We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop pool!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Smith Street, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #89 of 451 hotels in Houston
Bury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Rooftop pool!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in may 2013 on a touring holiday.Excellent hotel with pleasent staff and fab rooms.This hotel has a rooftop pool and jacuzzi very nice while your sat in it and can see the skyline of houston!It has a corridor that runs across the busy road of smith street,good place to take photos.Good location with bars and restaurants close by in both directions.The free iced lemon water was lovely in the reception area and refeshing, but one day they put cucumber in it yuk!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
It is great to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience with us! We appreciate your kind words about our property and staff. It is also nice to hear you loved the pool. Our pool is outside on the second floor. Even though it is on the second floor it is at a higher elevation and allows for an amazing view of the nearby city. We are located within a few blocks of Midtown, which has a huge selection of both restaurants and bars (mostly on Gray St. which is about 3 blocks away). Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback about your previous experience. We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are in the area. Safe travels!

Warm regards,

Jerry L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    89
    37
    23
    13
See reviews for
34
41
26
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Had a good one night stay in the Crowne Plaza, Houston Downtown.

Was easy to get to from the airport with Super Shuttle. Very courteous staff on arrival, was given a nice room which was very spacious, large TV. Was quiet too. As a Priority Club Gold Holder I was given a nice welcome box of snacks which was brought to my room and water.

Breakfast was very good too.

In a good location for downtown Houston. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
It is good to hear that you were able to take advantage of the Super Shuttle service. It is usually around 60%of the price of a taxi and is a good choice for guests traveling to the airport by themselves. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and we are glad that you enjoyed the extra amenities placed in your room. We also appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Safe travels!

Warmest regards,

Jerry L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great location in the centre of Houston. Within waking distance of most things. Staff were very helpful & friendly. Rooms were large & comfortable. Hired a car through concierge which was great value & their parking staff were superb.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. It is great to hear that you had a great experience with us! We are located at Smith & Pease, which is walkng distance to most attractions in the downtown area including the George R Brown convention center, Minute Maid Park, Toyota Center, and Midtown. Our concierge and valet are always happy to help with transportation whether it be a taxi or town car. We also appreciate your kind words about our valet and look forward to seeing you again soon! Safe travels!

Warmest regards,

Jerry L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

After arriving off international flight, was spending 24 hrs in Houston before connecting for New Orleans. Super shuttle drops off and picks up here, first time to visit so hotel was nice arrived in time for Happy Hour comp drinks and food as Priority Club member. Staff friendly and efficient, room was comfortable but bathroom on small side. Hotel near highway at the back, nothing to look out on heard the traffic early not in my opinion worth the money, Priceline $165 + taxes. Suitable for business travellers or overnighters for dinner and theater but otherwise would prefer to stay in Galleria area better value and shopping/food closer to hotel, not a city that appealed to me. I had reception call me a Super Shuttle return back to airport and nightmare to arrange as I was not flying out that night but on early am flight but choose to be closer to airport which was a good move as 25 min ride to airport.

Room Tip: Request a room away from highway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your previous stay. It is great to hear you enjoyed our Priority Club reception, which is held ever Tuesday from 5 - 7 p.m. We appreciate your kind words about our staff. We are within walking distance of shopping at the Houston Pavilions and we are also very close to the Theatre District, Museum District, Minute Maid Park, the Toyota Center, as well as Midtown. Once again we appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you at our hotel again soon! Safe travels!

Warmest regards,

Jerry L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I travel to Houston frequently, and when I do, I stay at the Crowne Plaza - Downtown. Its close to everything, the comp shuttle will take you anywhere downtown and the staff is awesome. The building is older, but well kept and the rooms have all the amenities. Ask for the Exec Level floors so you don't have rookie traveler nonsense to cope with. Thanks Rachel & Catherine!

Room Tip: Ask for the Exec Level floors so you don't have rookie traveler nonsense to cope with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We greatly appreciate your loyalty and your feedback on how we are doing. Our exec rooms are on floors 8 through 12 and they all have tempurpedic mattresses. We are also in the heart of downtown, which makes it very convinient to get the the Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, MidTown, as well as many other attractions. Once again, we greatly appreciate your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Warmest regards,

Jerry L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx. USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Single worst stay we have ever had at any hotel and I grew up in the military. The room was big and the breakfast was ok. Even though it was a Living Social getaway, a 250.00 room for 89.00 + taxes, the large crack in the sink in a tiny bathroom, the slamming doors and noise in the halls and 5 or 6 drunks from a wedding party in the next room, we could actually hear the conversation through the wall like we were in the same room was unsettling for a hotel that is 'supposed' to be a high caliber and top quality hotel. The sheets on the bed rustled like paper when you moved. We received an un-requested 630 am, on a Saturday, wake up "knock" not a call but some guy in a CR Blazer knocking on the door at 630 am sank this Titanic. We will not recommend this hotel; we will ever stay here again. I guess the old adage from Holiday Inn is lost forever "No Surprises" that is so very wrong. There was nothing but surprises.

Room Tip: Make sure there are no wedding groups partying the night before or tour groups of young children wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We are very sorry to hear about your recent experience with us, however, we do appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback about it. This is not the typical experience and if you would like to, please contact me at JerryL@cpdowntown.com and let us know if there is anything we can do for you.

Warmest regards,

Jerry L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had a night here while passing through Houston on business. Being a frequenter of CPs and ICHs generallty I was after predictable service levels in a handy location. It just about met both criteria but on the low side of each. Room was not so much tired but gasping for breath. At check-in they bigged up the fact it had a jacuzzi but this was in a separate room (a converted closet if I am not mistaken) and added nothing to the room.

Breakfast was barely adequate. As my first stop on a US trip perhaps I did have overly high expectations. And for a country which seems to consume so much coffee, why is always so bad?

It appears this is very a much a conference centre hotel and it felt like it. Average in every way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share you recent experience with us. Whether it is positive or negative; we always greatly appreciate feedback from our guests. We are sorry to hear that you had an average stay with us. This is not the typical experience. Our goal is for every guest to have an enjoyable stay. The junior suites do have a garden tub in the rooms; however, these aren't the same as a Jacuzzi. We do not have Jacuzzis at this particular property. We hope that the next time you are in Houston you will consider us for a second chance. Please email at JerryL@cpdowntown.com to let me know if there is anything that we can for you. Thank you again for your response on TripAdvisor. Safe travels!

Best regards,

Jerry L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown

Address: 1700 Smith Street, Houston, TX 77002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#79 Family Hotel in Houston
#97 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Houston hotels that offer distinct accommodations and an accessible location are hard to find, but Crowne Plaza Houston-Downtown is just that. A premier locale situates us between the buzzing industry sector including giants such as ExxonMobil and Chevron as well as fantastic Houston attractions like Minute Maid Ballpark, home of the Houston Astros. Retire to your room and enjoy the plush delights of our exclusive Tempurpedic mattresses and turndown service, with modern Houston hotel amenities such as free high-speed Internet and premium cable in every room. For that extra hint of comfort, our luxury suites and executive club rooms provide extra spacious accommodation. During your stay, take advantage of our state-of-the-art 24-hour fitness center, to include only PRECOR equipment, and don t miss a meal at Brazos Restaurant. Event planners in Houston will adore our extensive ballroom and breakout spaces, serving up to 500 guests. For that winning Houston, Texas vacation or business trip, choose the ample comforts and thoughtful convenience of Crowne Plaza Houston-Downtown, among the finest of hotels in Houston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown Hotel Houston
Houston Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.