We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you value your money, don't stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Galleria Houston Hotel

Save Saved
You added Westin Galleria Houston Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5060 West Alabama Street, Houston, TX 77056 (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #94 of 451 hotels in Houston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you value your money, don't stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on business. I checked out without obtaining a receipt. For my expense account, it's required. I have contacted the hotel 6 times via e-mail as well as the corporate office twice. All I requested was a receipt. Not only was that impossible, a simple reply is too much. It has now been 3 months, and I am retaining a lawyer - just to obtain a simple receipt. With that kind of incompentent service, do you really want to stay here?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_oaks, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Pat K., I am sincerely sorry and embarrassed to hear of the troubles you’ve had to endure in obtaining a receipt from our hotel. I want to make sure this request is taken care of as soon as possible, so I will be sending you a private message to obtain your reservation details and contact information. If you’d like, you can also contact me via email at Galle@Westin.com and reference this review. Once again, my deepest apologies for the inconveniences this has caused and I look forward to hearing from you.

With Kind Regards,
Danny Ruiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    171
    104
    56
    23
See reviews for
87
73
36
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

key point of this hotel is that is connected to the mall.. beyond that rooms are old.. I could noticed that all hallways are so outdated, roof squares are even deformed.. so property is in need of a general update.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_oaks, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear AMEXBOY, Thank you for taking a moment to share your Westin experience with us on Trip Advisor! We apologize we failed to meet or exceed your expectations on this visit to Houston. We would like the opportunity to speak with you regarding the disappointments you noted so we can address accordingly. Please feel free to reach out to me via email at Galle@Westin.com and reference this review. Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards, Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapol,is, IN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I visited the weekend of November 17th. I have looked at pictures online and read reviews, but I would definitely make this my go-to spot whenever I'm in Houston. Great location and awesome staff. Being connected to a mall that has every single store that any could imagine is HUGE! All that plus the "Heavenly Beds" makes this place OUTSTANDING! Can't wait to go back again! Nice job Westin!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin M, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear wrldtrvler1,

Thank you for the kind and uplifting feedback. We are grateful for your five star review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that your experience with our Heavenly Beds made for a relaxing get-a-way. We are also thrilled you enjoyed our proximity to the Galleria Mall and that our friendly and professional staff was able to cater to your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

Regards,
Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Loved the convience of being in the galleria, working in the mall it was nice to lay my head on comfortable bed at night. The check in wa quick and easy, very helpful staff. The price was a little more than that comparable hotels, but the convience to walking out to work balenced out the extra money Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin M, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Tabbritton,

We appreciate your recent five star rating on Tripadvisor.com. We are thrilled that you were pleased with your stay. We are glad that your experience regarding our hotel staff and the comfort of our guest bedding was to your expectations. We strive to create the most relaxing and rejuvenating experience possible and are happy that we were able to deliver on this goal. If your travels find you back in the Houston Galleria area, we look forward to the opportunity to have you as our guest again.

Kind regards,
Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Had a girls night out to shop at the Galleria, dine and spend the night. The rooms and bathrooms were spacious and updated. If you are booking try going directly through the hotel versus a travel website as I was able to book for about 100.00 less by calling the hotel and booked over the phone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin M, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Tammy S,

We are thrilled that your girls night out was success and we are pleased to have been a part of that memory. Thank you for your recent four star review. We appreciate your kind words about the guest room and bathroom features. We strive to create memorable occasions for our guests and we are thrilled that we were able to deliver on this commitment. We look forward to your next visit to the Galleria area and hope that you will choose us again for your future travel needs.

Regards,
Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPlata, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was very lucky to get a room at this hotel through hotwire. The location and service was excellent. The staff was always ready to help me with whatever I needed. Being attached to the Galleria with great shops and restaurants was also nice. The shops and food range from inexpensive to highly expensive - so a great mix for all. I would recommend this hotel. The parking is pretty high if you have a rental car. Given the traffic in Houston (backups all day), you are better off using the Super Shuttle for airport transporation and taxis locally.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin M, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Greetings Corri_68,

Thank you for your recent five star review on Tripadvisor.com. We appreciate the warm comments and we are thrilled that your experience with us was to your liking. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed our friendly and professional staff and that you found our location to be ideal in regard to your needs. We look forward to your return to Houston and the opportunity to have you as our guest again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights for a conference at the hotel. Check in staff was very helpful, rooms were very nice, and location at the galleria was awesome. A bit expensive, but i understand why, given the location. There is also another Westin at the galleria, but this one seemed to be the newer of the 2.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin M, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Greetings JoeZ,

Thank you for the five star review that you recently posted to Tripadvisor. We appreciate your kind words regarding our front desk staff, comfort of your guest room, and proximity to the Galleria. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to deliver on the experience you expected. We look forward to the privilege of having you as our guest again in the future.

Regards,
Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Galleria Houston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Galleria Houston Hotel

Address: 5060 West Alabama Street, Houston, TX 77056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#91 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Galleria Houston Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome when you arrive at The Westin Galleria Houston. Connected to The Galleria Shopping Center it is the only place to stay for ultimate leisure, entertainment and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Westin Galleria Houston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Houston
Houston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.