We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as the reviews - SPG member” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria to your Saves list
Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   5011 Westheimer Road at Post Oak Blvd., Houston, TX 77056 (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #137 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not as bad as the reviews - SPG member”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Stayed for business feb 28 - mar 2nd. I checked reviews before I stayed and was nervous. I did see that the hotel was still under construction with one elevator out to be updated. I was on the spg floor and the rooms were large, clean, and had a nice balcony (floor 18, room 1824). My co worker did not have a newer room. Overall I would stay here again. Location was great, restaurants all around, and free parking under the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    160
    95
    45
    30
See reviews for
84
76
42
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

I am cutrrently staying here and have 3 days left. My first room didn't have hot water so I was relocated. My second room still does not have hot water and the 13.99 movie I ordered quiet in the middle. I was told it would reset and start again, but it never did. The resteraunt they list as their own is a part of the Galliria. Don't go in your Comfie clothes! This hotel is Not worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_oaks, Guest Relations Manager at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Dear Furrowtravler,

We sincerely regret you had a less than desirable experience in our hotel. At Westin, we aim to provide our guests with a lavish escape to an upscale and tranquil environment and we deeply regret on this occasion we completely failed to deliver on our promise. We apologize you were inconvenienced with having to move rooms twice due to the lack of hot water. I personally understand your frustrations with a situation of this type and I understand how frustrating and inconvenient something like this can be. I agree this is unacceptable and certainly not the type of issues someone should encounter especially in a hotel of our caliber. Our restaurant “Zucchinis” and “Schuckers” are restaurants of our hotel and not property of the Galleria Mall. Due to being located inside the Galleria Mall patrons of the mall do utilize our restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I would like to mention as part of our multi-million dollar transformation we will have a newly transformed restaurant called “White Oak Kitchen + Drinks” formerly known as Zucchinis. Our new upscale restaurant is due to open in mid April and we look forward in providing our guest with an inspiring new restaurant to dine-in. Again, we apologize your experience with us was less than perfect. If, you would like to give us an opportunity to make a better impression, please do not hesitate to contact me directly via email at galle@westin.com. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Workout facility is in an awkward location.
No restaurant was available. Granted, being in the Mall offers many opportunities, however often business travelers are tired and may not want to leave for a meal.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

All the new renovations are spot on. And the staff is great. The front Desk Staff and front Desk manager Simon are in the Top 5 of hotel services in my book. And I stay at a lot of hotels. Keep up the Good Work. You'll feel like a friend at the Westin Oaks Hotel Houston.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

This place is great! I have avoided malls for years but when looking at places to stay in Houston for three nights, this place made for a great experience. The Galleria mall in Houston has to be on of the best in Texas. I usually look for downtown properties so I can enjoy leaving the car and walking out for dinner, or shopping or a drink but downtown Houston just hasn't grownup that way. This location allowed me to walk out of my room, and down the elevator to a sports bar, star bucks or an entire food court with 40 different options. I easily handled Sacs with their end of season sale. My room had a balcony from which I could see the stadium, downtown Houston and even the ice skating rink through the glass roof below.The Westin Oaks Hotel and the Galleria Mall together combined for a convenient "New-Urban" experience, Houston style.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Great hotel, perfect location, fabulous beds and pillows!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_oaks, Guest Relations Manager at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
MerTexas, thank you for your delightful review of our hotel! We appreciate you taking a moment to share your experience with us and we look forward to your return! Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

I too am sitting here in my room writing a review of this property. Everything on the prior reviews are accurate. Another non-mentioned issue is the parking. We drove around for over 1/2 hour and couldn't find a place. Need handicapped, well there are none. Normal parking would have been fine but none of those either. Had to park valet and pay for less than an hour stay. I love Westin properties, but oh my, what a disappointment. I could write all night but I won't

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_oaks, Guest Relations Manager at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Dear Ducabr, we apologize your stay was less than perfect and we deeply regret you had major challenges in locating parking for our hotel. We completely understand your frustrations and we know how inconvenient and frustrating this must have been for you. We regret on this occasion your Westin experience was not up to standard with other Westin properties. We hope you allow us an opportunity to make up for this experience and I encourage you to contact me directly via email at galle@westin.com if you decided to return in the future. Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria

Address: 5011 Westheimer Road at Post Oak Blvd., Houston, TX 77056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#115 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria is located in the Uptown Galleria area and offers the perfect setting for those who are seeking the ultimate in leisure, entertainment and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Oaks Houston At The Galleria Hotel Houston
Westin Hotel Houston
Westin Hotel Oaks
Westin Houston
Houston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.