We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like a Lord” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Houstonian

Save Saved
You added The Houstonian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Houstonian
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   111 North Post Oak Lane, Houston, TX 77024 (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 447 hotels in Houston
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Treated like a Lord”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel has a lovely parkland/bayou setting outside. Enjoyed the 1 mile walking trail through the woods and the (outdoor in October!) swimming pool. Blessed with lovely warm (70s) weather and blue sunny skies. Inside it is like a baronial Scottish castle - maybe a bit pastiche but fun nevertheless. Service, rooms and restaurants all excellent. Food has more healthy options than last time I was in Texas - fresh fruit for breakfast. Attended a very well managed conference and found it mentally and physically refreshing. Would come here again, but for the 10 hour plane ride and 6 hour time difference!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    94
    33
    12
    7
See reviews for
75
93
26
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our third stay in this hotel and we enjoyed it immensely. Checked in at around noon and our room was ready. Room was on 1st floor and facing the woods in the back of the building. Room was not huge, but large enough for two adults and two kids and beds and furnishings were very comfortable. Bath rooms are definitely small, so sitting on the toilet with the door open required sitting at an angle. While small, the bathroom is clean and nice, so no issues from my perspective other than the size.

Breakfast at Olivette is a real treat in the morning and something that I highly recommend even if it is more expensive than eating off property. Unfortunately, it rained while we were there, so we did not get the chance to hike the trails or use the pools, but they did look like something we would love to try out.

Staff at reception, parking, valet and restaurant is uniformly courteous and friendly and I can't say enough good things about the valets who ran after us with umbrellas after we started walking on the trail for a minute or two before it began raining.

As far as location, the Houstonian is located ideally near the Galleria, the Museum District, the Zoo and Memorial Park, as well as tons of nice restaurants.

This is definitely the hotel I would choose in Houston when I return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humble
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The houstonian has fantastic staff. The restaurants are very nice. The food is excellent and the service is great. The spa is overated. The services you get from the spa need to be reassessed and upgraded. The staff is great. However, I have had much better spa treatments elsewhere. The rooms are also needing some updating. For what you pay at the Houstonian I would expect more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Again, and as always before, the Houstonian define the meaning of elegant lodging. The staff is always accommodative and attentive. Every small detail is seen as a major detail to the staff and they seldom miss even the smallest issues. This is an outstanding hotel for a weekend in Houston. Always a 5 star experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel sets the standard of fine Texas luxury. The grounds are lush and the room decor is right out of the best decorator magazines and include pod coffeemakers. The pools are brilliant. They were doing work to complete a new outdoor deck when we visited. The onsite restaurant was spectacular for afternoon coffee and morning breakfast. Restaurant service could have been a little better, but didn't take away from our overall experience. Highly recommend staying here. Perfect location for a wedding reception.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for three nights and enjoyed it. The bedroom was very nice with good facilities, however the bathroom let the room down for a hotel of this standard. It was very cramped and a little dated.
Breakfast was good, although expensive, especially if a cooked dish is selected from the menu. We went to the bar, which again, was expensive for what it was, especially fish and chips - stick with the burger if you are eating here.
The leisure facilities are great, I only tried the pools of which there were three - all very nice and well maintained - a great area to relax and also to do some serious swimming if that is your want! I didn't try the gym or spa facilities.
All in all, a good experience, just watch that bill as it soon mounts up here!

Room Tip: Beware - Some of the rooms have a long walk from reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed here multiple times, and it's in a gorgeous, large park, centrally located in Houston. The adjoining gym is out of this world - not sure if gym is really the right word, its more like fitness center mega complex.

The rooms unfortunately could use updating, but the gym, beautiful wooded location and service more than make up for it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Houstonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houstonian

Also Known As:
The Houstonian Hotel Houston
The Houstonian Hotel
Houstonian Hotel Houston
Houstonian Resort Houston
Address: 111 North Post Oak Lane, Houston, TX 77024
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#14 Business Hotel in Houston
#21 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Houstonian 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Houstonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Houstonian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.