We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Houstonian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Houstonian to your Saves list
The Houstonian
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   111 North Post Oak Lane, Houston, TX 77024 (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 456 Hotels in Houston
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Family friendly resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Pros:

1. Shaded. Love that this resort is shorter than the trees around it - which means shades everywhere! I love that since it's very hot here in Texas.

2. I really like the cushioned jogging path around the property. Again, about 80% of this path is shaded.

3. You have complimentary access to their sports club. Not all are free though such as the wall climbing is $7.50 for 30 mins. I do t know what else have surcharge since I didn't use them. For sure tennis and basketball are free.

4. Trellis Spa on the property. Jade is fantastic. I'm only inquiring and jade made me feel welcome and not intimidated. She even gave me samples of Natura Bisse which I ended up ordering online. Jade should be the manager - very personable. They do charge you $25 to use the facility however free if you book a service. I ended up not using the facility since the family decided to go somewhere.

5. Everybody who works in that hotel are very nice!!! They are trained well. Love them all.

6. They do provide extra services such as shuttle service to the Galleria Mall for free, room service, etc. it can't comment on the quality of the service since I didn't use them.

7. Rooms are clean...didn't see any flaws.

8. I love that they don't charge a resort fee.

9. Love the pool - my 9 year old had a blast. The do have adult only area and lap pool area.

10. They do provide you with Keurig, lock box, snack bar.

Cons:
1. Confusing check-in. We were very confuse as to where to drive in. Hopefully they fix their signs and actually state "Hotel Check-in".

2. They do charge for self-parking per night. I think it's $15. They do provide valet for $25 I think.

3. Parking lot stinks!

4. Elevator from the lobby to the First floor doesn't work. Confusing lay-out but then you'll get the hang of it. It's actually easy to navigate after you learn your ways around the property.

5. At the time I stayed (July 2014), they are undergoing some renovation of their sports club.

6. May be it's just me, but my skin is sensitive....I can't tolerate sheets that are not cotton. They used sheets that feels like mix polyester. Does not feel luxurious at all. I actually started breaking out badly on my face and my left butt cheeks have these brown spots. Again, I guess I'm just sensitive to that kind of material.

7. Television kept on dimming on me (I'm at room 113) hopefully they'll fix it soon.

8. Restroom are too small.

9. My standard King room felt small.

10. My husband ordered a drink (cost around $8)-- he took about 3 sips - went for a swim - he came back and it has been cleaned-up! I guess just like to clean. I know they didn't mean that but my husband was furious. His fault for not letting the staff know.

Overall, my son had a great time. If he had a blast...vacation is then a success!!! As for me, I think I will stick to Hyatt Hill Country Resort in San Antonio. I'm more of a spa vacationer. This is a great place if the purpose of your vacation is an active one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    112
    43
    14
    9
See reviews for
89
115
29
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed for 9 nights and enjoyed it a lot. The deco and ambience is soothing and relaxing. Room service is good. Staff are helpful and friendly. There is a spa in the complex which is convenient and great. It's popular so please book in advance. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, Usa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Exactly the reason I chose the Houstonian. Excellent service, very comfortable and clean room. This was just the weekend we need to relax and unwind. Access to the Trellis Spa and the Houstonian Gym facility. The running track was great (padded one miler). All-in-all I could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: We had the concierge level so were up on the fourth floor. We had room 412 which was nice, away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Houstonian is a great hidden gem in Houston. Tucked away in the woods, this low key
yet luxurious property is surrounded by lush greenery, a fabulous health club, spa and delicious food on property. Dinner at the Olivette, followed by drinks and lunch the next day at the Manor House provide delicious and beautiful dining. What a treat! ( Great staff throughout)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This place is great. They took really great care of us and the rooms a huge! The air conditioner actually works in this place unlike many of the chain hotels. The bathroom is huge! Walking in you think you are in Wyoming or somewhere out west. The fireplace is amazing in the lobby.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great mother & daughter getaway weekend spent almost entirely at The Trellis on the grounds of The Houstonian Hotel. With spa treatment reservations made only one day in advance we spent the 4th of July between the spa waterfall pool, the whirlpool, and the Tranquillity Room nestled up with a great book on the most comfy divan complete with a chenille blanket and a cozy fireplace. On Saturday we returned for more spoiling and mother daughter time by booking a manicure which again gave us complete spa faculty privileges for $40! The Trellis has a lovely decor with the fragrant aromas to make for the most relaxing retreat imaginable. The best part was just chilling with my daughter and enjoying coffees and teas and simply catching up. The hotel stay was great too with a great restaurant offering first class cuisine at a very reasonable rate. Room service was quick and also a great value. The weekend was rainy which only added to the ambiance! Can't wait to go back.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Just stayed 5 days on concierge level and was the most wonderful stay. Everyone so helpful and friendly. Concierge lounge was brilliant and peaceful. The best fitness club ever with a fantastic array of sports and fitness classes. Valet were all polite and driver to Galleria was extremely pleasant. Could not fault service in any area. Bottled water on exit was always nicely chilled. All round a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Houstonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houstonian

Address: 111 North Post Oak Lane, Houston, TX 77024
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Houston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#25 Business Hotel in Houston
#31 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Houstonian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Houstonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houstonian Hotel Houston
Houstonian Hotel Houston
Houstonian Resort Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Houstonian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.