We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Houston hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lancaster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lancaster to your Saves list
The Lancaster
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Texas Ave., Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nederland, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“My favorite Houston hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Lancaster for years and were a bit nervous about the renovations. No need! They've done a lovely job of blending the old with the new. The colors are fresh and the flooring is beautiful. I especially liked the touch of red here and there. We'll stay again (and again, and again!)

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We cannot thank you enough for your loyalty throughout the years! We are here to serve you and we hope to welcome you back for years to come! -Michelle M., Sales Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    108
    22
    18
    22
See reviews for
54
224
41
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

From the moment I arrived at the Lancaster, I was sure we were a good match. The renovations going on in the lobby meant that the front desk was located in the entry vestibule. This was handled with good spirits and a sense of jolly fun. As the weeks went by it was great to see the entry take shape. Every time I left the hotel, the doormen wished me a good day Mr Moore and upon arrival later that evening I was always greeted by the attendant at the front desk. My room was very comfortable and the internet and television were always functioning at peak performance levels. I travel with my work and this is not always true, so I very much appreciated this factor. The bath room was elegantly appointed (love the Water Works hardware) and it too worked extremely well. The whole trip was a great success and I do hope when I return to Texas that the Lancaster will be an option for my company.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We strive to make this a home away from home, especially for business and extended stay travelers like yourself. It was our honor to host you throughout your time in Houston and we hope to see you again! -Michelle M., Sales Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUISIANA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our second stay at the Lancaster. I booked it because of location but was amazed at their recent renovations. The hotel is beautiful and extremely comfortable. Enjoyed a very relaxing weekend. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Come back soon to relax and let us pamper you! Thanks for the review! -Michelle M., Sales Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I were in town for a concert. I booked this hotel based on its proximity to the Toyota Center and price. Wow, what a great value all the way around! We were greeted by a very friendly man at the desk (I don't remember his name) and checked in to a nice corner room. I don't know what the hotel looked like before, but its recent renovations are beautiful. We had a large bathroom and very comfortable bed. We enjoyed a complimentary glass of wine in the lobby while we waites on our ride to the venue--which was also complimentary for hotel guests. Our room included breakfast as well, which was convenient for us. Overall this boutique hotel met my expectations and more. I would definitely stay here again if we vises Houston again!

Jennifer and Stephen, Gonzales, LA

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay! To say that we have met your expectations and more truly makes our day! -Michelle M., Sales Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our first year anniversary. We decided to stay downtown for a night. I chose the Lancaster because of the location. The photos online were nice. After getting there it was much better than a great location. The hotel has a lot of charactor and history which I love. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I loved our room. The bed and furniture were modern with an antique elegant feel. Very cosy too. My husband liked reading the history of the hotel and original owner, Michelle DeGeorge. On our way home drove by the DeGeorge hotel by MinuteMaid park. We really liked the Lancaster. I've already told friends and co-workers to stay there if they want to spend a night or two downtown. Also, there are so many things to see and do within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Congratulations on your anniversary! We are so glad to be a part of a memorable anniversary weekend and we are glad that you enjoyed the historical aspect of the hotel. Thank you for your comments and feedback! -Michelle M., Sales Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Read any pre-renovation reviews of this hotel as old news.

I stayed at this newly renovated boutique hotel for FOUR WEEKS, and enjoyed every minute of it.

The new improved Lancaster is truly a gem!
What used to seem a bit like grandma's country home is now Designer Chic!
But this is more than just a paint job; all new carpets, fixtures, and furniture add up to a luxurious experience. The new bathrooms are wonderful, and the showers are heavenly.

The staff was gracious and friendly - helpful in every way.
This was a total win, and I will definitely stay there again next time I'm in town

Room Tip: As with many hotels, the corner rooms have more light, and the higher floors have better views. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback. It was an honor to serve you during your four weeks in Houston and we appreciate your kind remarks. We hope to see you when your travels bring you back to Houston! -Michelle M., Sales Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Initially, I had reservations regarding boutique hotels. I always choose large chains because I know what to expect. I went out on a limb with The Lancaster, and I must say that I was thoroughly impressed. The hotel staff was very friendly, and I like the more intimate touch of the booking desk in lieu of some massive counter. The hotel is nicely designed, and located right in the middle of Houston's art district. I could go on, and rave about this place even more, but you should just read the other comments listed. I will make this my #1 choice for my future stays in Houston.

Room Tip: "Classy, intimate, perfect."
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterManagement, Manager at The Lancaster, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are glad to have converted you to our boutique hotel! What an honor to be considered your number one choice when visiting Houston. We appreciate your comments and remarks and look forward to seeing you again. -Michelle M., Sales Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancaster

Address: 701 Texas Ave., Houston, TX 77002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#3 Business Hotel in Houston
#12 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lancaster 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently accepted into the Historic Hotels of America with Stately elegance and Outstanding service in a Historic Downtown location with Luxurious accommodations. These are the hallmarks of The Lancaster hotel. Here at The Lancaster Hotel in Downtown Houston, Texas, classic luxury and a grand tradition of hospitality blend perfectly with modern technology and warm, personalized service. Our stylish boutique hotel combines classic modern design, pampering services, amenities and superior comfort to exceed the expectations of the discriminating business or leisure traveler. The Lancaster is perfectly situated in Houston’s theater district near all the entertainment in downtown Houston, including Houston’s finest culinary, cultural and entertainment destinations. Experience luxurious comfort in our 93 tastefully appointed guest rooms and suites designed with the amenities and ambiance you have come to expect from a luxury boutique hotel. Unwind in the plush comfort of down duvets and feather pillows, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, plush bathrobes; complimentary wireless high-speed Internet, complimentary courtesy car service to nearby attractions and businesses and much more. Relax with the knowledge that we are completely at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Hotel Houston
Lancaster Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lancaster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.