We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff/Peaceful Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Houston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Houston Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Houston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Riverway, Houston, TX 77056 (Great Uptown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #26 of 456 Hotels in Houston
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Staff/Peaceful Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A first class experience at a reasonable price. It is the only place I want to stay while in Houston. While the facilities are very nice, it is the staff that makes this hotel stand above all others. The staff is courteous and helpful. They really care about and for the guests. The amazing thing is that every staff member is this way.

This hotel is located in its own peaceful enclave near a very popular part of town (just a few minutes from the Galleria).

Room Tip: There are several suites on each floor. Consider upgrading to these if you are going to have friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are honored to be the only place you want to stay while in Houston and are very pleased to hear that every member of the staff you encountered is courteous and helpful. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    269
    68
    38
    35
See reviews for
184
210
38
378
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great Lobby & Bar area. However the rooms seemed normal, clean and comfortable, unless the couple next door was loud? Yes the couple next door was extremely! The rooms front door seemed to be of a heavy grade solid wood but the adjoining room next door was older and not insolated so we heard everything ALL NIGHT!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that overall your stay was an enjoyable one. However, we are sorry to hear that you experienced noisy neighbors during your stay and hope that your next stay with us includes more peace and quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrie
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Visited here in October on business hotel was very nice weatehr turned cool on our day of departure. Will not be back unless there is another business opportunty.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, not sure of the area as i was there for a plant tour

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We appreciate you taking a moment to submit this review of your recent stay at the Omni Houston and for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were here for a Thanksgiving break and the serving people were pleasant, the location was great and we were very pleased with the attention to our requests.
We asked for a fridge and a DVD player to be in the room. They were there when we checked in.
There's free parking in the lot behind the hotel. You have to walk maybe 250m, but nice grounds and safe. One of the 2 outdoor pools is heated, so we were able to swim laps in the cool mornings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay and that the staff ensured your specific requests were met prior to your arrival. We definitely look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Houston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

(If you want to read the summary it is the last paragraph) I have been to this hotel for weddings, high tea, conventions and a weekend get away with my husband. The property is beautiful and located among the trees and a hill on Buffalo Bayou. We booked a Sunday Spa package with a deluxe room, a massage,late 4 pm check out and a credit in their dining room. We arrived on Saturday at noon and the 4th floor room was beautiful, the front desk very friendly and hospitable. The pool wasn't heated, we defaulted to a small indoor jacuzzi that was over run by children who had come to swim. The casual dining room wasn't open and we were directed to to the bar, the bartender said it wasn't 1pm and she couldn't serve us yet. We ended up in the high end restaurant for lunch. Sleeping was impossible, at 10:30pm a woman was scoulding a screaming child in the hall (I guess in an effort to not wake a sibling in the room). At midnight the area outside on the first floor patio had a couple smoking and talking loudly. At 1:30 am a loud drunk crowd bustled down the hall. Falling asleep again, about 3 am another drunk crowd came through and woke us up. We didn't call the front desk because we had no desire to change rooms at 3am. They were supposed to deliver coffee to the room at 8 am and did not. I called room service and they said they would send it, I called back they said the left it outside the room and knocked on the door. They had not. They finally got it to us by 9 am. The spa was beautiful!!! The next afternoon, we had booked a couples massage and it was a transcendental experience. The therapist were first class and gave us relaxing massages, offered us champagne, juice or tea and light snacks. We relaxed in their whirlpool and sauna. Leaving the spa, we were starved and moved to the casual restaurant. It was 2:30 and they told us they were closing. The reluctantly served us and attempted to charge our meal to the room. The waiter came back and told us we had been checked out (all of our belongings were in the room and we were locked out. We had to go to the front desk and inform them that we had a package with 4pm checkout. They gave us new room keys, charged the lunch to our room and told us we could" take as much time as we needed to leave the room." I went to my room and decided to go and get a detailed bill of our charges. I took the stairs which exited outside the hotel. It had rained the concrete outside the door was slippery and I did the splits on the concrete. I filed all of my complaints at the front desk and they issued a $100 credit, which is not enough for all of the disappointment. My husband had called the valet for the car. The car arrived and they had not charged the parking to our room and we had closed out. My husband went inside to pay for the valet. The valets and bell men were all standing around talking while I sloughed my luggage into the trunk. After in the car, we saw the valet had left mud in the carpeting of our freshly cleaned car. I will say we were very disappointed.

Summary, *the pool wasn't heated, *the restaurant wasn't open,* bartender was rude and wouldn't serve us food, *doors and windows thin (noise all night),*they didn't deliver the 8 am coffee that was scheduled, *they checked us out before our time ended resulting in extra trips to the front desk,* the concrete slippery,* the valets ignored me as I loaded our luggage, *they forgot to bill the parking (another trip to the front desk) and *they got mud on the carpet of our car. You would think an Omni would have it together and offer the service and luxury expected.

