We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruined our weekend...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Houston NASA Clear Lake

Save Saved
You added Hilton Houston NASA Clear Lake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Houston NASA Clear Lake
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 Nasa Pkwy, Houston, TX 77058-4322   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kemah Boardwalk Package
Ranked #72 of 451 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Ruined our weekend...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We arrived late & were upgraded at check-in; the room was ready & already assigned (we did not ask for it). The young lady at the desk was very friendly & pleasant. When we were leaving for breakfast Sunday morning; the bill was at the door. The per night charge was for the upgraded room, not the amount of the confirmed, reserved room. We stopped by the desk to have it corrected and were told by "A" that it was the charge for that room. We informed her that it was an upgrade and she said that the amount was correct. She then said she would change it as a "courtesy". Not only did she tell us this, but everyone else in the lobby. She was very condescending & smirked the entire time we spoke to her. Giving us the impression that she thought she was right & was doing us a favor. Unless the rules have changed very recently; we have never been charged the rate of the upgraded room. When we checked out later Sunday morning, there were 3 ladies at the front desk. My wife was walking towards the lady at the end of the counter when "A" said she could help her. At this time "A" was as nice as could be, I'm sure because she had fellow employees at the counter with her! (I forgot to mention this in the questionnaire that Hilton sent)

The other problem we had was with the breakfast. Neither morning were we greeted; we had to find someone. The first morning after getting our breakfast from the buffet, the gentleman next to us ordered eggs. We were never told that we could have eggs to order. The second morning, my wife asked if we could order eggs if we have the buffet & were told yes. Again, we weren't made aware of this by the staff. My wife ordered a cheese omelet & she got a ham & cheese omelet. Both mornings we had to ask for coffee/tea refills. Please invest in a new toaster; we turned it on high & it still took 3 times to get "toast". Also, the executive lounge put away the drinks before the posted closing time & there was no one to be found to ask about this! I apologize for the rambling but this hotel was a disappointment.

The only good points about this hotel was our check-in experience, the room was nice & Mark Smith was a pleasure to talk to, very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    113
    61
    28
    15
See reviews for
100
100
18
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sitiawan, Malaysia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed at this Hilton for 3 nights with my sibblings from Vancouver and Los Angeles while attending my niece wedding banquet. Enjoyed the awesome view of the marina and the lake.
At night we could see from our room the well lit-up Kemah Boardwalk which is 5 km away.
Hotel staff was very helpful and service is fabulous.
Visited the astounding NASA Space Center - very informative, took the NASA tram tour, traced the progression of the space program at the Starship Gallery, experienced the sensation of a Blast Off with 7 milliom pounds of thrust push a 4 milliom pound vehicle skyward. Also experienced the challenges of living and working in space during the live presentation.
Love to stay at Hilton again when visiting Houston in future.

Room Tip: Choose lakeview for a majestic scenery
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally friendly hotel with the use of efficent daylight saving bulbs, devices and refrigerators.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A wonderful example of what a fine hotel should be like. The entire staff was friendly and helpful with any request that was made. An excellant hotel, not to mention it also has an outstanding location. We will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We arrived for a weekend getaway to NASA and I booked a room at the Hilton based only upon the pictures provided on the hotel website. I don't know what I was thinking, I almost always check TripAdvisor prior to booking. Anyway, I thought that my Diamond status would get us a nice room even though I booked the cheapest room on the net.

Upon arrival, I asked the clerk about the availability of a lake view room. She told me that because of the long weekend those were all sold out. She said she could transfer us the folowing day. My wife spoke to a housekeeper shortly thereafter who stated there were a couple roioms available on the 14th floor that she could have placed us in, but it is possible those rooms were reserved at a much higher rate so I can't fault the hotel for something I am not sure about.

Anyway, we check in to our room and have a beautiful view over the swimming pool, marina, and a good portion of the lake including the light house. We decided a bird in hand and did not even ask to be transferred. Our room also had a spacious refrigerator, I don't know if this is typical of this hotel or if it was an elite HHonors privilege but it was very much appreciated.

The room is spacious enough and has good access to electrical outlets for keeping all our electronics charged and running. The bathroom was very cramped, but had great water pressure in the shower.

The breakfast buffet (gratis for HHonors Gold/Diamond) was very good. There was a nice selection of hot entres as well as fruits, breads, and other assorted goodies. There was an upcharge of $6 offered for a full made to order breakfast but after checking the buffet there was no reason to indulge ourselves in that luxury.

My biggrest complaint, and a minor one at that, is the Internet spped. I tested the download speed and received a poor reading of: Download :: 390 Kbps. This makes it hard for me to stram my Netflix movies as I now prefer that to watching broadcast TV.

We loved sitting on the balcony in the executive lounge. It offers a refrigerator filled with soft drinks and water, as well as some salty snacks and fresh fruit.

All in all, though, a wonderful stay that I would not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is just an A+ Hotel to stay. It has many close places to go with the family. and different prices depending on budget to choose from if you want to go out and eat, or have fun. but once you are in your room you just want to rest before even thinking what places to go.the view from my room was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times on business and always get a room with the "Lake View". The hotel is always clean and the staff is friendly. At night you can sit down at the bar with the best bar tender "Herman"! Great food and company. Always a pleasure. Also, it's just down the road from NASA and about a 12 minute car ride to Kemah Boardwalk. Nice place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomball, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The proximity to the Space Center as well as the early check-in made this one-night stay feel like two days. The pool area was clean, nice and was adjacent to Clear Lake. The bar staff was friendly and there was plenty of parking closer to the front door than what one would find at a grocery store. There are ice machines on every floor which I thought was universal until a recent stay at another hotel. Great restaurants are less than 10 minutes away when using the very convenient NASA Parkway. The view from our 11th floor room was breathtaking. At night you could see the lit-up Kemah boardwalk which is only 5 miles from the hotel. The lakeside faces east providing great sunrise views. Although off in the distance, you can make out the San Jacinto monument. The restaurant has floor to ceiling windows for another great opportunity to see the lake activity. We plan on staying again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Houston NASA Clear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Houston NASA Clear Lake

Address: 3000 Nasa Pkwy, Houston, TX 77058-4322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Houston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#37 Best Value Hotel in Houston
#55 Business Hotel in Houston
#69 Family Hotel in Houston
#72 Spa Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Houston NASA Clear Lake 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful Clear Lake hotel boasts some of Houston hotels most breath-taking views. One of the best hotels near Houston, we pride ourselves on our service, recreation and access to water sports. Located only yards from the NASA Space Center, enjoy Houston's only waterfront hotel. Just 20 minutes from William P. Hobby Airport, this hotel lets you make the most out of your time in the area. Stay productive thanks to the 24-hour business center or get some work done from the comfort of your guest room thanks to the wireless internet access. All rooms and suites combine comfortable furnishings and signature beds with modern technology and impressive water views. Work out in the modern fitness center or swim in the outdoor pool. Relax with a poolside cocktail under the warm Texan sun with lake views or head to Luna restaurant for delicious cuisine in elegant settings. A range of 18 flexible function rooms include intimate boardrooms and grand ballrooms, offering space for up to 600 attendees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Houston NASA Clear Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Houston Nasa Clear Lake Hotel Houston
Hilton Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Houston NASA Clear Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.