We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice for a Best Western” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center
6700 South Main Street, Houston, TX 77030 (University Place)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #127 of 456 Hotels in Houston
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pretty nice for a Best Western”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Maybe I've finally come around on the Best Western brand. My experience (from family trips, growing up) was that Best Western was kind of "second-tier" family accommodations if the Holiday Inn and Ramada was booked up. But this place was NICE, with a fancy lobby, spacious rooms with a mini-fridge and microwave - although I've gotten spoiled with the detached sink/vanity outside the bathroom proper, and on a trip with a wife and two teenaged girls, it's hard to get around when the sink's in the bathroom with the toilet and shower. The Wi-Fi didn't work the first day we were there, so I plugged into the ethernet cable, which was functional but kept us tied to the desk. Beds were quite comfy, TV was brand-new flat panel - overall, room was clean, comfortable and "up-scale".
The hot tub/jacuzzi was nice, but the provided indoor pool was unheated and PAINFULLY cold. If you're going to have an indoor pool with no "solar heating", you have to get that water temperature up to a liveable level.
We did get down to the breakfast buffet our second day - great selection, including eggs, sausage (beef or pork), biscuits/gravy, waffles, oatmeal, cold cereal, coffee, juice, etc. Probably one of the better spreads I've seen in this accommodation class.
Parking's a little dicey because the hotel sits on a small piece of real estate, surrounded by medical facilities, but didn't have to walk very far to an entrance. Nice selection of restaurants on Holcombe St. a block to the west, I recommend Two Guys Pizzeria a couple blocks to the north.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    98
    55
    14
    14
See reviews for
91
32
24
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk River, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The room I stayed in was adequate - a very small bathroom but otherwise plenty of room. I was very disappointed to find that I couldn't connect my laptop to wifi. When I called the front desk for help, they put me through to Best Western tech support, but their tier one support couldn't solve the problem. He put me through to tier two support, but after being on hold for 15 minutes I gave up and went to bed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur, Louisiana, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel itself was a great place to stay. But the pool was extremely cold to the point a few other guest wouldn't get in. And the ones who didn't stay long in. That is about all that disappointed me

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groves, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We recently had to be in Houston for medical reasons. We have stayed at other hotels in the area, but Best Western had a better price. The hotel is older,needs a bit of updating in the rooms,but they are clean, comfortable and offer a nice breakfast with the room. Staff was helpful and nice.
There is an indoor pool and hot tub. Unfortunately it was broke the night we stayed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here on a recent trip to Houston. The rate of $85 a night was great. They have free parking and a nice hot breakfast every morning. They have a shuttle to the medical center, but it is an easy walk to a lot of the hospitals (across the street). The free wi-fi was spotty in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

the property from outside and in the lobby looks well kept. the front desk staff who checked us in at night was very good. that's the only good thing. we had to changed our room 3 times. first room had some odor and allergens that my husband's eyes went red after less than 3mins in the room. we had to go to nearby CVS to buy medication. when we came back, we went straight to a new room. less dirty and this time no odor. when we woke up the following morning, a cockroach was crawling in the carpet! after killing it, went to front desk right away and showed them the picture and we demanded a new room. i have to mention that their manager acknowledged having this problem lately. we came back that evening with a new room and cleaner, but, had so much roach spray? i had to bear it coz i don't feel like moving again and we're checking out in the morning anyway. the elevator area needs more cleaning. breakfast is a ok. parking lot is always full (free) so, we always park in the basement. free wifi and if u have ur own laptop or notebook, u can connect directly to their ethernet. if u use ur cell/mobile phone, signal is poor. it's my first time to use best western, and it would be the last. sometimes there are cheaper and clean hotels, not this one. this place is close to medical centers and rice university

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Address: 6700 South Main Street, Houston, TX 77030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > University Place
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Houston
#81 Family Hotel in Houston
#94 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza Hotel And Suites At Medical Center Houston
Houston Medical Center Hotel
Best Western Houston
Houston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.