We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“attempted burglary in room + state of the bathroom” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria to your Saves list
Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   5011 Westheimer Road at Post Oak Blvd., Houston, TX 77056 (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #137 of 456 Hotels in Houston
Neu-Isenburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“attempted burglary in room + state of the bathroom”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

While staying in the hotel from 15.03.13-16.03.13 somebody tried to open the room door by force while I was sleeping with the DND sign on the door after noticing room was occupied they cried maintenance and were gone luckily not having been able to enter as all locks were engaged.
Investigation by hotel security was rather reluctant , even after 6 !! hours nobody had viewed any security videos...best advice , directly call the houston police department next time.The only answer having been supplied was that someone from maintenance was in the room earlier (while still having the sign out) without ever notifying me...big security issue.
After several attempts to speak to the management I was still stranded with some servic guy from the helpdesk.
Bathroom was in a terrible state for a freshly rennovated westin. Rusty pipes , rusty hinges , flaking paint,...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin M, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Greetings andreasmd11,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.com. We value all forms of feedback from our guests and thank you for providing us with information in which we can utilize to improve.

In regard to the situation you described, we do apologize that your impression of these events created a negative impact on your stay. You may be interested to know that during your stay an extensive investigation was preformed regarding the situation. In accordance with the information provided to you by the Assistant Director of Security and the Hotel Manager, one of our Engineering staff members was attempting to follow up on a request made and did not notice that the Do Not Disturb sign had fallen off of the door. Upon his entrance to the room, and noticing that it was occupied, he followed our procedures and refrained from entering the room any further. We do apologize if you had a different impression of these events and regret if they were not more effectively communicated to you.

We do greatly appreciate your feedback regarding the conditions of the room that you reported during your stay and here on Tripadvisor. We will be sure that this information is sent to our Engineering Director so that the appropriate actions can be taken.

Please know that we take the safety and security of our guests very seriously and take all necessary steps to protect the privacy of our guests during their stay. At the Westin Oaks Houston we make every attempt to follow up on guest requests to ensure that our guests’ needs are met. We sincerely apologize if this was not the impression you received during your stay or during your interactions with our managers and staff.

We do hope that we might have the privilege of hosting you as our guest again in the future, if your travels bring you back to the Houston Galleria area.

With Kind Regards,
Benjamin M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    160
    95
    45
    30
See reviews for
84
76
42
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Millsboro, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went to houston on business. My boss booked the rooms I didn't know what I was going to find.. But I was surprised... Big rooms, pleasant staff. If I'm ever in Houston again I will stay here!!!! Plus attached to the galleria shopping mall... Great parking !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groves, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria is a quality hotel with nice interior and friendly service. The hotel lobby is decorated with granite and has a welcoming feel. The bar on the lobby floor is also a nice touch to the overall stay. The rooms are spacious, clean, and well maintained. The view over the city facing Westheimer is also a nice addition to the rooms. The tvs are nice, and the beds are very comfortable. Overall the hotel is high quality, well maintained and connect to the Galleria, with allows easy acces to go shopping and return to your room without any hassles!

Room Tip: Get a room facing Westhemier the view is much better than the rear facing rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

There are two similarly named properties so finding the hotel was tricky. Valet parked my car but then I realized I left my backpack inside - he happily retrieved it for me. The hotel was packed due to a sporting event but my room was super quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Cindy M,

Thank you very much for your 5-star rating of the Westin Oaks. We value greatly the feedback of all our guests and it thrills us that we fulfilled our commitment in providing you with a personal and instinctive stay. We appreciate your kind words about our valet and look forward to hosting you in the future.

Be well,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I travel regularly, so there are certain comforts that have become standard for me: a good bed with comfy furnishings; a clean room; friendly, helpful staff; quality bath amenities; and nice towels. The Westin Oaks met all these with ease. Where the Westin Oaks exceeded my expectations was in the details: chilled towels, reading materials, and headphones available in the workout room; a makeup mirror available for myopic people like me; a furnished robe and workout gear to borrow; a small trash can by the exit door of the restroom in the conference space. Throughout the hotel you could tell someone put thought into the little things that would make their guests' experience more pleasurable.

I attended a conference at the Westin Oaks, and I must especially commend the food and food service personnel. The "continental breakfast" was outstanding with many healthful options beautifully presented. The conference meals were excellent, and the staff were helpful and efficient. The snacks were varied with both healthful and decadent options. Everything was truly well done.

Room Tip: I was on the 19th floor, and the view of uptown and downtown was beautiful -- especially in the morn...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear ElectricCatGirl,

Thank you for your 5-star rating of the Westin Oaks. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our Heavenly bed and bath amenities and that you were able to take advantage of our Westin Workout and Gear-lending program. We are glad that we were able to provide you with a serene and tranquil experience. We strive in providing each of our guests a personalized escape and we are pleased that we were able to fulfill our commitment to you. It would be our pleasure and honor to host you in the future if your plans ever bring you back to the Houston Galleria area.

Kind regards,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My stay at this hotel was excellent. The accommodations were fantastic and the staff were extremely helpful. My room was clean and very roomy! I highly recommend this hotel for its customer service as well as cleanliness.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Clean and well maintain. Location is good which is next to the Galleria where all the stores are just next door especially when u are on business trip where u have no time. Staff are friendly and helpful. This hotel has always been my best choice whenever I come over to Houston.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria

Address: 5011 Westheimer Road at Post Oak Blvd., Houston, TX 77056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#115 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria is located in the Uptown Galleria area and offers the perfect setting for those who are seeking the ultimate in leisure, entertainment and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Oaks Houston At The Galleria Hotel Houston
Westin Hotel Houston
Westin Hotel Oaks
Westin Houston
Houston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.