We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Galleria Houston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Galleria Houston Hotel to your Saves list
Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5060 West Alabama Street, Houston, TX 77056 (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #162 of 474 Hotels in Houston
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Happy Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Booking two weeks in advance, I got a great deal through a "mystery" discounter, where you learn the name of your hotel after you've paid. Sometimes, this can be a risk, but this time, I got appr. 40% off the rack rate and was happily surprised. Though a bit difficult to locate and access, the hotel connects directly to the Galleria; you can access the entire mall without ever leaving cover and a/c, which was most welcome during my rainy, hot, and humid stay. Another surprise was free self-parking at an adjacent garage; wi-fi was $9.95, though.The room itself was standard for a 3-4 star hotel; a bit dated and worn, yes, but well maintained and comfortable. My only negative was that I had some loud neighbors who returned at 4:30 a.m. At 5:00, I called the front desk for ear plugs and was told they would soon be delivered. After waiting thirty minutes, I called again, and was told that there were no plugs available. I can understand this, but the front desk guy then said, "We tried calling to tell you this...," which wasn't true. A minor negative in an otherwise pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Access to the hotel is a little tricky: the entrance is on Alabama, which is a one way (west to east...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamilah G, Executive Assistant at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Greetings DavidMcTier,

Thank you for your feedback. At the Westin Galleria, we value all forms of feedback as it provides us with an opportunity to learn and improve. We are so glad that we were lucky enough to be your mystery hotel. It was a pleasure to host your stay. I apologize for the noise regarding your neighbors and that we failed to follow up regarding the ear plugs. I understand that this can create a negative impact on your stay, but we truly appreciate your understanding. I do hope the rest of your stay was a rejuvenating experience. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you allow us the honor of hosting your next stay in Houston.

Kind Regards,
Jamilah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    236
    158
    76
    34
See reviews for
122
98
44
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

In town for one of our son's wedding and we stayed here before heading out to the festivities. Every aspect of the hotel and surrounding area was fantastic. Our room was beautiful, roomy, huge bathroom and giant bed.
Being right at the Galleria was so helpful not only for the items I forgot to bring for the wedding but a Starbucks for the early morning coffee run. The staff was a delight and lobby bar was a great spot for a nightcap.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamilah G, Executive Assistant at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Greetings TinySeasideDancer,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are elated that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is such a pleasure to know that you were able to take advantage of our unique and convenience location. At the Westin Galleria, we strive to create instinctive experiences for all of our guests and I am so glad that this translated in your stay. We welcome you back anytime!

Be Well,
Jamilah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boys Ranch, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

For the price this is by far one of the best deals in Houston. The location is great and the service was amazing ~ only downside was there was no bar in the hotel ~ oh well outside of that we were completely happy ~

Room Tip: HIGHER The better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamilah G, Executive Assistant at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Brett H,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at the Westin Galleria Houston Hotel. It was a pleasure to host your stay and we look forward to your return.

Be Well,
Jamilah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed for one night to do shopping it's attached to mall check in was fast and staff nice room was on 16th floor and looked onto back of hotel.
Room was very clean but the rooms do not look like they have been re furbished there was a nice pool on 5th floor as I say my sole purpose for the stay was shopping so was great to go into elevator get off at 3 and you are In mall I would recommend this hotel for location I will return we paid 130$ so was value for us only negative point would be no restaurant breakfast is ordered by room service and is way to much but it is a westin.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed here for our Son's birthday weekend...Although we have stayed here before, we were blown away by the level of personal service and attention our hosts at the Westin showed my family and I. When we arrived check-in was smooth and effortless. The front desk personal had us checked in less than 5 minutes. They provided our sons each a Westin kid's bag with goodies in them for their stay. Upon learning of the birthday weekend we were surprised after arriving at our room by a knock at the door where the front desk had sent special, gourmet cookies to our room for the birthday boy! What a great touch Westin! The hotel advised us that the kids movie was set for 6:30 that evening....What a great time! Snacks and games, and a movie to boot...I couldn't have planned it better myself.

There are just no words to describe our positive experience but to say Thank you! and we definitely will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the end of the corridor , away from the elevator are best.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Westin slows for you to use the towels for more than one use if you choose by designating such to the front desk.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamilah G, Executive Assistant at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Greetings Yohi459,

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is a great pleasure to have hosted such a special occasion for you and your family. At the Westin Galleria, we take great pride in creating memorable experiences and we are so glad that you allowed us the privilege to be the place where you celebrated your son’s birthday. We know that you had other options, but we are delighted that you chose the Westin Galleria and we hope to see you again soon!

Be Well,

Jamilah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I don't have a whole lot to say regarding either extreme good or bad aspects of this hotel. Westins are all pretty nice. This one is attached to the Mall, which is convenient. The downtown location is also pretty good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Fantastic experience staying here. I was traveling for business and was very pleasantly surprised by my experience here. I did not expect much from a hotel attached to a mall, but the elegance and customer service here was beyond excellent. When I go back to Houston, I will definetly stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#91 of 474 in Houston
4.0 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Great Uptown
Aloft Houston by the Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria
Hotel Derek Houston Galleria
#136 of 474 in Houston
4.0 of 5 stars 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Galleria Houston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Galleria Houston Hotel

Address: 5060 West Alabama Street, Houston, TX 77056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#122 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Galleria Houston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome when you arrive at The Westin Galleria Houston. Connected to The Galleria Shopping Center it is the only place to stay for ultimate leisure, entertainment and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Starwood, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Galleria Houston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Houston
Houston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.