We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Galleria Houston Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Galleria Houston Hotel to your Saves list
Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5060 West Alabama Street, Houston, TX 77056 (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #134 of 455 Hotels in Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed in an Executive corner suite after a company party that was held at the hotel. I was skeptical after reading some reviews but upon arriving and seeing the room I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel staff was great, the room was clean, the bed comfortable and the room was very spacious. Nothing else I could ask for. In the past I have paid much more for a rooms that were not nearly as nice. Although I live less than an hour away, I will most likely return for a weekend getaway.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear eewill,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Westin Galleria. We greatly appreciate your kind words and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your Westin experience! We strive in providing our guests with an instinctive and personal stay and are glad that we were able to fulfill our commitment to you. We hope to be able to providing you a weekend escape in the near future!

Be well,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    197
    129
    63
    25
See reviews for
96
83
39
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, USA
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have tried this property repeatedly and it just never measures up; as someone who is a SPG Platinum and knows the brand, this one does not measure up: tired, dated, lackluster service, and too often over crowded with a convention, this is not a Westin caliber experience. Gym is too crowded and small for the size hotel as well ... Houston has many great hotels and you can do better.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear MatzS2013,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Westin Galleria. We appreciate all guest feedback as it provides us invaluable insight to the guest experience and how we can improve. We regret that we did not fulfill our commitment in providing you a relaxing and rejuvenating experience while staying with us. Please be assured that I have spoken to our Director of Front Office in regards to the Platinum amenities. We do strive in providing a serene atmosphere and I would like to gather more information in regards to the condition comments you have left. Please contact me at your convenience at WeCare@westin.com.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Best wishes,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

It's a shoppers paradis. The hotel is located in the Galleria, so if you're looking to do some shopping, you're in the right place. No need to drive anywhere, everything is in walking distance come rain or shine, you're covered. The rooms or clean, up to date and the beds or heavenly. The staff are friendly and I even was offered a weekend late checkout. I do highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great hotel, that I could not fault it for Business.

Every need catered for with poliet friendly staff in a good location.

I would stay again without hesitation and will be recommending to all my colleagues.



Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two days from October 5th, 2013 through October 7th 2013. First all all, this hotel has absolutely no restaurants, bar, spa, inside the hotel. If you want to go and have a decent dinner you need to go downtown or places close by and for this you must have your own transportation. The rooms are decent and the hotel staffs are helpful . The hotel staffs will tell you that this hotel has restaurants but please do not believe them, they are liers!!!

This hotel is very expensive and they charge you for every thing they can, just because this hotel is located in the Houston Galleria Mall. They have a sister hotel known as Westin Oaks located at the opposite side of Westin Galleria and that hotel is the worst.

There are other name brand hotels located at walking distance from this Jail House Hotel ( The Westin Galleria) where you will enjoy at the hotel.

Remember this hotel has no restaurants, no bars, no Spa....and no night life!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Findmeinusa,

We regret that your stay was below your expectations. Contrary to your statements we do have 2 restaurants for our hotel 1. The Daily Grill is located on the left hand side of the Westin Galleria on the 3rd floor and the 2nd is located on our sister property a 4 minute walk inside of the mall called the White Oak Kitchen + Drinks that is attached to the Westin Oaks. We do also provide a bar on the 2nd floor of the Westin Oaks called the Street Level Lobby bar. Along with these choices within our facilities we are connected to one of the largest malls in Texas and you have many fine dining options here including Del Frescos, Oceanaire, and Morton’s Steakhouse.

As we are a convention hotel in the Galleria area, you are correct that we do not have a “club/night life” atmosphere. However we are located within a convenient 5-10 minute cab ride to Houston’s night life such as Midtown, Downtown, and Washington Ave where you will find a variety of clubs, bars, and nighttime entertainment. However if you rather stay within the Galleria area there is a bar just on the corner across the street from us called the West End, and within the mall Perdition boasts an entertaining burlesque show and atmosphere. We regret that we did not communicate this effectively to you while you were staying with us.

We do also offer in-room Spa options to all of our guests, where you can enjoy a relaxing deep tissue or Swedish massage all with in the comforts of your heavenly amenities. Should you choose to go outside of our facilities there is the Saks Fifth and Nordstrom spas just outside of our doors.

We hope you will allow us to demonstrate all of these options during your future travels to the Houston Galleria area.

Be well,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is well located for business meetings and shopping in Houston.

However, if you choose to valet park your car, beware. It is a contracted company and while my car was under their jurisdiction the BMW emblems were stolen from the wheels. While inexpensive to replace them, it is aggravating to have to take care of it. The parking area they used must not be secured.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Histepper1965,

We appreciate your review of your recent stay at the Westin Galleria. We regret the inconveniences you have endured. I have spoken with our Valet Manager, Justin, to ensure that this be remedied as soon as possible. Please be assured that this is not a regular occurrence at our hotel rather an exception. Should you have any questions or concerns please do not hesitate in contacting us at WeCare@westin.com , referencing your review.

Be well,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

convenient location. several restaurants around in the galleria mall and other nearby places. room was clean and updated. Parking is free. friendly staff. I would recommend when visiting the Houston area

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Gandorn,

Thank you for sharing insight on your recent stay at the Westin Galleria. We appreciate all guest feedback and are thrilled to hear that you had a memorable experience with us. It would be our pleasure to continue providing you with the full Westin Experience on any future travels to the Houston Galleria area.

Best wishes,
Jennifer Rincon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Galleria Houston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Galleria Houston Hotel

Address: 5060 West Alabama Street, Houston, TX 77056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#70 Family Hotel in Houston
#123 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Galleria Houston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome when you arrive at The Westin Galleria Houston. Connected to The Galleria Shopping Center it is the only place to stay for ultimate leisure, entertainment and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Galleria Houston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Houston
Houston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.