We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Smith Street, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #164 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boerne, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I drove to Houston to see a doctor and didn't want to have to drive back the same day so I stayed here. The entire experience was wonderful, from making the reservervation to checking out. I mentioned why I was coming to Houston and they gave me a medical discount. The staff was so friendly, the room was great and the bed was comfortable. Most hotels are so noisy, but this one was so quiet. The free breakfast buffet was fabulous! Very easy access to the freeways. I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECTOROFSALES007, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Hi Colleen,

I am happy to know that you found our location and our services to be perfect for your Medical visit in Houston. I hope that you will have the opportunity to come back and experience us the next time you are in Houston. Hopefully, you will be visiting for relaxation and fun!

Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    119
    60
    33
    18
See reviews for
44
51
33
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Fresnos, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

This hotel is OK. The bed is very comfortable and the furnishing are OK. Good breakfast. Not sure it is worth the cost.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECTOROFSALES007, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Lecan2,

Thank you for your comments, our goal is turn your "OK" into "GREAT"!! We hope that we will be your hotel of choice the next time you are visiting Houston to give us the opportunity to do just that!

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I was in Houston visiting family, and they recommended I book here. I was not disappointed! Great service, friendly staff. My only complaint is that I should not have booked a single. It wasn't tiny, per say, but I could have used a little more room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECTOROFSALES007, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear SnoweGlobe,

Thank you for the great comments, we really do appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your "GREAT" experience! You had mentioned that you might need a little more space. May I suggest that you inquire about one of our Executive or Deluxe King rooms the next time you call to make your reservation, these room types are a little larger and I think it will be perfect for your next stay.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stayed one night for business. Quiet rooms ( paperthin walls) and great comfy beds. Connects to the downtown tunnel system or to KBR building via skywalk. Only a couple blocks to the metro train to Reliant Center. Perfect for Texans football or the rodeo. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECTOROFSALES007, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Hi Karen P,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our beds to be comfortbale and the perfect location for both business and visiting Houston's top attractions! We hope to have you as our guest again very soon!

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I need to start this with a caveat - if I was basing the review off the staff alone, the hotel would be 5 stars. We felt welcomed from the moment we got there until the moment we left. There was a problem with our initial room assignment in the computer so we had to wait 10 or 15 minutes while the gentleman at the desk found us a room. He apologized profusely for the delay and gave us coupons for 2 free breakfasts and 2 free drinks at the hotel - more than we expected for the relatively short wait.

There is also a hotel shuttle that will take you anywhere in the downtown area, which is convenient because the hotel sits in one corner of what is considered "downtown" and a lot of the other attractions are in the opposite corner. We went to a Houston Rockets game at the Toyota Center and all we had to do was call when the game let out and the shuttle was there to pick us up free-of-charge (minus a deserved tip to the driver) and drop us back at the hotel.

Overall, the hotel room itself was a little dated. There were some small rust stains in the bathroom and the carpet and wallpaper looked a little worn, but nothing offputting. The bed itself was memory foam, which was different for a hotel in my experience. There are plenty of little lunch places around since it is in the business district of the city, but you may need to take the shuttle to find dinner. In sum, a pretty nice place to stay, although a remodel would make it ideal.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECTOROFSALES007, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Hello HappyTraveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with your fellow "happy travelers"! We are very proud of our team and the service we provide to our guests and it thrills them to hear the positive feedback, we will certainly share the praise with the team.

