We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not stay again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Galleria Houston Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Galleria Houston Hotel to your Saves list
Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5060 West Alabama Street, Houston, TX 77056 (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #136 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Will not stay again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

This is the worst westin ever. As a platinum member, I barely received no recognition. The room I got was smaller than a regular room. It is right next to the elevators. Bathroom is tiny with practically no counter space. The room is noisy because of the elevator and there's no club lounge in the hotel. The only hotel restaurant is located in the mall. There is only one bottle water and no free breakfast. I will not stay here unless its the last hotel in houston.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin M, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Greetings Jaden K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your experience. We appreciate your candor as it offers us a clear view into your experience. We regret that your overall satisfaction in your stay was below your expectations. You are indeed correct, our Westin is not equipped with a Club Lounge; and we apologize if this was in some way communicated to the contrary. It is also regrettable that your guest room did not fit your specific needs. We apologize if our availability was such that we were unable to move you to a room that would have been more sufficient.

You may be interested to know that as a Platinum guest, you do have the option to receive a complimentary breakfast as part of your platinum benefits. In addition, additional complimentary water bottles are available per request as an additional benefit to your platinum status. We sincerely apologize if these options were not effectively communicated to you.

We hope that your future travels may bring you back to the Houston Galleria Area. We invite you back to allow us the privilege of hosting you again and providing you with not only a better impression, but also a better experience.

Regards,
Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    198
    129
    63
    26
See reviews for
96
83
39
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Travelled here for business from Australia. It's comfortable but not flash at all. There is no other reason to stay here except shopping or business. The staff are friendly enough. No room service or minibar which was disappointing

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Had a great experience at the Westin Galleria. It was perfect being able to stay at this hotel which is located in the mall so I could park my car and not worry about it for the weekend. This was the perfect shopping weekend!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one week while in Houston for business. The hotel is consistent with other Westin hotels. Here are my thoughts:

Food: My worked required me to work late in my room, so I was appreciative of the hotel's location, so I had easy access to the various restaurants within the adjacent mall. Also, the room service is available 24 hours.

Room: Again, this hotel was consistent with other Westin hotels, so my room is what I would expect. it included a heavenly bed and shower.

Parking: Self parking can be a bit confusing because there are some renovations that are taking place.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamilah G, Executive Assistant at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for your 4 star review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your kind words, and are glad that we met your expectations with our location, room service, Heavenly bed, and quality of service. We are thrilled that we provided a relaxing and rejuvenating experience that upheld Westin standards. We look forward your next stay with us.

Happy Holidays,
Jamilah G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Westin says that this is a 4 star hotel. The staff, location and price may be 4 Starr but our room was not. While the room overall seemed clean and was large it felt old dated and stale. The beds where ok but nothing special, they where what I would expect from a Comfort Inn or LaQuinta. (Actually I like LaQuinta's beds better)
Another complaint was a lack of outlets by the beds. This could have been easily fixed by replacing the bedside lamps with new ones that have outlets on them like I have found at many other hotels.
Overall our stay was pleasant and the hotel is conveniently located in the Galleria mall I was just expecting more from a Westin.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin M, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Greetings DanBoz,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with insights from your stay at the Westin Galleria Houston. We are glad that you found your experience to be to your expectations regarding the location and access to the mall in addition to the friendliness of our staff. We regret, however, that your experience with the guest room was not to your expectations. We apologize if our Heavenly beds did not meet your comfort needs. You’ll be happy to know that we are going to pass along your comments regarding the outlets in the room to the appropriate department so that any new considerations for 2013 can include your feedback. We invite you to be our guest again in the future if your travels bring you back to the Houston Galleria area. We would be honored to have you as our guests again and provide you with a better impression.

Thank you and be well,
Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hørsholm, Denmark
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a fine business hotel nicely located in the middle of a big mall. The rooms have a nice size and the interior are fine. The breakfast restaurant are Daily Grill serving a nice breakfast. The room service is so-so.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamilah G, Executive Assistant at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for your 4 star review on TripAdvisor. At the Westin Galleria, we strive to create a restful and rejuvenating experience, and we are thrilled that we delivered on this promise to you. We truly appreciate your kind words, and are glad that we met your expectations with our location, the accommodations in your room, and quality of service. We look forward to having the pleasure of having you as a guest again.

Happy Holidays,
Jamilah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairieville, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel numerous times and the staff is always friendly, courteous and helpful and the atmosphere is always peaceful. I always enjoy my stay in the comfortable bed and the room. The closeness to the mall only adds to the charm of this hotel. I would recommend it for anyone coming to visit Houston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Galleria Houston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Galleria Houston Hotel

Address: 5060 West Alabama Street, Houston, TX 77056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#38 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#74 Family Hotel in Houston
#120 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Galleria Houston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome when you arrive at The Westin Galleria Houston. Connected to The Galleria Shopping Center it is the only place to stay for ultimate leisure, entertainment and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Galleria Houston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Houston
Houston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.