Room Tip: Maybe this was an off weekend. Beautiful location, BIG disappointment!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Operations at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We take great pride in providing the best possible customer service and a superior experience to every guest, and I am VERY sorry you had these issues in our hotel. It sounds like we had multiple opportunities while you were here to change the direction of your challenging stay. Please accept my sincere apology. I would love to hear from you directly, would you mind e-mailing me at ccoleman@omnihotels.com? Thank you for the nice comments about our Mokara Spa and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is very conveniently located in the Galleria area, yet somewhat isolated and out of the hustle and bustle. My wife and I arrived on a Sunday evening for a week-long stay ... business for me and pleasure for her. The bellmen and valets were efficient and courteous. We were greeted in the lobby with a glass of champagne and a quick check-in ... both of which were very much appreciated. Our 3rd floor room was small; but luxurious, clean, and quite comfortable. During the entire week of our stay, we found the staff to be extremely friendly and accommodating ... attentive to all of our needs. Overall, the Omni was a very pleasant lodging experience and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We are so glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience during your week at the Omni Houston Hotel. We know it isn't always easy to be away from home for an extended period of time so we are happy the staff made you feel so welcomed. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Houston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

In some ways, the Omni Hotel is typical of the kind of business hotel I used to stay in 20 or 30 years ago. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, well furnished and suitable for a business person wanting to work quietly in spare moments outside of the office. The hotel has a restaurant, a bar, a well equipped gym and an outdoor pool. The hotel boasts conference facilities and a ballroom for functions. With our visit coinciding with the Christmas holiday season, we saw several parties take place and there was a festive atmosphere to the place. The elevators were very efficient and we never waited more than a few seconds for one to arrive. The breakfast buffet was very good with freshly cooked omelettes to order. Finally, the staff were simply outstanding; friendly, helpful and full of smiles and willing to go the extra mile to provide good service. Full marks all round for that but now on to the minus points…

Although the lobby area is very large and welcoming, other parts of the hotel look a bit tired and show their age. For example, the dominant colour scheme throughout the hotel appears to be brown. This may have been the standard a few years ago and presumably it's supposed to give the hotel a sober, business atmosphere but to me it felt a bit gloomy. Our room, although very comfortable also showed its age, particularly in the bathroom where some of the fittings seem old fashioned. For example the shower head looked as if it had seen better days and had a low water flow. The lever that switched the water between bath and shower was temperamental and it took me some time to get the shower working properly. The shower curtain seemed dull because it was coloured a light brown in line with the overall theme. Compared to modern business (and even budget) hotels in Europe, the décor in the Omni falls way behind the competition.

Hidden costs: Mrs G and I arrived at the Omni after a stressful arrival at the airport, transit through immigration and a car drive into Houston at peak traffic time. We just wanted to get to our room and relax so opted for valet parking on arrival… at 24 dollars per night as we discovered later. Self parking is a bit cheaper costing 17 dollars a night. You could argue that secure parking in other US cities (and most major European cities) comes at a similar price but somehow it just seemed excessive. I didn't realise until reading through some of the hints just now on Tripadvisor that free parking is available somewhere around the back of the hotel. Not sure how safe this option would be, especially at night.

The major rip off however is the charge for wi-fi access to the internet. More and more hotels (both quality and budget) offer cheap rate or even free internet access but the Omni charges 9.95 dollars per day except there is a catch that isn't obvious or made clear. The charge is actually 9.95 dollars per day per DEVICE. So Mrs G and I had connected with two different laptops plus a smartphone. Three devices at 9.95 per connection… kerching! To give the hotel some credit, we were able to negate the charges racked up over one week by signing up to a loyalty scheme (more junk mail on the way presumably) but seriously?

If my review seems over negative, it's not meant to be. I did enjoy my stay at the Omni and would stay there again, but I'd be interested to see how it compares with other hotels in Houston. Compared to European hotels, the Omni has a lot to learn in terms of general décor and ambience but on the other hand, the Omni could teach European hotels a thing or two about customer service. Overall I enjoyed the stay but those extra charges... ouch!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Omni Houston Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a thorough and thoughtful review. We are very glad that overall your stay was a good one and that the customer service you received was so outstanding. We appreciate your feedback on both the decor and costs as we use all feedback as a means to assess the overall experience we provide for our guests and make changes when needed. We are happy to hear that the front desk was able to take care of the WIFI charges for you as we do not want any guest to feel that we are not being upfront about our costs. You may certainly opt out of our Select Guest Program so as not to receive any of our promotional e-mails. However, as a member of the Omni Select Guest Program you are also eligible to earn stays though our partner, the Global Hotel Alliance, which has many 4 and 5 Star properties throughout Europe. Again, thank you for your review and we do hope to see you again on your next trip to Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Houston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Houston Hotel

Address: 4 Riverway, Houston, TX 77056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Houston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#20 Business Hotel in Houston
#27 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Houston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a luxurious oasis at the Omni Houston Hotel. Situated on impeccably manicured grounds, the Houston Galleria hotel features the finest in Houston accommodations with 378 spacious guest rooms, including 33 luxury suites, all with sensational views of the city or pool area. Enjoy the nightlife at Black Swan. The Omni Houston Hotel is centrally located in the prestigious Uptown Post Oak/Galleria area and is just minutes from all of the excitement that Houston, Texas has to offer. You are just 10 minutes by car from the central business district and 30 minutes from George Bush Intercontinental Airport or 25 minutes from William P. Hobby Airport. Of course, our exceptional amenities and four-diamond service may make it hard to leave your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Omni Houston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Houston
Omni Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Houston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.