More importantly, we do appreciate your honest feedback in regards to every aspect of your stay as this only helps us to get better. We hear you about the rooms and agree that they are in need of a facelift. I'm not sure if you noticed while you were here but we are actually right in the middle of giving all of our rooms a facelift. All the guest room renovations should be complete the next time you return as our guest. Be sure to follow us on Facebook so that you are up to date on our progress and to be the first to find out about any special promotions.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

NEW YRS EVE 2011 ...I must say that this is one of the best places i've stayed at in a very long time, First off when you drive up theY valet park youR vehicle and treat you like royalty. My husband and I got the romance package which comes with breakfast and let me tell you the breakfast was amazing and the staff is very helpful and knowledgeble about the area, the hotel is an older hotel but the rooms are nice and clean and the bed in the executive was the best bed I have yet to sleep in, they delivered chocolate covered strawberries and champange to our room at the exact time requested which added to the list of compliments, our room price was around 170.00 which you dont even consider high due to the great service we recieved. When we walked in after checking in and whisking off to dinner when we returned there was new staff that greeted us by name when we walked in the door, kinda scared us but then it clicked that they know how to treat their customers. we live in the area and just needed a night away for a romantic evening and really enjoyed ourselves. Dont think twice about staying here, you will be very pleased. 1/31/11

Room Tip: executive is the way to go! the beds are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECTOROFSALES007, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Hello Jamie L.,

I am so happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your Romantic getaway and that our staff exceeded all of your expectations! Be sure to come back and stay with us again soon, we are currently doing some upgrades to our rooms and I think you will like what you see! Oh and by the way, the Tempurpedic mattresses are staying and you don't have to stay in an Exceutive Room to get one, the majority of our rooms have the Tempurpedic mattresses!

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights over the NYE. Booked using the 5K points per night as a Platinum member so a bargain (NYE was $300 per night rate). Was upgraded to the exec floor (10th) so no freeway noise. Given free breakfast coupons for our whole stay which was good-(pity the breakfast wasn't!). Room dated but adequate. LCD TV and comfy bed. Bath\shower a little antiquated but OK.
Valet parking was $24 for Thurs night and $12 for Frid Sat nights. I found street parking for $6 per day which is then free after 6PM and on Sunday. I did have to get up at 07:00 to feed the meter though! There are nearby street parking options -just be aware of some of the restrictions.
Hotel is being refurbed - didn't see any modern bits though. Staff were helpful and polite.
Breakfast was not that good. Fresh fruit was Ok and plentyful but the hot fare was poor. Free Wifi in the room and wired in the business centre-which has a printer. Gym and pool I did not use.
Problem with the lifts on NYE-which was compounded by the fact a lot of guests checked in for that one night (Had been quiet up to then). We had to use the service lifts and taliking to a staff member she says it happens all the time.
Overall a pleasant comfortable stay at a cheap rate of 5K points per night. Not in town, so either catch a bus (stops outside the hotel) or get a taxi for the 1 mile trip to food options (not that there are that many Downtown in the evening)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECTOROFSALES007, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at our hotel with others. We value all of our guest's feedback and I will be sure to pass along your comments in regards to the Breakfast Buffet, I am disappointed that it did not exceed your expectations. We typically receive great comments about our Breakfast Buffet so I will defiently be sure to look into what may have been different during your stay.

We are in the process of completing our upgardes so we should have something new for you to see the next time your travels bring you to Houston!

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown

Address: 1700 Smith Street, Houston, TX 77002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Houston hotels that offer distinct accommodations and an accessible location are hard to find, but Crowne Plaza Houston-Downtown is just that. A premier locale situates us between the buzzing industry sector including giants such as ExxonMobil and Chevron as well as fantastic Houston attractions like Minute Maid Ballpark, home of the Houston Astros. Retire to your room and enjoy the plush delights of our exclusive Tempurpedic mattresses and turndown service, with modern Houston hotel amenities such as free high-speed Internet and premium cable in every room. For that extra hint of comfort, our luxury suites and executive club rooms provide extra spacious accommodation. During your stay, take advantage of our state-of-the-art 24-hour fitness center, to include only PRECOR equipment, and don t miss a meal at Brazos Restaurant. Event planners in Houston will adore our extensive ballroom and breakout spaces, serving up to 500 guests. For that winning Houston, Texas vacation or business trip, choose the ample comforts and thoughtful convenience of Crowne Plaza Houston-Downtown, among the finest of hotels in Houston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown Hotel Houston
Houston Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Houston Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.