We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Houston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Houston Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Houston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Riverway, Houston, TX 77056 (Great Uptown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #31 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I love this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I travel a lot on business, and often to Houston. I have been staying at this property for many years--from the days when it was a Four Seasons right up to today. I probably stay here 4-5 times a year.

It is a beautiful property in a beautiful setting. Service is always outstanding. Restaurants consistently excellent. Rooms always pristine. I have a high pressure job and just walking into the lobby of this place relaxes me.

This last trip I was able to bring my wife, and she enjoyed the beautiful pool area (two large pools surrounded by great landscaping and a pond with black swans) immensely. It was our anniversary and everyone treated us like we were very, very special people.

Another wonderful stay at the Omni.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    301
    91
    43
    40
See reviews for
214
238
42
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Two of my girlfriends and I stayed here overnight when bringing our children (ages one, one, and three) to Houston to go to the Houston Zoo and the Downtown Aquarium. All members of the hotel staff that we encountered were wonderful from the valet attendant to the front desk clerk. Check in was quick as we were processed prior to arrival for being reward members. We had an attendant carry our bags to and from the room due to having the kids and they were so helpful and even tried to engage the kids. The hotel property is nice and the location is central and feels secluded. The room was spacious for all of us and had plenty of towels, washcloths, and extra linens in the closet. We used the pool which wasn't crowded at all and easily accessible. Although I thought the valet was pricey at $27 we got a great rate on the room $119 as they allow public educators to use the state rate discount. I would def. stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I do not know how to begin, beautiful hotel, great service. modern, yet classy interiors. I asked for a baby crib and in less than two minutes I got the crib! Housekeeping was very efficient.
The pool area is great, we forgot that we where in Houston, we feel as in vacation. When we returned to our room, we found milk and cookies for the girls. Super super nice hotel. I super recommend it!
Other thing: parking, you have all the choices, valet, or self parking, or free parking in the building behind the hotel. If you are looking for a hotel in this area do not hesitate! Go to Omni, you would not regret it. CLose to "the galleria mall"
I am enclosing pictures.

Room Tip: mine was 416 and was very nice and spacious. faced the main entrance I suppose that facing the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had the three-night stay in early June with a wedding group. This hotel is sort of wedding-central, so be warned if you are looking for a business hotel or private/romantic getaway. There were five different wedding groups there during my stay and somehow it all worked well with only minor noise issues on one evening. We enjoyed all the food outlets and the local fare -- really you might be surprised at the quality. I have to give a special shout out to the staff including the room service crew, the head of F&B and the general manager himself for their efforts. Whenever I had special requests or specific complaints, they responded quickly and positively. I always give real-time feedback (positive and developmental) so that service can be maintained/improved and we can all benefit. What to improve: quality of in-room and Morsels tea service (that's it really, and this should be easy to fix).

Room Tip: Higher floor to avoid the noise in the lobby and club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a church convention. It was amazing!!!! The cleanliness was outstanding, I had no problem at all with any problems in terms of cleanliness!!!! I am a very clean person who hates to see any kind of cleanliness defects. The Conference Center was amazing! Everything was well planned and any request was met. I would recommend this hotel for anyone.
My only advice is to watch out for the sign because in my opinion it is difficult to see at first if you don't know the area. But else wise its an amazing hotel.

Room Tip: Watch out for the sign
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Ok so I see that Omni gets great reviews, infact it was for that reason that I went ahead and chose it amongst other fine hotels in Houston for a weekend spa reatreat. The service personnel were very professional and pleasant except for the hosts at the breakfast who couldn't whip a smile to greet us when we arrived for breakfast on both days. Nonetheless everyone else was very pleasant and very friendly. The room looked ok at first glance - nothing jarringly exciting nor breathtaking, just a regular neat looking space until further inspection. There was dust on every thing. Not to make a fuss I decided I would live with it for the two nights but upon further inspection of the bathroom I was appalled. Not only was there dust on the sink, water glasses, mirror trim etc etc, I noticed dried up toothpaste spittle on the faucet attached to the bathroom sink. That my friends was absolutely gross and exteremly disgusting especially for a hotel with such high ratings from it's patrons. What makes the situation worse is that, at less costly and less rated hotels, I have never experienced this level of unsanitary conditions in a bathroom. That night I called the concierge to have it taken care of the next day only to arrive back from my outing to discover the room was cleaned but the cleaner somehow 'still' did not manage to clean the faucet. Fortunately as a rewards member I had an evening turndown service, where I was able to appeal to the cleaner that showed up to please remove the disgusting sight from the bathroom. She did - but all she did was wipe it off, imagine, another person's spittle. One would think a bathroom sanitizer cleaner or some lysol? At this point, I decided I had to speak to the manager 'in person' and I did. I reported everything and even informed her that I will mention my experiences in a review as such. She was gracious and very pleasant, offered her apologies and even gave us a voucher for breakfast the next day. She made sure that it was cleaned throughly before we returned that evening. Needless to say, that experience has completely exed Omni from any future hotel choices for me as all I can think of is how old, in need of renovation, and exteremely gross and disgusting their bathroom was. So for me, Omni hotels? No thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is located in a somewhat secluded area in the Galleria district. It is about a 5 minutes’ drive to the famous Galleria Shopping Center. The amenities at the hotel were typical for a 4 star hotel. The staff was polite as expected and willing to help as required. Check-in was timely and ambiance was welcoming. Valet parking was expensive but one has the option of utilizing the free parking in the back of the hotel. However the free parking requires about a 200-400 feet walk. The exercise room was adequately stocked and the pool was is rather large with good sitting areas. Internet is complimentary if you are an Omni member and $9.95/day for non-member. Food at the restaurant was palatable and not too overly expensive. There is a Sunday brunch that goes from 11am – 2pm. The brunch cost $37.99 for adults plus tax and service charge.

Room Tip: Good for romantic getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Houston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Houston Hotel

Address: 4 Riverway, Houston, TX 77056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Houston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#24 Business Hotel in Houston
#34 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Houston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a luxurious oasis at the Omni Houston Hotel. Situated on impeccably manicured grounds, the Houston Galleria hotel features the finest in Houston accommodations with 378 spacious guest rooms, including 33 luxury suites, all with sensational views of the city or pool area. Enjoy the nightlife at Black Swan. The Omni Houston Hotel is centrally located in the prestigious Uptown Post Oak/Galleria area and is just minutes from all of the excitement that Houston, Texas has to offer. You are just 10 minutes by car from the central business district and 30 minutes from George Bush Intercontinental Airport or 25 minutes from William P. Hobby Airport. Of course, our exceptional amenities and four-diamond service may make it hard to leave your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Omni Houston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Houston
Omni Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Houston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.