slowed down a bit driving past on the freeway, looks pretty impressive, but based on the reviews here; we did not bother to stop.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Sam Houston, Patriot, Statesman, and Freemason”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stopped in here because I'm a history nut and a Freemason. There's little here to see except the very large starue of Sam Huston overlooking I-45. There is a welcome center and a giftshop for souveniers.

The big draw here is the statue itself. Sam was a big man in life...and in death. He was also a Freemason....very proud to be in tat brotherhood. Very big Texas hero! No charge. I liked it!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Houston Statue also viewed

 

Been to Sam Houston Statue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Houston Statue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.