We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serves its purpose...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental

Save Saved
You added Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15700 John F Kennedy Boulevard, Houston, TX 77032   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #201 of 451 hotels in Houston
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Serves its purpose...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

As an airport hotel to sleep in between connecting flights and nothing else, it was perfectly fine. The renovation was not disturbing, but we got in at 8pm and left 7am so there was no actual work done.

My choice was based on being able to use my SPG points at a very favorable rate (on account of the refurbishment), it would probably not have been my first choice otherwise. One of a dozen as airport hotels go, bringing the expected standard from the brand.

Room Tip: The refurbished rooms are obviously nicer than the ones still awaiting it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Manager at Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel and also thank you for being a SPG member. As you have mentioned, hotel is being renovated so that we can exceed guest expectation and provide excellent facility along with exceptional customer service. All the rooms currently being used are all newly renovated. Newly renovated bar is already back in service and we will have the newly renovated restaurant back in service this week. Then we expect to get club lounge back in service within next few days as well. We are excited with the improvements taking place through out the hotel and we look forward to your return to show case newly renovated hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    93
    80
    44
    35
See reviews for
25
50
37
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

No hot water. No customer service. No bellman past 8PM.
They needs to shut done the hotel during renovation.
The front desk manager was not helpful at all.
They only had the bar open for food and when we went to eat most people were drinking. & the place was extremely LOUD.

Room Tip: Ask if they are renovating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Manager at Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience regards to your stay with us. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for falling short of your expectation. As you have mentioned, hotel is currently under renovation and I'm sorry this impacted your stay. We do try our best to minimize the impact renovation has on our guest but I'm sorry we fell short in this incident. Part of the renovation work includes upgrade to our water system and we have cured hot water issue. Bellman is available 24/7 and I'm sorry if this was not communicated. I am not sure what incident took place with our front office manager but I would like to apologize on his behalf for not being able to help. Renovation is now only couple months away from completion and some of the areas are already being completed. Most of the guest rooms are finished and most of the outlets are starting to come back into service. I hope next time you travel to North Houston area, you will come back to visit us again to see the transformation hotel has gone through and get to enjoy newly renovated hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

hotel recently started renovation and some of the opportunities it had in the past like hot water and internet have been corrected. cannot wait for the food outlets to be completed and meeting rooms renovated. staff very friendly and van service on the half hour to the airport very convenient

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Manager at Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to share your experience at Sheraton North Houston. We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay. We would like to thank you for noticing the positive changes renovation has brought and also recognizing job well done by our staff. It's been long and hard past 10 months and we are looking forward to having the renovation completed by end of Ocotober. We already have newly renovated bar opened and we are receiving fantastic feedbacks. Restaurant is also due to be back in service by this week and club lounge in another week from now. This is very exciting time for us and we look forward to having you return to share this experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stay at this hotel quite often as it is close to home and the staff is very friendly, the suites are big enough for our family. We really loved staying here before they decided to get rid of the indoor pool and hot tub and turn it into meeting rooms! The whole second floor is meeting space, you thing that would be enough! We are very disappointed with this decision as we have a family of 6 and would love to stay here in the winter just for the indoor pool. What a poor decision on the managements part. They were the only hotel in that area with such a great indoor pool and this made them really stand out. Now on to the quality of the outdoor pool is horrible (pictures attached)! not open at 10, no pools, trash all around, broken tables and planters as ashtrays! Trash not empty from the night before and the whole pool side area looked like a 1 star motel. took them two hours to bring towels to the pool with no apoligies from management!

Room Tip: Only stay in the suites, and do not use the pool as it is not Sheraton quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Manager at Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry to hear about your disappointment regards to indoor swimming pool going away. Unfortunately, due to having longer warmer months, indoor pool was not being fully utilized through out the year and therefore decision was made to to convert to meeting space. Once renovation is done, we do plan on doing some upgrades to our outdoor pool. I do apologize outdoor pool area was not kept up by our housekeeping staff during your stay. I have addressed this issue with proper department head and it shouldn't happen again in the future. Thank you once again for the feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Close to the airport and they have a shuttle that runs every half hour to bring you to and from the airport. Make sure that you use the curtesy phone by the baggage claim to call and see if they can come get you otherwise it can be a Long wait. The hotel is not very clean and there are renovations goiong on all over the place. Our room had a toy from another kid underneath the bed when we got there. We had called to request a crib and it wasn't in the room. It took a while to get there which sucked since we were only getting to the room at 1am with 3 sleepy kids. We asked for a wakeup call in the morning for our flight home and they never called, good thing we had an alarm on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Manager at Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience regards to your stay. First, I would like to apologize for falling short of your expectation. Our courtesy shuttle leaves for the airport every half hour on top of the hour from the hotel. However, for pick up from the airport, you have to call the hotel and shuttle will be dispatched. I have addressed your concern regards to cleanliness of the room and not having the crib ready prior to your arrival with the housekeeping department. I can assure you that this is not the way we operate and we will address this issue immediately to make sure it does not happen again in the future. As far as wake up call is concerned, we did experience little glitch in our pbx system and it has been resolved. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve your accomodation needs next time you visit North Houston Area and if you do so, please contact me prior to your arrival and I will make sure you have a delightful stay with us. I may be reached at j.choi@sheratoniah.com.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Whew! My wife left her snazzy notebook computer on the shuttle bus and realized it as we were headed to our room after check-in. The front desk called the driver and he checked the bus, found it, and called the front desk.

Close to the airport. Convenient for overnighters. No Starbucks in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Manager at Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regards to your recent stay. I'm delighted to hear our driver was able to retrieve the notebook computer and safely return it in timely manner. We take great pride in what we do and thank you for recognizing our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Chose this hotel for its proximity to IAH airport. It was very disappointing. It is under renovation. The lobby is torn apart, with temporary walls erected and tattered carpet that seems to cover bumps big enough to stumble over.

The room was okay. I was upgraded to a corner suite. But it and the rest of the hotel seemed dirty. The cleaning staff clearly did not pay conscientious attention to its duties. A dirty plate I noticed in the hallway in the evening was still there the next morning. So was the box propping open a storeroom door and an open maintenance closet. See photos.

The entire building seems to have poor lighting. Halls are dark, which is okay because it conserves electricity. But I couldn't see into the closet in my room, even with the lights on. The bar, which already has been renovated, didn't seem new. It was dark, except for bright lights at the bar that shine right into your eyes if you sit at a bar stool.

The only redeeming quality the hotel had was that its food was actually pretty good. I had the shrimp tacos, which I'd recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Manager at Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regards to your stay. I would like to apologize for falling short of your expectation. I have brought your concerns to proper department heads and to the general contractor to address the issues. We are getting very close to having all of our guest rooms done and we are delighted to be able to offer our guest with newly renovated rooms. Erected walls are put up to cover the renovation that's going on in the restaurant and we hope to have that completed within few more weeks. Entire lobby will also get renovated and we hope you will come back to enjoy our finished product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental

Address: 15700 John F Kennedy Boulevard, Houston, TX 77032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#201 Spa Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton North Houston At George Bush Intercontinental Hotel Houston
Intercontinental North Houston
Sheraton Houston
Houston Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton North Houston at George Bush Intercontinental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.