We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Offshore Technology Conference Houston OTC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Galleria Houston Hotel

Save Saved
You added Westin Galleria Houston Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5060 West Alabama Street, Houston, TX 77056 (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #103 of 451 Hotels in Houston
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Offshore Technology Conference Houston OTC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Right in the heart of the Westin Gallery very handy for everywhere, spending paradise so beware I got new golf clubs, new iPad, laptop Handbags as ordered by the wife hell of a business trip!!!!!!
Great choice of food if you didn't fancy downtown meals too big for one to eat I found generally. The breakfast would have fed the family but I was there on my own

Room Tip: Did not ask as mine was fine other delegates said the same
See more room tips
Green Features: Polite helpful star as usual in good American hotels
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    177
    114
    58
    23
See reviews for
92
77
36
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Handicap access is not easy.
Bathrooms had rust and mold.
A renovation three years ago apparently was to paint over water damage and put new tops on old furniture.
Valet lost my keys.
The room they delivered was not the room we reserved the night before.
This was a worse experience than most two or three star hotels.

Staff was courteous - I just wish they had a better hotel to work in. We won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Oldretiredsoldier,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Westin Galleria. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you endured. It is never our intention to cause a disruption in our guest’s stay and regret having caused on in yours. We strive in providing our guests with a tranquil and serene atmosphere to unwind in and are disappointed to hear that we did not fulfill our commitment to you. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to host you for any future travels to the Houston Galleria area so that we might mend your impression of the hotel.

Best wishes,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Staff is very friendly. But the rooms are average. Definitely not worth the price. No microwave, refrigerator is not cold enough and shower has stains and leaks water everywhere. Overall, rooms are ok but not worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear agomz,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Westin Galleria. We regret the inconveniences you endured and appreciate you having brought this to our attention. It is never our intention to cause a disruption in our guests stay and apologize that our shower and refrigerator caused one in yours. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to mend your impression of our hotel during any future travels to the Houston Galleria area.

Best wishes,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My family of 5 stayed there in early July 2014 and I can only say....Impeccable Customer service leads to the rating I gave. All our dealings with each individual was one that Westin should be proud of their employees. We had dealings with the front clerk, valet, house service and even the maintenance person.

I really wouldn't even call it a complaint...but our AC unit was blowing warm the 1st night there and so I called and immediately the maint person arrived. He was courteous and knowledgable and you could tell he enjoyed his job and in making things right.(just like everyone at this hotel).

He fixed it with a smile and we were set the rest of our time at the Westin. I loved how it was connected to the Galleria mall and liked the location. The bed was comfy and I guess all I can say...is Thanks Westin for a great stay at your place!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear JonBond,

We sincerely appreciate your review of the Westin Galleria. We are thrilled that our staff assisted in provide you with a memorable Westin Experience. We take great pride in creating a relaxing and rejuvenating atmosphere for our guests to unwind in and are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We hope to continue hosting you during any future travels to the Houston Galleria area.

Best wishes,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The rooms are clean. Parking is scary under ground in garage. They have valet but it is $27 a day. Internet is not free it is $10 a day. No free breakfast. My refrigerator in my room was very loud. The only nice thing about the hotel is that it is at the galleria. The rooms are just average and nothing special.

Room Tip: The pool is on the 4th floor if you want to be close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear AngieB,

We appreciate your review of your recent stay at the Westin Galleria. We regret that your Westin Experience was subpar and that we did not provide you with a tranquil and serene atmosphere to unwind in. You may be interested to know that we do offer different room rate packages that do include breakfast in the rate and regret that this was effectively communicated to you. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to host you in the future so that we may assist in mending your impression of Starwood and the Westin brand.

Be well,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We spent the night here for my sister's birthday. Paola at front desk was so helpful. Smiling and attentive. They bumped us up to a really nice suite for her birthday. Can't say enough about how attentive the service was up and down the line. Great job, Westin managers!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Iliketoea,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Westin Galleria. It thrills us to hear that Paola provided you and your sister personalized instinctive service! We are very lucky to have her as a part of Team Westin and assure you that we will celebrate her praises. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to continue hosting you during all of your celebrations!

Be well,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel is literally smack dab in the middle of a mall. The hotel bar/restaurant actually requires you to walk into the mall, which seemed odd. The rooms are ok. I would strongly recommend the Westin Downtown instead.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Galleria Houston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Galleria Houston Hotel

Address: 5060 West Alabama Street, Houston, TX 77056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#71 Family Hotel in Houston
#99 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Galleria Houston Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome when you arrive at The Westin Galleria Houston. Connected to The Galleria Shopping Center it is the only place to stay for ultimate leisure, entertainment and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Westin Galleria Houston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Houston
Houston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.