We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Front desk” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6700 South Main Street, Houston, TX 77030 (University Place)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #114 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Edna
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Front desk”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

DO NOT give these front desk reps your card for incidentals if you dont plan on using the phone or cable in the room. They will put a hold on whatever card you give them for the full amount of the room. The hold was put on my card on a Sunday and was on there for a full week. After 5-6 calls throughout an entire day, i was ignored, not listened to, and not helped in any way. They simply do NOT care.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    118
    64
    18
    16
See reviews for
111
43
27
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver bc
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Good hotel in Houston close to all the hospitals (shuttle to area hospitals). Only a two short block walk to the rapid transit train to downtown. Busses on the street out front. The price is what you would expect to pay for a hotel like this.
Great pillow top beds for a good sleep. The hotel is a little older but in great shape. The elevator is very slow but is working.
The people at the front desk are very nice and helpful. Nice lobby.
A very good breakfast, make yourself waffles, sausage (patties and tube), egg (mini omelette type), etc. Very busy but well maintained and stocked.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed for a week at this hotel and the service just kept getting better and better. From good recommendations for local information amazingly quick responses to questions or minor issues I would highly recommend a stay here. The prices are reasonable, the rooms are spotless with super comfortable beds and service service service service. Nice pool and jacuzzi too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Kansas, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

we have stayed at this hotel many times since 2008 and it works quite well for us. our main complaint (other than when an elevator is not working) is that the dinning room is slow to open and the gravy is very thin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wacken, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

She was talking with Her boyfriend on the phone and keep Me waiting for a long time, and I left because while waiting I saw a cockroach in the elevator. I had paid the first night in advance and My money was not returned to Me, The Ruder Desk Manager kept the money to take Her boyfriend to dinner.
Ended at the Rotary House.

Room Tip: No Please!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Overall - satisfied

Room Rates in my view are at the High End. When getting over $100 per night, I would start looking for rooms at Rotary House, they have complete shuttle service, etc.

Lobby and front desk and breadfast area are very nice. When getting of the elevator to the rooms you hallways leave you with not so good of a feeling. Narrow Halls, nothing to much different then you would see at a budget motel. Very plain ! Rooms were fine, comfy beds and pillows.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Campo, Texas, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

As this is the medical center location, I was expecting it to be drab and dreary, it wasn't! I was also very impressed with the breakfast considering I'm on a gluten free diet, it was refreshing to see 3 different kinds of meat. The eggs could have been better, as they were just the pre-cooked egg patties, regardless, I was impressed. I was slightly disapointed at check out when I had to wait for the front desk clerk to come and check me out from the back, and told me that I couldn't have a reciept for my stay since I had used my rewards points. She reluctantly went to the back room and printed me an illegible copy of my reciept claiming the printers were broken.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center

Address: 6700 South Main Street, Houston, TX 77030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > University Place
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Houston
#77 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza Hotel And Suites At Medical Center Houston
Houston Medical Center Hotel
Best Western Houston
Houston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.