We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice monument” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Houston Statue

Sam Houston Statue
1327 11th Street, Huntsville, TX
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Attractions in Huntsville
Type: Monuments/ Statues, State Parks, Landmarks
Attraction details
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice monument”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Almost missed the turn, otherwise very cool. You can see it really good from the highway on way North out of park.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    36
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pull Off!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

After passing the statue many times from the highway my family pulled off into the small, sweet park. My son was writting a paper on Sam Houston so we checked out the statue. Very impressive standing at the bottom of the statue. Inside the park is a full size head to stand next to and understand the size. Picnic tables available for a lunch or quiet sit. Very charming and worth the short visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Big, really Big!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Excellent place to visit and learn a little bit about Texas history. The staff was very friendly and the gift shop was nice. The statue is huge and represents the huge part Sam Houston played in Texas. Nice little wooded area for the visitors center. You can exit I-45 from before you pass the statue or after. Watch the signs, they were very good at pointing the way.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great place to visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Huntsville State park and glad we did! The staff was very informative and really enjoyed learning about this important figure in Texas History. We were also able to buy a DVD on his life at their gift shop which we really enjoyed!
Definitely a great place to visit!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sam Houston Statue & Gift Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

No visit to Huntsville is complete without stopping by to see the Sam Houston Statue. The staff is very friendly and seeing how the statue was built is interesting too. I love the gift shop, there's always great Texas memorabilia.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Houston Statue also viewed

 

Been to Sam Houston Statue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Houston Statue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.